AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom 9850 temperature
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/12/2008 06:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2008 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alan2273
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 04/12/2008

I have an Asus M2N32-Sli DL (AM2) motherboard with a 590 chipset, and have flashed the BIOS to version 1802 in preparation for installing a Phenom 9850.
It booted up and I have had no problems.
The thing that bothers me is the temperature, it it at 53c, I used PCWizard 2008 to check the temperature and also the BIOS agrees with this.
I am using the stock cooler.
Is this temperature reasonable (as I thought it was high), do I need to clean the HSF of and apply some artic silver paste or is it allright to run at that temperature..

Any advice is appreciated.

Edited: 04/12/2008 at 06:41 PM by alan2273
 04/12/2008 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luckystrikes
Member

Posts: 73
Joined: 02/13/2008

If you dont have any arctic silver paste at all than yea you should but if you have the paste I don't know. That seems to be rather high. Is this temperature under full load on the CPU? And what are you using to determine this temperature, I know that AOD isn't a very good app for temp readings. Mine runs around 42degrees overclocked on an aftermarket cooler but if you have the stock one the temp will be higher because the stock fan kind of sucks.
It kind of sounds like an air flow problem to me.

-------------------------
- Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.81 Ghz (40 degrees C idle, 1.25V)
- Gigabyte MA790FX-DS5
- 3 Gigs of OCZ2N1066SR2GK @1066Mhz
- EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS PCI Express 2.0
- 700 Watt PSU. OCZ GameXstream
- WD 500GB 7500RPM
- Zalman CPU cooler (air cooled)
- Apevia X-CRUISER-BK/420 Case (3 80mm fans)
- 24" Widescreen BenQ G2400W 1920 x 1200 (DVI/VGA/HDMI, Full 1080P)
 04/12/2008 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luckystrikes
Member

Posts: 73
Joined: 02/13/2008

And by the way, when and if you apply arctic silver apply it in the middle, about the size of a BB, most people go ape$h1t when they apply that stuff and it drips off the sides, all that is going to do is make it run hotter.

-------------------------
- Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.81 Ghz (40 degrees C idle, 1.25V)
- Gigabyte MA790FX-DS5
- 3 Gigs of OCZ2N1066SR2GK @1066Mhz
- EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS PCI Express 2.0
- 700 Watt PSU. OCZ GameXstream
- WD 500GB 7500RPM
- Zalman CPU cooler (air cooled)
- Apevia X-CRUISER-BK/420 Case (3 80mm fans)
- 24" Widescreen BenQ G2400W 1920 x 1200 (DVI/VGA/HDMI, Full 1080P)
 04/13/2008 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
majmac01
Senior Member

Posts: 621
Joined: 09/20/2005

Originally posted by: alan2273

I have an Asus M2N32-Sli DL (AM2) motherboard with a 590 chipset, and have flashed the BIOS to version 1802 in preparation for installing a Phenom 9850.

It booted up and I have had no problems.

The thing that bothers me is the temperature, it it at 53c, I used PCWizard 2008 to check the temperature and also the BIOS agrees with this.

I am using the stock cooler.

Is this temperature reasonable (as I thought it was high), do I need to clean the HSF of and apply some artic silver paste or is it allright to run at that temperature..



Any advice is appreciated.

If cool n' quiet is not enabled in the BIOS and the power settings in your OS are not set to allow throttle-down, those temps may be reasonable for it running at full throttle and full voltage. Your ambient temperature is also a factor that needs to be considered and I note that because I do not know which part of the world you are writing from.
 04/13/2008 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alan2273
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 04/12/2008

I am from the UK.
I used the pad that was on the stock cooler.
I have an Artic Pro cooler but because of the arrangment of the fins for the chipset cooler, I cannot get it on. plus the artic cooler has a clip on either side that has three retaining holes and the bracket on the motherboard only has one on each side to clip onto.
I have a Coolermaster Wavemaster case, with two 80mm fans blowing in and one 80mm sucking out, therer is also a 50mm fan on the chipset, the PSU has a 120mm fan.
 04/13/2008 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi Alan,
I'm in UK as well, and I got a 9850BE yesterday....I got mine installed with a water-cooling setup and see idle temps of 45C and load temps about 52-55C...!!

I have mine OC'd to 2.9Ghz at the moment...and at 1.375v.

I know the 9600BE are a lower wattage than the 9850's the 9850's have a TDP of 125W whereas tthe 9600's are 95W TDP... so the 9850's do run a little hotter than the 9600's.

