AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ***** is this ? 800mhz on a AMD quad 940??
Topic Summary: Is this a power saving feature or just a ***** cpu ?
Created On: 03/26/2009 04:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/26/2009 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

In truth its set to 1.465 volts in bios.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Hrmm my first boundry. I tryied to boot 1.36 watts and 3.7 and wasnt having it. Gave me a single beep and restarted.

I add to the watts and this is my results.



-------------------------
 03/26/2009 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Is there a way to delete this post? I messed up and didnt see it went to the 2nd page.

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

you need more vcore bud. set it to 1.45 to 1.475 volts for 3.7 Ghz.

Or you will start BSOD under heavy gaming loads.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Yeah when i did a benchmark it crashed on me =/

So now it looks simuliar to urs



-------------------------
 03/26/2009 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

much better.

as long as your PSU holds the load steady it will do fine. If your PSU falters some you might need little more volts.

Now temps are most important.

DO NOT let it pass 62c EVER and try like hell to keep it no higher then 58c recommended.

Mine hit around 42c to 44c gaming load and 47c all 4 cores 100% load.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

I dunno.. I don't think I like 3.72 its stable but it seems louder from the fans.

For some reason Passmark's Proformance Test doesnt want to read my cdrom into their score which i aint too worried about.

Here is the break down

Passmark score

3.0 Ghz = 999.9 (-27%)
3.2 Ghz = 1219.6 (-11.6%)
3.5 Ghz = 1313.3 (-4.8%)
3.7 Ghz = 1378.9

For the 5% gain from OCin it to 3.7 doesn't really seem worth it. From 3.2 to 3.5 def seems worth it because I can run it stable without raising core volts.

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 10:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

thats your cooling I guess.

I run a total of 21 db noise level at 3.7 Ghz and a top clocked 285 GTX.

also your pass mark score is off.

I gained 27% from 3 Ghz to 3.7 Ghz.

going to run a passmark test now just to see what I get.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

As mentioned before the passmark doesnt like my cdrom for some reason. It worked on my first test and hasnt since. My cdrom works perfect, what little I use it. I like virtual drives that run @ 200x as compared to cdroms that for the most part max out @ 52x.

When you say "I gained 27%" do you mean you gained that or me. Because my figures show that I too gained 27% from 3.0 to 3.7

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

this was every day run of the mill 24/7 settings



that's a 28.4% gain over my stock. That to me is WORTH IT.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Go to search and look for " x940cc " I just made up some random letters to make it unique. You should find mine. Compare the 2 and see where the big differences are. I'm gonna prob go with cdrom/GPU and HDD

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

just looked for yours and no go its not there in down loadable baselines.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Just realized urs is 6.1 and mine is 7.0.

They got a free download for it, well 30 days but you only need it for 5 mins

http://www.passmark.com/products/pt.htm

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

would need the 64 bit and I hope my serial works with the 7.0.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/26/2009 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

I am on 64 right now, and I only got the trial version and I can download and upload results

-------------------------
 03/26/2009 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

you need more vcore bud. set it to 1.45 to 1.475 volts for 3.7 Ghz.



Or you will start BSOD under heavy gaming loads.


Not necessarily true, it may be that he has a better CPU that is stable at a lower voltage.... not all CPU's are alike in every detail...!!

If he's stable at 3.7Ghz & 1.4v then thats all that matters really.... doesn't necessarily mean that he needs to use the same voltage as you do to keep stable at 3.7Ghz he may need less he may need more, or he could indded need the same...

But generally the lower the voltage needed to keep stable at the highest clock the better... it will help with temps as well as with power consumption and fan speeds..!!

Vellium is also using on ly a single 4850 whereas you have the GTX285, so the GPU score is going to signifcantly increase your Passmark Overall score in comparison... if you both try running all but the GPU tests..then that would give a better comparison to guage from.... or just look at the CPU scores...!!!


I think your confusing what Vellium was saying as well about the percentage of performance....

Essentially he's saying that the gains from 3.0 to 3.5Ghz were greater than the gains from 3.5Ghz to 3.7Ghz .... particularly considering the added power consumption necessary to gain the additional 200Mhz.... from 3.5Ghz to 3.7Ghz, compared to the stock voltage used for the 3.0Ghz to 3.5Ghz overclock...

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 03/26/2009 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Its back down to 3.5 looking over some of the other settings I'm a bit curious

Radeon 4850 512 is my GPU

GPU Overclocking - Starts @ 500, Range is 150-999

PCI-E Overclocking - Starts @ 100, Range is 100-150

Hyper Transporting speed - Range 200-1.8 Ghz

Hyper Transporting Width - 4-8 or 16 bits

-------------------------


Edited: 03/26/2009 at 11:58 PM by Vellium
 03/27/2009 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Originally posted by: Vellium

Its back down to 3.5 looking over some of the other settings I'm a bit curious



Radeon 4850 512 is my GPU



GPU Overclocking - Starts @ 500, Range is 150-999
I think this is referring to the onbaord GPU



PCI-E Overclocking - Starts @ 100, Range is 100-150
Leave it at stock for time being you can try increasing it once you have the main system Bus' overclocks stable (CPU/NB/HT/RAM)



Hyper Transporting speed - Range 200-1.8 Ghz
This will normally be depnedant upon the NB speed... if the NB speed is increased to 2.4Ghz then this should then show an increased setting available up to 2.4Ghz as well.... !!



Hyper Transporting Width - 4-8 or 16 bits
Ideally this would be at 16

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 03/27/2009 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Is there a program for 64 vista that will OC a Radeon 4850 GPU ?

-------------------------


Edited: 03/27/2009 at 12:26 AM by Vellium
 03/27/2009 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dabob79
Deprecated

Posts: 463
Joined: 02/14/2009

Any of you have any problems with Passmark, specifically with 3D benchmarks? Mine locks up ever time of the complex benchmark, everything else runs just fine. I loaded a baseline that is close to matching my system, actually I believe it may be Vellium's system because it starts out x940c. Mine is scoring slightly higher than this baseline, except in the 3D video. What tests I can run seem to be scoring quite a bit lower than the baseline, which has a Radeon 4850. I'm running two 4670's in crossfire, which should be pretty even with a 4850. Here are my results:



Any ideas? I also have them both overclocked, GPU clock at 790 MHz and memory clock at 1040 MHz - This is in Catalyst Control Center. AOD shows GPU status like this:

Engine 164.95
Memory 249.75

Has any of my recent changes (Kaz and Guru know what I'm talking about) affected my video in some way, and is there something else I could do to fix it? I know last time I played Wow a few days ago, it was running fine at 1080p, everything maxed, and 65 fps. Thanks!

Bob

-------------------------
Phenom II X2 555 B.E. Unlocked to X4 @ 3.4GHz
ASUS M4A887-M/USB 3 Micro ATX MB
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @1600Mhz, 7-7-7-21
Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Graphics Card
Crucial 64GB SATA III SSD
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular PS
Silverstone HTPC Case
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information