Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom x3 8250e Toliman + ECS mobo
Topic Summary: ECS GF8100VM-M5 mobo with Phenom x3
Created On: 11/07/2011 04:35 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2011 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
catnamedog
Lurker

Hi
I'm a relative newbie to the Phenom. I bought the rig last year as a sale special from Maplin, after my own rig blew up.
At the time all I wanted to do was get my business docs back.
Now, though I've looked at various articles and realised that my system isn't really running at best speed.
I was puzzled at the time why the bundle I bought included an Nvidia 8400Gs, when the mobo includes an Nvidia 8200 chipset. I decided that the 8400GS was the better of the 2, and disabled the onboard one. Was I right to do that?

I've noticed that when I try to play some games, the speed of play is awful - Splinter Cell Conviction is a good example.
I can supply any more information, but I'd just like to know if its possible to make my PC faster, and what hard/software I could buy to improve matters.
Sorry for these idiot questions, hope someone can advise me.
 11/28/2011 01:38 PM

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

If the rig is just one year old, I am sure there a re a few things that can be upgraded in order to make it faster.

But we need more details about the system amount of RAM, power supply, OS 32 or 64bit ?

Disabling the onboard VGA was correct, it should free up some of the RAM that was shared for onboard VGA.

For gaming, I think the 8400GS is the bottleneck.

Does your system have two equal sticks of RAM?

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSi...ID=1&MenuID=20&LanID=0

-------------------------
 11/28/2011 01:45 PM

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

hmm, I see that board specs refer to :

"NVIDIA ® GeForce® Boost Technology