I too was surprised at the temps on mine.... it really therw me...I had a 9500 installed previously which idled at 27C... on the same PC.... so seeing the 9850 jump to 45C idle was quite a shock...!!

I think that the temp you are seeing with the stock HSF is most likely about right... the max temp for the 9850 is 61C so as long as you don't get around that then you should be fine....

Also the temps reported by most software applications are not accurate where Phenom is concerned, the temperature values are reported differntly with a Phenom.... its not the actual temperature thats reported but a representative value.... I need to find out more about it myself TBH.... but so far as long as my idle is below 50C then I'm happy...

You may want to see if you can improve the Case airflow...maybe if you can replace the 80mm fans with 120mm or at least try to get another 80mm fan for the rear of the case..... you really need to suck out the hot air...!!

Good luck with it...!!

Kaz

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/13/2008 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luckystrikes
Member

Posts: 73
Joined: 02/13/2008

You say you onlu have one fan blowing out? I would make all your fans blow out, you may see a difference, by making the fans suck out the hot air new cool air from the ambient enters the computer thus resulting in better air flow. Try it out all you have to do is unscrew the fan and turn it around. Hope it works.

-------------------------
- Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.81 Ghz (40 degrees C idle, 1.25V)
- Gigabyte MA790FX-DS5
- 3 Gigs of OCZ2N1066SR2GK @1066Mhz
- EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS PCI Express 2.0
- 700 Watt PSU. OCZ GameXstream
- WD 500GB 7500RPM
- Zalman CPU cooler (air cooled)
- Apevia X-CRUISER-BK/420 Case (3 80mm fans)
- 24" Widescreen BenQ G2400W 1920 x 1200 (DVI/VGA/HDMI, Full 1080P)
 04/13/2008 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alan2273
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 04/12/2008

Thanks for that reply Kazgirl, that has put my mind at rest.
I will still clean the processor & HSF pf and apply artic silver, to see if that will bring the temperature down.

45c on a watercooled unit, that seems high, no wonder you were suprised.

luckystrikes, I am looking into the airflow, and I was going to replace the back fan with a 120mm one, that is work in progress.

Edited: 04/13/2008 at 01:18 PM by alan2273
 04/13/2008 01:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasper4u
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/10/2008

Stock cooler and at load upper 40's idle 41-42, running on ASUS M2N-E, the one thing if upgrading from X2 remeber to uninstall prior AMD chip software, or BSOD from Memory(i forgot), but quick n easy fix safe mode and drop it from startup and registry.
 04/14/2008 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
World_Ruler
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/14/2008

@ Kazgirl - It sounds like you do not have enough fluid to keep it cool, how big is your tank? Do you have active air on your rad? With enough fluid supply you should be able to keep that system slightly above room temperature with enough fluid.
This is a good add on if you do not have enough liquid supply - ThermalTake AquaBay M1
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/appl...68&srkey=aquabay%20m1

@Allan2273 - The Scythe Ninja coolers & the ThermalRight HR-01 are very good air coolers

Good luck to you all!
 04/14/2008 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi World ruler...

Bit of an ambitious user name....lol..

I only got the standard tank that came with the TT Bigwater 745 LCS....

I think I've lost a bit of water capacity as well though as the twin 120mm external radiator got a leak, so I'm using only the single 120mm fan radiator now....

I'm hoping to get a new twin radiator soon and get it back to full capacity..... I've also been looking at reservoirs as well....!!

I've seen that Aqyabay one before.... I've even thought about adding the bay radiator upgrade as well..... but then all my 5.25inch bays would be full....

I've got only got 4 to start with, one is taken up with the DVD-RW, one with a Bay mounted VGA PSU, leaving only 2 left.....

I've seen a nice large 2-bay reservoir as well.....which woud give even more water capacity.....

I'll see what effect the extra radiator has first, then maybe look at adding a bay reservoir if temps don't improve a bit...!!

Thanks for the suggestion...!!

PS: Here's what HWMon shows me:



-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide

Edited: 04/14/2008 at 12:41 PM by kazgirl
 04/14/2008 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
World_Ruler
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/14/2008

@ Kazgirl - When I was using TT I had the twin fan rad, standard tank and that M1 thing.
I was also using 1/2"ID line and I ended up running that Rad outside of the Case, between the twin rad, standard tank, extra hose and the M1 I never went more than 8° above ambient.

