AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: no signal
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/02/2008 03:18 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/02/2008 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bushgw
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/02/2008

I just got my phenom 9950 140w black edition in the mail today and after plopping it in i get no signal to my monitor. m2n-sli 570 delux geforce 8800gtx, everything was working before. am2+ processors are backwards compatable on am2 sockets. i just cant see what the problem could be unless the thing isnt getting enough juice. but i must be doing something plz help
 10/02/2008 03:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

cleared ctc ram?

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 10/02/2008 03:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bushgw
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/02/2008

no i havent, how might i go about doing that, links? thank you much

: is ctc the same as a cmos reset? ive never heared of ctc ram reset.

Edited: 10/02/2008 at 03:52 AM by bushgw
 10/02/2008 03:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

p 2-19 of my asus manual. oops, RTC, not CTC. If it's not in your manual, i can give you instructions from mine.

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 10/02/2008 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bushgw
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/02/2008

just reset the rtc ram, but tha twasnt the problem, im still getting no feed to my monitor, i should at least be able to get to my bios, but the system is not talking to the monitor. everythings plugged in, this is baffling.
 10/02/2008 04:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

what's the psu wattage?

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 10/02/2008 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bushgw
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/02/2008

700w psu
8800gtx
m2n-sli 570 delux
1tb hdd, 320gig hdd, 64gig ssd
4gigs pc6400 800mhz x4

it almost sounds like a power problem but the mobo is kindof old, is the m2n-sli delux compatable with this processor?
 10/02/2008 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

ug, looks like bad news. check this thread:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...id=319&threadid=97160

it looks like the 140w 9950 doesn't work with that board.

However, if you check the serial number, maybe it's the 125w model.
http://products.amd.com/en-us/...f8=&f9=4000&f10=False&

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 10/02/2008 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

also, is it beeping at all?
red or green lights on the front panel flashing?
green light on the motherboard?

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 10/02/2008 04:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bushgw
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/02/2008

the light is solid, i figured that was the problem, phooie, looks like an excuse to further update my system, thanks for the help hal!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information