AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom 9600 + Vista x64 & Nvidia Vid. Driver = :"(
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/22/2009 03:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/22/2009 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoidman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2009

Hey guys, so I've been bumping around the forums for a while and looking for answer to my problems, and so far to no avail.

I recently purchased a 9600 for a client, and am getting very frustrated trying to install Vista 64bit. I have installed it more times than I can shake a stick at, and have gotten more BSOD than I can count, but occasionally Vista will finially install. All seems well for a matter of 15 minutes 'till I install the driver (186.18) for the Nvidia 8800GT that's inside the comp. After that point, Windows refuses to load and stalls out at the bar floating across the screen utnil I manually shut down the computer.

I have diagnosed all the other components, (PSU, GPU, RAM, Mobo, DVD, pretty much everything) and switched them all out to ensure that nothing else could be wrong. Which has it pegged on the CPU being the only component left to still be buggy.

So basically what I'm getting at, is even with my copy of Vista x64 (SP1), with the TLB bug fix enabled in the BIOS, my system continues to get BSOD while installing vista, and if vista finally installs I cannot put graphics drivers on, on top of that I get the random STOP 0x101 error!


Please help
Thanks

System info:
CPU: Phenom 9600BE
Mobo: GA-M57SLI-S4
HDD: WD250gb
PSU: Volcano 630W
Vid: MSI NX8800GT (8800GT G92 chipset)
RAM: 6GB OCZ Platinum

Edited: 06/22/2009 at 03:37 PM by Zoidman
 06/22/2009 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

You didn't mention the HDD, did you check it out for errors, etc.?
Also, do you have the proper +12v rail hooked up to it?.....i.e. Sata power connector if it's a Sata drive.
Could be a bad HDD, I've seen it happen before, even though Windows thinks it's ok.
Also, did you google that error code, it can provide some insight into the problem.
Drivers 185.85 and above are worthless, if you get Vista to install properly, try 182.50.

Did you try it with TLB bug fix disabled in the bios?

Good luck......

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 06/22/2009 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoidman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2009

Yeah, I tested the HDD, did a couple sweeps using some utilities on the UBCD (Ultimate Boot CD, great tool btw) and prior to putting it over in the 9600 machine, I used it on my main computer for benchmarking purposes and had no issues with it what so ever. The UBCD is also what I used to verify the RAM and most of the other components were all fine.

The exact error is
"Stop: 0x000000101"
And I did a lot of searching on it, and none of it was very useful... Most of the time it stated the obvious that a core was malfunctioning, and if not that it was just old info about enabling and disabling the TLB bug patch...

I managed to get vista to install, and on par with your request, I'm using the 182 driver. I did a 2 hour prime95 test, and it 100% passed, but the minute I tried to do a windows vista experience indicator test it went to a black screen and froze the computer, and stalled the first time Vista tried to start after the crash...

I'm going to install 3Dmark06 onto the machine to put the video through some stress tests to see what exactly triggers it, and test the TLB patch (Bios and Vista). Btw, I know its not the video card itself, because I had it running on my other computer about a week ago (for the past year) with no problems what so ever. The reason why its in this new computer is because I upgraded to a GTX260.

Update:
Negative on the install of 3DMark06, BSOD when installing, but I did get the info from the system recover console

Problem signature: Problem Event Name: BlueScreen OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1 Locale ID: 1033 Additional information about the problem: BCCode: 101 BCP1: 0000000000000030 BCP2: 0000000000000000 BCP3: FFFFFA60017D2180 BCP4: 0000000000000003 OS Version: 6_0_6001 Service Pack: 1_0 Product: 256_1


Edited: 06/22/2009 at 05:42 PM by Zoidman
 06/22/2009 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HaricotVert
B1FF

Posts: 106
Joined: 05/28/2009

Is it the BSoD that says "A Clock Interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval"?

Because that would explain everything.
 06/23/2009 01:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoidman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2009

Yupper, that's the one =/
 06/23/2009 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

You say you tested/swapped the ram. How many volts is it getting and what is it's recommended setting? Did you try with just 1 or 2 dimms installed?

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 06/23/2009 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HaricotVert
B1FF

Posts: 106
Joined: 05/28/2009

Originally posted by: Zoidman

Yupper, that's the one =/


Get a warranty replacement through AMD if it's a retail box or through the reseller/vendor if it's OEM.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information