AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Deneb 45nm Compatibility
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/27/2008 04:18 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/27/2008 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

I'd like to know or the future AMD Phenom (Deneb 45nm) will work with my motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum, AM2+?

AM3 45nm future CPU will work with AM2+ motherboards and DDR2 memory?

because AMD recently declare: AM2+ 45nm CPU stop making, AM3 only...

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)

Edited: 04/27/2008 at 11:34 AM by dandaletas
 04/28/2008 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Welcome to the Forums, dandaletas!

I believe that Deneb will be an AM3 processor. I don't think it will work in your K9A2 Platinum...

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 04/29/2008 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

I think it work..

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)
 04/30/2008 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jade_Monkey
Senior Member

Posts: 317
Joined: 08/06/2004

It could be like the Phenom processors where they worked in normal AM2 boards, but if the new CPUs support DDR3 then probably not.

-------------------------
Motherboard: Asus M2N-E
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 6400+
RAM: 2x OCZ2P8002GK
Graphics Card: BFG GTX 260 OC 896MB
Hard Drive: Seagate 1TB SATAII
Optical Drive: LG GSA-H62l
Power Supply: Tagan TG700-U88 BZ
Case: Antec Nine Hundred
Operating System: Windows Vista Business 64
 05/01/2008 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

AMD says: the new CPUs support DDR3 and DDR2.

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)

Edited: 05/01/2008 at 08:28 AM by dandaletas
 05/02/2008 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

I read that this morning, still waiting for a source though.
AM3 processors will work in AM2+ Motherboards with DDR2 ram.
For DDR3 ram you must use a socket AM3 mobo.

So.. new AM3 processors will work in AM2+ boards (after BIOS update).. supposedly.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 05/02/2008 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

Good news!

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)
 05/02/2008 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Yes, if the source is correct..

Lots of discussion found Googleing.
Might be a good Christmas present for myself.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 05/03/2008 03:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

Good Spider platform, with 45nm Deneb 2.8Ghz stock, 6MB cache!

Intel core run away!

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)
 05/10/2008 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlabamaCajun
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/23/2007

I just built a black Widow, this is good news. I'll be able to use my DFI M2R until AM3 boards reach maturity.

Now where can we get samples for testing?
 05/12/2008 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

I think 2008-2009.

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)
 05/25/2008 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BlackPanther26
Member

Posts: 59
Joined: 01/28/2007

These 45nm AMD Phenom's should be able to hit 3.8-4GHz with water. I doubt that they'll overclock better than Intel's offerings. Also it depends on the motherboard maker if they want to support the 45nm in their AM2+ Board or force you to buy an AM3 Board. I just hope AMD has a tripple Chanel DDR3 memory controler to compeat with Intel's next CPU.

-------------------------
[url=http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=364909][/url]
 05/31/2008 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super XP
Deprecated

Posts: 336
Joined: 12/29/2003

It's already been confirmed. The new 45nm Deneb will work in all excising and future AM2 & AM2+ motherboards. The only difference would be new AM3 motherboards will not be able to accept AM2 & AM2+ CPU's.

Unless AMD changes something in the near future. 45nm Deneb will be based on DDR2 but will have DDR3 compatability.

-------------------------
AMD FX 8120 @ 4.40GHz (8-Cores)
Asus Crosshair V
G-Skill RipJaw DDR3-1866 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Corsair H100
Corsair 180GB SSD Force Series 3
Windows 7 Ult. x64
 05/31/2008 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kab
Senior Member

Posts: 1349
Joined: 02/03/2007

They will work after BIOS updates, yes. AMD will not make such a foolish move. Although they will only use DDR2, quite obviously.
 06/01/2008 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super XP
Deprecated

Posts: 336
Joined: 12/29/2003

IF my memory serves me well, they will be DDR2 and DDR3 depending on the chipset. I am not sure if this is only for future upcoming CPU's or for this new 45nm Deneb?

-------------------------
AMD FX 8120 @ 4.40GHz (8-Cores)
Asus Crosshair V
G-Skill RipJaw DDR3-1866 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Corsair H100
Corsair 180GB SSD Force Series 3
Windows 7 Ult. x64
 06/01/2008 02:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super XP
Deprecated

Posts: 336
Joined: 12/29/2003

The Deneb AMD Quads will support DDR2 & DDR3 on the same die.
http://www.amd.com/us-en/0,,37...3,00.html?redir=45nm01

-------------------------
AMD FX 8120 @ 4.40GHz (8-Cores)
Asus Crosshair V
G-Skill RipJaw DDR3-1866 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Corsair H100
Corsair 180GB SSD Force Series 3
Windows 7 Ult. x64
 06/03/2008 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Ok am i correct to say this in the most simplest way i can:
1) AM3 chips can run on AM2+ mobos with the 'penalty' of running with DDR2 and lower HT
2) AM3 chips can run on AM2 mobos with the 'penalty' of both DDR2 and even lower HT??
Wouldn't that AM3 chip be somewhat limited even if it can run on an AM2 mobo? Made my day in any case hearing this news cos going with the green camp for my next rig hehe

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 06/03/2008 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luckystrikes
Member

Posts: 73
Joined: 02/13/2008

Originally posted by: BlackPanther26

These 45nm AMD Phenom's should be able to hit 3.8-4GHz with water. I doubt that they'll overclock better than Intel's offerings.


I doubt they will hit that either. But who knows.

-------------------------
- Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.81 Ghz (40 degrees C idle, 1.25V)
- Gigabyte MA790FX-DS5
- 3 Gigs of OCZ2N1066SR2GK @1066Mhz
- EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS PCI Express 2.0
- 700 Watt PSU. OCZ GameXstream
- WD 500GB 7500RPM
- Zalman CPU cooler (air cooled)
- Apevia X-CRUISER-BK/420 Case (3 80mm fans)
- 24" Widescreen BenQ G2400W 1920 x 1200 (DVI/VGA/HDMI, Full 1080P)
 06/03/2008 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kab
Senior Member

Posts: 1349
Joined: 02/03/2007

Originally posted by: batuchka

Ok am i correct to say this in the most simplest way i can:

1) AM3 chips can run on AM2+ mobos with the 'penalty' of running with DDR2 and lower HT

Why lower HT?
As far as I know, they can run the same as HT doesn't increase in speed.

2) AM3 chips can run on AM2 mobos with the 'penalty' of both DDR2 and even lower HT??

There might be problems here like no PSI specification support which means higher power draw than on supported motherboards, etc. Many AM2 motherboards should be able to run AM3 processors though but it won't be with all the advantages of AM3 motherboards, obviously.

Wouldn't that AM3 chip be somewhat limited even if it can run on an AM2 mobo?

Yes, in many things but you won't lose performance at stock by the differences/changes.
 06/05/2008 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlabamaCajun
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/23/2007

DDR3 will only work in the AM3 boards.
DDR2 will only work in the AM2(+) boards.
HT will be Chipset dependent as for as using any K10 or K10.5 processor 65nm or 45nm.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information