I am quite sure that the twin fans and larger rad will drop your max temps to the high 40s

Good luck
 04/16/2008 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi thanks World-Ruler..

I been using hte TT Big Water for a while now, used it woht a 6000+, 6400+, Phenom 9500 and now this 9850BE....

I had pretty good temps with the 6000+ and the 6400+.... and I ised to get a load temp increase of about 8-10C.... from idle temp...

Idle temp seemed to be about Ambient + 15C in my case..... maybe beacuse I only had the standard Big Water reservoir, and not the additional bay reservoir upgrade.... less water capacity.... but I was still happy enough with those temps....

So on an average day I'd see betwee3n 33 and 35C idle and between 41-44C load temps...that was with the 6400+....

The 9500 was a lot cooler still... but I don;t talk about that anymore....

Its when I installed the new mobo and had to redo the water loop that I damaged the external radiator..... so have been using a single radiator since then...

Just to add to th eproblems...I went to try an rig up an additional reservoir yesterday....and now my pump has failed on me..... so I'm now completely without the Phenom PC...typing this on my spare 6400+ PC.... at the moment..... anyway I've managed to buy a pump off ebay for £0.99p about $2.00 lol.... well plus £6.99 postage.....

Its a garden pond/fountain pump..... but I think it'll do the job OK.... but need to wait for it to arrive.... I'm hoping it can just tide me over until I can arrange something a bit more long term.... like the extra bay reservoirs, I've seen a bay reservoiur with the pump included.... so I might try and get one of them.... although I'm thinking of making an entire home made version...with a 34- liter tank, that can fit on a shelf under the PC.....a triple fan radiator that will sit at the front of the shelf.....need to get some quick release valves then so that the PC can be disconnected from the tubing to be moved for upgrades and the like....

Thats the plan anyway...all depends on what happens over the coming months....!!!

I always get crazy little ideas....then something comes along and changes everything....!!

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/17/2008 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zurk
Member

Posts: 24
Joined: 04/17/2008

air cooling with stock amd cooler - phenom 9500 oc to 2.53 - idle 34C, load 57C mobo 31C.

-------------------------
Core i7 920, 3GB Corsair DDR3 RAM, Gigabyte EX58-UD5, 1KW Antec, HD4850 ICEQ4 Stock Air 12999 3DMark06
pics:http://www.flickr.com/photos/3...07/3045480260/sizes/l/
AMD Phenom 9600BE OC to 2.53Ghz FSB 230.3 1.25V, 4GB DDR2-667 RAM @ 383.8Mhz 1612.1Mhz HT Idle 34C/Load 57C @28.5C Stock Air, HD3870 on Gigabyte 790FX 10055 3DMark06. (sold)
 04/17/2008 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alan_J_T
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: 03/18/2008

He KazGirl I think 127 deg is a tad high on your Tmpin3 Might be an idear to change your Northbridge cooler to one that will dump some of that heat

-------------------------
CPU Phenom 9500* THERMALTAKE TMG A1 FITTED WITH THE THERMALTAKE SILENT CAT 9cm FAN *MotherBoard_ASUS M3A* Memory Xtreem Dark PC2 6400 DDR2 800MHz 4x 1 Gig* PowerSupply Enermax Infinty 650w* GPU ATI 1950GT Pci* Hard drive 2 by 500Gig Sata* DVD 2x Sata* 19 Inch Acer Monitor* Vista Home Premium 64.
 04/19/2008 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alan2273
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 04/12/2008

I have changed the stock HSF to an Artic cooler Pro and it has made no difference to the temperatures, if anything it has gone up 3c.
I used artic silver paste and only put a small pea sized blob on, hopefully as it settles, it will bring the temperature down.
If not I will have to go back to the stock fan.

Edited: 04/19/2008 at 06:30 AM by alan2273
 04/19/2008 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Originally posted by: Alan_J_T

He KazGirl I think 127 deg is a tad high on your Tmpin3 Might be an idear to change your Northbridge cooler to one that will dump some of that heat



Hi Alan

No TMPIN02 is a dead measurement..... its not related to anything thats why the reading is so *out there*

TMPIN0 is what used to be CPU temp and TMPIN1 is the system temp, or mobo temp this is the Motherboard I/O chip temp.

TMPIN2 is meaningless...has no purpose at the moment as far as I'm aware... its a dead measurement..... its the same as the TMPIN3 measurement in AOD....

Try it out and you'll see what I mean..!!

