AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom compatibility in TF7025-M2 (AM2)
Topic Summary: Is it possible or are Biostar being lazy?
Created On: 12/19/2007 06:38 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/19/2007 06:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rhythmeister
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/19/2007

Hi all, I'm just asking here if the Phenoms WILL indeed be backwards compatible as Wikipedia info' seems to suggest:

"AMD confirmed that AM2 processors will work in AM2+ motherboards and AM2+ processors will work on AM2 motherboards. However, due to the lack of support of HyperTransport 3.0 and separated power planes in Socket AM2 motherboards, AM2+ chips will be limited to the specifications of Socket AM2 (HyperTransport 2.0 at the speed of 1 GHz, one power plane for both Cores and IMC). AM2 chips will not benefit from faster HyperTransport and separated power planes on AM2+ motherboards as they do not support them..."

Biostar have told me:

"Dear Customer,
we are sorry that
TF 7025-M2 can't support Phenom CPU.
supporting AM2+ isn't only BIOS, but also hardware
there are four models which support AM2+ now
TF 570 SLI A2+, TF560 A2+, TF 520 A2+, and TA 770 A2..."

I've only had this TF7025-M2 for just over a month and it IS fast with the cpu in my spec's but I would LOVE to move up to Phenom and NOT have to change board again this year and I'm also finding it hard tracking down a decent micro ATX overclocking AM2+ board!

So...who would be correct in this case, Biostar or the Wiki which appears to quote AMD's stance on AM2+ backwards compatibility?

-------------------------
FX-62 @3.0GHz
TF7025-M2
Club 3D HD3870
2GB HyperX (3, 3, 3, 10 1T at 2.35V!)
Silverstone ST56F
Lanbox lite
...'nuff said ;)
 12/19/2007 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

I can't tell about Biostar, but there are plenty of other AM2 owner that have had replies that their BIOS storage (EEPROM) is not large enough to contain necessary data to handle Phenom. Look for owner of MSI K9N Platinum and for Abit Nf chipset owner on AM2 socket.

TA 770 A2 look like a SKU for AMD new AMD 770 chipset and should have support for AM2+ features like new HTT, PCI express 2.0 and Splitt power plane (+CnQ v. 2.0).

AMD 770, AMD 790X and AMD 790FX: From low end to high end type of chipset.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 12/21/2007 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biswajitmallick2008
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/21/2007

can u tell me what is the other name of phenom processor.

-------------------------
Biswajit Mallick
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information