AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Broken pin
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/21/2009 08:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/21/2009 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dragun0v
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/21/2009

Recently by accident i broke one pin on processor, are there any other options beside throwing it away. Does amd deal with any kind of repair(for charge of course). I am out of options any feedback is appreciated
 07/21/2009 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

Option 1: Install the CPU and pray that your pin is a no-connect. If it works and is stable (prime95, orthos, gaming, etc) you're lucky.
Option 2: Solder it back (dunno how though...)

AFAIK, AMD does not repair pins.
Good luck!!!
 07/21/2009 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

There are some jewelers/goldsmiths that can do it.
There are some East Indians in town (in a mall of all places!) who sell a bunch of gold jewelry and they did an awesome job sticking a couple pins back onto a cpu for me.

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 07/22/2009 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dragun0v
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/21/2009

I was really lucky it worked without pin plus I got 4th core unlocked wow, I got 7.2 cpu performance on windows 7. I ran all kind of cpu benchmarks, seems really stable, and it doesnt go over 25c when idle and 30c when under load
 07/23/2009 12:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

Then it must be a no-connect, or power pin, or something like a HT link or RAM link that isn't vital.
Glad to hear you've got no problems.
 07/25/2009 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kedas2
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/24/2009

Based on the temps probably a temp sensor pin, just kidding.

If you know which pin it was you can look up if it should be connected, I'm pretty sure it's documented on some PDF.
 07/26/2009 04:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yappcd
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 03/10/2009

I also broke a pin on my 940 and they replaced it as a courtesy. However, during the conversation I was told by AMD that they are a little lenient when only one pin is damaged. If multiple pins are bent or broken then they are a little less lenient.
 05/06/2012 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eray1903bjk
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/06/2012

What amd doesnt reparing it really amd you must repair for some money
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information