AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: [problem] amd data change ... ???
Topic Summary: problem with dmi...??
Created On: 01/12/2009 02:36 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by el_castigador, on Friday, January 16, 2009 7:35 AM

Answer:
no answer
 01/12/2009 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

this is my computer

Motherboard:
CPU Type TripleCore AMD Phenom 8450, 2100 MHz (10.5 x 200)
Motherboard Name Biostar A770 A2+ (3 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN)
Motherboard Chipset AMD 770, AMD K10
System Memory 4096 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DIMM1: Kingston KTC1G-UDIMM 1 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)
DIMM2: Kingston KTC1G-UDIMM 1 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)
DIMM3: Kingston KTC1G-UDIMM 1 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)
DIMM4: Kingston KTC1G-UDIMM 1 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)
BIOS Type Award (10/01/08)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT (512 MB)
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT (512 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
Monitor SyncMaster 932NW/NW1932/932NWEPlus/NW1932PLUS [NoDB] (H9LP905957)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative SB Live! 24-bit (SB0410) Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller AMD PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller AMD SATA Controller(Native IDE Mode)
Storage Controller Iniciador iSCSI de Microsoft
Disk Drive WDC WD1200JS-00MHB0 ATA Device (111 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive WDC WD1600AABS-00PRA0 ATA Device (149 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH20NS10 ATA Device (DVD+R9:10x, DVD-R9:10x, DVD+RW:20x/8x, DVD-RW:20x/6x, DVD-RAM:12x, DVD-ROM:16x, CD:48x/32x/48x DVD+RW/DVD-RW/DVD-RAM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK
-------------------------

but there's something wrong with my phenom or bios. i updated my bios to the last but every time that i power on my computer it show me this

"verifing dmi pool data
AMD Data Change - Update New Data to DMI"


and what's that??? i cant find nothing useful to understand

i have something wrong with my phenom x3 8450
i have something wrong with my motherboard
i have something wrong with my memories

***** Is??

i really dont know what to do if i need to do something??!!

Edited: 01/12/2009 at 02:42 PM by el_castigador
 01/16/2009 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

Answer Answer
no answer
 01/16/2009 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Seeing as you already have the current BIOS, you probably need to power down the computer completely and either pull the battery or jumper the cmos clear pins. Then restart, enter BIOS setup and load the optimized settings (or whatever it's called in your BIOS). Restart and away you go.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 01/17/2009 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

hi, i did it but nothing change..

i dont know if is a problem or not. i'm interesting to know what change in my phenom
 01/18/2009 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Also before doing what I mentioned I see other people have gone into device manager and deleted/unistalled the CPU then shut down.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 01/18/2009 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: el_castigador
"verifing dmi pool data

AMD Data Change - Update New Data to DMI"



This is normal after changes in BIOS. An update, a CMOS Reset or some major setting changed in BIOS.

However, it should only do this the first time after you saved the new bios settings, not every time you start the computer.

Was it doing the same thing before you updated BIOS?

After you've booted your computer up, does it work well? If it does there's only really one thing I can think of, the battery on your motherboard is dead and BIOS gets reset everytime you reboot....

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 01/19/2009 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

i buy a new motherboard for my phenomx3 ... a Biostar A770 A2+

i updated my bios to get support to my phenomx3, and every time it boot ... it takes a few second (3 or 4) to restart, then i see the normal BIOS check ... and then every time i booted i see...

verifing dmi pool data
AMD Data Change - Update New Data to DMI"



what change... what's wrong?? my phenom?? may be but it worked well with my old asus m2a-vm ...

some people said that's normal... it's the first time that i see it on a motherboard

i dont know what to do ... but the computer works,
 01/19/2009 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

As I wrote in my previous post, the battery on your motherboard might be dead.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 01/19/2009 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

the battery??? i'll change it
 01/19/2009 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

It's only an idea, it might not be that but it's something to try!

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 01/19/2009 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_castigador
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/31/2007

Originally posted by: Liqourice

It's only an idea, it might not be that but it's something to try!


i've changed the battery ... may be this BIOSTAR motherboard are not good

i have always problem with AMD PLATFORMS ¬¬ , im very unlucky with amd products
 01/19/2009 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

You'll have to contact biostar and ask them then..

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 02/02/2009 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

This only happens when something new is detected (like a PCI card) or a major BIOS modification is done (OC).

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 04/15/2009 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Norfolk
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/13/2009

Hé man, i have the same prob with an ABIT A-S78H (chipset AMD 780G) and an athlon X2 4800+
i have the message "amd data change ... update data to DMI" on every boot, see her what gigabyt FAQ says about this :

Q:When switching on the PC there is always a message at BIOS POST "K8 NPT Data change... Update New Data to DMI", what does this message mean?

A:It means that data of the memory registry of K8 processor has been updated to DMI when the system is turned on. Those data are aimed to be written back to processor when PC wakes up from sleep mode of S3(STR).

What that mean, and if i disable the S3 mode in power management; the message will disapear ????
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information