AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Problem with multiplier
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2009 09:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2009 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marten922
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2009

Hello

Im having Amd Phenom 9950 and mobo ECS A780GM-a

Problem is in games im having low fps cus of the auto multiplier it will stay on x6,5 when i play but i need it to be x13 as default ( 2600mhz)

So i changed it on BIOS to x13 but seems like BIOS wont save it.Thought when i go back to BIOS it shows it is on x13 but when i look with CPU-Z or with everest it shows me when i do something bigger it goes to x13 but still when i play or just idle it goes back to x6,5
O and i have vista 64x

Any ideas?


And one more prob im having idle temp 42 and ingames 56 is this normal or?

Edited: 01/24/2009 at 09:47 AM by Marten922
 01/24/2009 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

Sounds like AMD Cool'n'Quiet, a power saving feature. It will lower the speed of the processor when there is no load on the processor and raise it back up when there is a load. It should go to the higher mulptiplier when the game is running. If it is not you could try disabling Cool 'n' Quiet in the BIOS.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 01/24/2009 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marten922
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2009

Originally posted by: grndragon57

Sounds like AMD Cool'n'Quiet, a power saving feature. It will lower the speed of the processor when there is no load on the processor and raise it back up when there is a load. It should go to the higher mulptiplier when the game is running. If it is not you could try disabling Cool 'n' Quiet in the BIOS.


ye i have been searching for cool n quiet in BIOS but i just cant find it :S

EDIT: thanks dude found it and it worked name was AMD C&Q

Edited: 01/24/2009 at 11:33 AM by Marten922
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information