AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ***** is this ? 800mhz on a AMD quad 940??
Topic Summary: Is this a power saving feature or just a ***** cpu ?
Created On: 03/26/2009 04:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 5 6 7 8 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/06/2009 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dabob79
Deprecated

Posts: 463
Joined: 02/14/2009

Just an update...

My computer is back to normal, running JUST Vista 64, no more LINUX!!!

My current configuration, which is rock solid stable and probably where I'll stay, is 3.5Ghz @ 1.4125V, NB and HTT at 2.2Ghz, NB voltage at 1.25V, RAM at 2.1V. Both video cards are OC'd at 790 Mhz and 1040 Mhz. Max load temps on processors is 54C, with idle around 42C. Both video cards hover around 39C. This new fan does sound like a freakin' jet turbine at max RPM, but I only run it around 2100 RPM. Thanks again everybody for your help!!

Bob

-------------------------
Phenom II X2 555 B.E. Unlocked to X4 @ 3.4GHz
ASUS M4A887-M/USB 3 Micro ATX MB
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @1600Mhz, 7-7-7-21
Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Graphics Card
Crucial 64GB SATA III SSD
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular PS
Silverstone HTPC Case
 04/06/2009 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Hrmm.. Everyone seems to run 3.5ghz @ 1.4v+ Have you tested stability @ 1.3xx ? I only ask this because it only seems my computer has been able to run stable @ 3.5ghz and 1.3xx

Then on memory, I never looked @ the volts on my ram until now. I'm running @ 1.8v, Is there a range of acceptable voltage on ram. I ask this because I see you're @ 2.1

-------------------------
 04/06/2009 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Vellium

Hrmm.. Everyone seems to run 3.5ghz @ 1.4v+ Have you tested stability @ 1.3xx ? I only ask this because it only seems my computer has been able to run stable @ 3.5ghz and 1.3xx



Then on memory, I never looked @ the volts on my ram until now. I'm running @ 1.8v, Is there a range of acceptable voltage on ram. I ask this because I see you're @ 2.1


Look at CPU-Z under the SPD tab, if there's a EPP (Enhanced Performance Profile) then:
Manually set your memory frequency, timings and voltage accordingly!
Otherwise look up your Kingston's memory's specs, then set it as listed by them for 800MHz.
Typically, CAS 5 timings require 1.80-1.90v, while CAS 4 timings need 2.10v with DDR2-800.
Also, DDR2-1066 memory usually requires 2.10v to run at EPP specs.

Btw, why don't you run some DDR2-1066 memory with your 940?

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)

Edited: 04/06/2009 at 10:37 PM by NemesisChild
 04/06/2009 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dabob79
Deprecated

Posts: 463
Joined: 02/14/2009

Originally posted by: Vellium

Hrmm.. Everyone seems to run 3.5ghz @ 1.4v+ Have you tested stability @ 1.3xx ? I only ask this because it only seems my computer has been able to run stable @ 3.5ghz and 1.3xx



Then on memory, I never looked @ the volts on my ram until now. I'm running @ 1.8v, Is there a range of acceptable voltage on ram. I ask this because I see you're @ 2.1


That's exactly the ram I'm running, and I haven't had a problem with it yet!

Bob

-------------------------
Phenom II X2 555 B.E. Unlocked to X4 @ 3.4GHz
ASUS M4A887-M/USB 3 Micro ATX MB
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @1600Mhz, 7-7-7-21
Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Graphics Card
Crucial 64GB SATA III SSD
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular PS
Silverstone HTPC Case
 04/10/2009 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
andurel
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/30/2009

can some 1 help me whit oc my system :AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3000 MHz (15 x 200) , mobo Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H and i whant safe 3,5 - 3,6 ghz thanks
 04/10/2009 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dabob79
Deprecated

Posts: 463
Joined: 02/14/2009

See my reply in your original post...

-------------------------
Phenom II X2 555 B.E. Unlocked to X4 @ 3.4GHz
ASUS M4A887-M/USB 3 Micro ATX MB
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @1600Mhz, 7-7-7-21
Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Graphics Card
Crucial 64GB SATA III SSD
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular PS
Silverstone HTPC Case
 08/07/2009 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joytech22
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/07/2009

Yeah i got 2 problems,

1: I dont know how the hell to post a new topic on this forum? lil help..

And 2, i have a similar problem/w ram and CPU-Z showing the wrong socket.. as well as the HT link proving that for some reason the CPU is not using AM3..?

Heres a pic..





Is the ram dual channel?

OH MAN this thread is old!!

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955
Nvidia Geforce GTX285
Thermaltake TR2 RX 550W
 08/08/2009 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arsenic
Deprecated

Posts: 257
Joined: 04/19/2009

Could you post the other tabs from CPU-Z, then we may be able to help.

Edit: You can find "new topic" on top of the page, directly beside the button where you can edit your profile.

-------------------------
Phenom II 940 @3.40GHz 1,35V|Xigmatek HDT-SD964|Foxconn A79A-S|4GB Kingston HyperX 1066 CL5 2.0V|Sapphire HD4830 512MB|Sharkoon Avenger|LC6600GP2 600W
http://www.sysprofile.de/id99196
 08/08/2009 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
erosyan
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/15/2009

This is the CnQ function la....zzzzzzzz
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information