AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II 965 BE high temp!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/10/2011 08:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/10/2011 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AKomrade
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/10/2011

Hi ya'll!

I've had my 965 BE processor for three months now and just recently noticed a spike in temps at idle and high load.

Hardware:
AMD 965 BE Phenom II processor
Gigabyte GA 870A UD3 mobo
Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce 560 Ti (their OC'd, dual fan card)
10 GB RAM G.SKill RipJaw DDR3 ( x2 4GB, x1 2 GB)
Zalman CNPS9500A CPU cooler
Cooler Master HAF 922 case
Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 power supply
Seagate Barracuda 1TB harddrive
Apevia 120mm Case fan x1
Case came with three fans, one front, one exhaust, one top for four total.

Overdrive and SpeedFan both say I've got core temps of 60C+ at idle and pushing 65C at high load.

My BIOS and HWM say I've got 47C at the cpu, cores are 50C at idle, push 58C at high load.

Screenshot:
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/cputemps.png/][/URL]


Which is right, what do I need to do to lower it and are these the proper temps for this processor (previous cpu was an Athlon x2)?

And what is the difference between the temperatures for the core and temps in SpeedFan/HMW?
 09/12/2011 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Welcome to the forum!

CPU temp is taken from a sensor in the motherboard CPU socket.
CPU core temps are taken from sensors in the CPU die.
Under load, the core temps are what you will need to monitor.

If you're running at stock, 1.425v is high and is not needed, lower your CPU voltage.
I can run both my C3 955 and 965 at 1.36250v with a 3.7GHz overclock.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/27/2011 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AKomrade
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/10/2011

Thanks! I'm still hitting 48C-50C with no load and fan temp at max. The clock speed is a little higher though (3.6GHz). Which is the more reliable application for core temps, the AMD tool or the CPUID fan monitor?
 02/07/2012 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

http://postimage.org/image/cdq943wxj/
http://s15.postimage.org/6pjyd7sl7/Untitled.png
My 965BE temp skyrocketing simply playing videos.....no heavy loading, no overclocking!!
 02/07/2012 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

Please reply asap. I've stopped playing games since the above findings.
 02/07/2012 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Have you tried reducing your CPU voltage (vcor) down? As stated previously 1.4v is too high for a CPU freq of 3.4Ghz. At 3.4Ghz, you should be right around the 1.3v range, if not a little lower if it remains stable.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/08/2012 01:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

But I didn't change my CPU voltage ever. Its default.(Might sound rookie. But I admit I'm quite new to this world. Last week for the first time I was trying to overclock my cpu and I noticed this high temperature issue. Actually few months back I had problem with my ATX supply. At that time I dismantled my CPU from chassis and did some cleaning and put it back without thermal paste(That was really lame!!). Last week while reading something on overclocking I came to know about thermal paste then I immediately did the correcting action, applied thermal paste. FYI without thermal paste my cpu temp was reaching over 80C. Now it goes to above level. What is the exact issue??? Do I need to use another better quality thermal paste? Or simply lowering voltage will solve issue??
 02/08/2012 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Default means that you have it set to "auto". "Auto" means that the frequency and the voltage (as well as all your other settings) are dynamically changing constantly. They should be set manually so that they don't fluctuate.

Concerning the thermal paste (TIM), how much did you apply?

Read the link below please...

Best Thermal Paste Application Methods

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/08/2012 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

I applied thin layer just enough to cover the surface. I did not apply up to the edges. Left some margin. Which thermal paste is best?
 02/08/2012 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

Tried reducing vcore to 1.35. Not helping. What should I do?? I suspect 'thermal grease' is the issue. What TIM should I buy?
 02/08/2012 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: AMD 965BE

Tried reducing vcore to 1.35. Not helping. What should I do?? I suspect 'thermal grease' is the issue. What TIM should I buy?


MX-4, OCZ Freeze, or Arctic Silver 5.

Look at better case airflow/circulation and a good aftermarket CPU cooler.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/08/2012 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

AMD 965BE;
Whats the cpu's fan rpms at when its at 71c?

If you have it on auto cpu fan control it might not be letting the fan hit full speed wich should be around 6000 rpms and sound like a facume cleaner

Also make sure its clean and free of dust, those stock heatsinks can get clogged up pretty bad right behind the fan.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/09/2012 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

http://s9.postimage.org/osczgzjn3/9_2_2012.png
here is the latest screenshot....really started to worry now!!
 02/14/2012 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD 965BE
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/07/2012

Somebody reply! I've seen that temp can't be more than mid fifties??
 09/15/2012 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Looking at your screenshot I noticed that your +3.3v, +5v and the +12v are way below what thay should be.
Now it could be just AOD giving inaccurate readings but its something you should look into because a bad psu or a psu thats not giving enough power can couse the high cpu temp and will altimitly couse your systems demise

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information