AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: help with AUTO CLOCK
Topic Summary: doesnt works at all
Created On: 06/19/2008 10:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/19/2008 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hardcoreatigamer
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/01/2008

in amd over drive sofware 2.0.1 and in the past versions i had a problem with the auto clock tab, i press start button to start auto clock and the auto clock progress bar it freezes like in 15 to 20 min aprox.


my pc specs are:
amd phenom 9600 BE
Big WAter 760 i (watercooling)
DIAMOND hd 3870 512 mb gddr4
Infinity 600 watt power supply (it sucks, i think that my turning on pc two times problem is because this power supply)
seagate 500 gb hardisk 7200 rpm

please help me
(or teach me how to overclock my processor) im new at pcs but i love pcs

sorry about my english

-------------------------
Processor: AMD PHENOM 9600 black edition
Memory: 2 gb DDR2 memory
Hard Drive: SATA 500 gb 7200 rpm
Video Card: ATI 3870 512mb of gddr4
Monitor: 19 inch (1280 x 1024) max resolution
Sound Card: Attached to motherboard
Speakers/Headphones: Logitech 100 watt 2.1
Keyboard: Saitek II
Mouse: Razer Lachesis
Mouse Surface: Razer Mantis Speed
Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate sp1

Edited: 06/19/2008 at 11:27 AM by hardcoreatigamer
 06/19/2008 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crazyPD
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/19/2008

i am having the same problem. i hit auto clock and after about 30 sec it freezes and windows has to shut it down.

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX AM2+, Phenom 9850 BE, Antec TPQ 850w, Antec Nine Hundred, Sapphire Toxic HD3870 512MB GDDR4 PCI 2.0, WD HD 320GB 7200RPM 16MB cache, ASUS Optical Drive, GSkill 2 x (2 x 2GB) DDR2 PC8500 1066Mhz, Vista Home Premium 64 bit.
 06/19/2008 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adam F
Senior Member

Posts: 1093
Joined: 01/11/2008

stop overclocking in windows and overclock in bios. It the ONLY WAY to overclock right.
 06/19/2008 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

From my expeirence its best to overclock with the bios. for your problem. it locked up because it got to a clock speed it couldnt handle anymore. if you reboot after that happens and go into it again it will tell you what the fastest bus speed was before it locked up. and then you can go into the bios and use that figure as a rough starting point for the overclock

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 06/20/2008 03:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kab
Senior Member

Posts: 1349
Joined: 02/03/2007

Hi hardcoreatigamer

You haven't listed your motherboard? That's the main thing you need to list to know how well and if AMD OverDrive will work with your processor.

However, you should try BIOS overclocking first to learn your processor/motherboard/memory limits. There is no way around this.

If you want to play about with AutoClock, place 1.4v on your processor first, 1.35v on your northbridge, make sure your RAM are set to loose timings so they can do 1000 5-5-5-15-30 easily stable and then hit the AutoClock button and let it work. Keep watching it, and watch where it freezes/gets stuck.

The next time you start up, open it up and it will tell you what your maximum succesful overclock was so you can copy those settings and try them in BIOS or using AOD manually and see if they work stable.

Don't have anything else running in the background NOR have any monitoring tool open (apart from Task Manager). You can see the temperatures inside AOD by a simple click.
 06/20/2008 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super XP
Deprecated

Posts: 336
Joined: 12/29/2003

Read this before you OC your Phenom. It's the best OC'ing guide on the internet IMO.
AMD K10 - Phenom Overclocking Guide

-------------------------
AMD FX 8120 @ 4.40GHz (8-Cores)
Asus Crosshair V
G-Skill RipJaw DDR3-1866 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Corsair H100
Corsair 180GB SSD Force Series 3
Windows 7 Ult. x64
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information