Topic Title: Phenom 9850 temperature
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/12/2008 06:22 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/20/2008 12:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sinister_steve

Ok Kab i read ur post on page 3 and I have no idea what you said ? can you help me out I have a phenom 9850 be and a asus m3a32-mvp deluxe mobo and a antec gaming case with 5 fans that are on high always ,i have not overclocked anything and my idle is at eround 50c and load it gets up to 68c I have tried different heat sink fans which made the temps worse ive used 3 different types of heat sink greece and im still getting to hot for my likeing...Can you explain what to do please I am quite new to all this bios changing stuff ...Thanks..Steve
 02/09/2009 10:42 PM

Author Icon
calthaer

Recently decided to build a desktop for the first time in several years (have used laptop and / or just made do with an old one for the past...6-7 years or so) and purchased the 9850 BE along with an ASUS CROSSHAIR II and dual ASUS 9600GT SILENT video cards in SLI-mode.

Put them in an Antec P182 case - things are very tight in there, but I managed to squeeze in the Thermalright IFX-14 (without the ancillary cooler that takes heat off the back of the motherboard):

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/...W50aHVzaWFzdA==

Of course used Arctic Silver to attach.

Speed and power were not my only consideration here - I wanted this PC to be very quiet...last one I built was way too noisy and I vowed to make a silent PC this time - and I have succeeded; the quiet-ish clock ticks louder than this thing. But this also meant that I didn't really want to go with water cooling - although I'm sure there are aquatic ninja solutions out there I'm also sure they'd be expensive.