AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: am2 socket compatibilty with AMD Phenom II X6 processors
Topic Summary: advice needed
Created On: 05/20/2011 06:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/20/2011 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tonychan2011
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/20/2011

Hello all,

I'm currently running a Medion-ms7501 base unit with a Phenom x4 9500 processor.

I've tried many searches but can't find any relevant information relating to this motherboard (medion site & amd site).

I have to admit i haven't taken the machine apart to look in detail. I presume it's a am2 socket motherboard and not the later am2+ (machine is 2nd hand).

My question is this - What are the chances of the latest Phenom 2 x4 and x6 processors working without a bios update?

From what I've read not all motherboard manufactures have a bios update...

Thanks in advance

Tony C.
 05/20/2011 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

It is an AM2+ motherboard, AMD780 chipset.

There are a few PCB versions of MS-7501, some are OEMs, made by MSI.

I think some of the Phenom II X3/X4 and Athlon II will work in that board. Likely not X6.

Confirm your motherboard revision and do a search with "MS-7501".

You might find some BIOS update provided by Medion if you search by the product number.

-------------------------


Edited: 05/20/2011 at 09:48 AM by go_for
 05/20/2011 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tonychan2011
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/20/2011

Hi, thanks for the reply.

Yes i need to find some more info from the actual motherboard to get a definite answer for which bios update to use.
So far I have found out it's an oem msi motherboard (msi don't support these) and there is an update on their webstie to use x6 processors :-)
Medion don't do email support for technical questions and i'm thinking they are going to be a waste of time....
I haven't found any confirmation of people who are using phenom x6 in this motherboard.
Fingers crossed, here's hoping.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information