I think it varys as well from mobo to mobo depending on what sensor IC is used...!!

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/20/2008 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alan_J_T
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: 03/18/2008

Originally posted by: kazgirl

Originally posted by: Alan_J_T



He KazGirl I think 127 deg is a tad high on your Tmpin3 Might be an idear to change your Northbridge cooler to one that will dump some of that heat






Hi Alan



No TMPIN02 is a dead measurement..... its not related to anything thats why the reading is so *out there*



TMPIN0 is what used to be CPU temp and TMPIN1 is the system temp, or mobo temp this is the Motherboard I/O chip temp.



TMPIN2 is meaningless...has no purpose at the moment as far as I'm aware... its a dead measurement..... its the same as the TMPIN3 measurement in AOD....



Try it out and you'll see what I mean..!!



I think it varys as well from mobo to mobo depending on what sensor IC is used...!!



Hi KazGirl Have had a look and TMPIN0 On mine is CPU TMPIN1 is Motherboard and TMPIN2 seemes to be nothing as it never changes

Ther is also a a fair bit of difference between TMPIN0 and core temp for some reason



-------------------------
CPU Phenom 9500* THERMALTAKE TMG A1 FITTED WITH THE THERMALTAKE SILENT CAT 9cm FAN *MotherBoard_ASUS M3A* Memory Xtreem Dark PC2 6400 DDR2 800MHz 4x 1 Gig* PowerSupply Enermax Infinty 650w* GPU ATI 1950GT Pci* Hard drive 2 by 500Gig Sata* DVD 2x Sata* 19 Inch Acer Monitor* Vista Home Premium 64.
 04/23/2008 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi Alan,

Yes I figured that would be the case reagrding the TEMPIN2 figure..!!

The TEMPIN0 figure is the temp for the CPU IHS, so the IHS is nornally a little higher than the core temps, as its got the combined temeperature of the whole CPU rather than just the individual core...

But its odd that in my case the core temps are higher than the TEMPIN0 figure, and in yours the TEMPIN0 is higher than the Core Temps..

The other thing with Phenom CPU's is that the temps are measured differently. thats why the core temps are always identical, its not the actual temp being displayed but rather a calculated figure.....I read about it somewhere but can't find the page I read again now.... because of this I'm not placing too much faith in the software temp monitoring applications....

I would expect your temps to be a lot lower than the 9850 temps with the 9500 being a 95W TDP part, and the 9850 being a 125W TDP part....

I know when I had my 9500 installed in this PC I was getting core temps of 23C at idle.... that was when I had the twin 120mm external radiator as well as the single 120mm radiator though.... not sure what it would've been with just the single 120mm radiator...

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/29/2008 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MMDE
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/29/2008

It seems like my CPU also runs at a quite high temprature from what I expected.
I have 9850 BE too.

But my problem seems more related to the power supply fan and graphic card blowing at my heat sink.
The graphic card is stable idle at around 45-48, maybe a lil higher when playing games, but then again the graphic cards fans is dynamic and isnt in much use at idle, and cools the graphic card down rly well when wanted/needdd.

The CPU seems always to be around the same temprature as my graphic card. Often a couple of degrees more. and it gets a lot warmer when not idle. That means it can often get up to around 55 C :\

At what point is the AMD Phenom 9850 quadcore processor supposed to be too hot? I mean there should be a max for where it should run to not get overheated, and if it does that is a warrenty case...
Should I clean my processor with some alcohol as I spilled a lil thermenal paste on it, but I've cleaned it with a toothbrush already.

My HDD's is at around 30-31 degrees, never seen em over 35 but between their coldness and the the processor is the graphic card :s
Should I make some kinda path between the HDD's and the processor and its faned heatsink?

Maybe I should get some kinda water-cooling?



Under the HS is my processor ofc
Should I turn the hs fan around the other way maybe?

The fan on the left side for the HS is kinda, hmm, not very good in my opinion. I still havnt found a way to make it go faster, any ideas?
I use a Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DQ6 motherboard.
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Heatsink, with a good fan ive connected to it, I dont remember the brand and such atm, but its good

I dont really think the HeatSink is very hot or something, might be the software readings which is wrong too. In BIOS it always says about 10 degrees less, but might be it uses more after Windows XP boot and idle :\

What should i do about this, if I should do anything about it? My friend tells me its totally normal and it's all "cool"

Edited: 04/29/2008 at 08:49 AM by MMDE
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information