AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer Running on Phenom II X4 940?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/20/2009 01:13 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/20/2009 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

After running "msconfig" or "Autoruns" I have noticed that amd_dc-opt (AMD Dual-Core Optimizer) is listed among the startup aps, is this normal?

Why is "AMD Dual-Core Optimizer" on my system when my CPU is a Phenom II X4 Quad Core?

Thanks in advance.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/21/2009 08:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Good question and it's not normal.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 09/21/2009 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Did you upgrade from XP to Vista?

Go to add/remove programs and see if it's listed there, if so, uninstall it.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/21/2009 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

No, you cannot upgrade from x86 to x64.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/21/2009 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

It is nowhere to be found in "Programs and Features".

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/21/2009 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Xerran

No, you cannot upgrade from x86 to x64.


I know, but you could have been running 64-bit XP.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/24/2009 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

Originally posted by: Hardwood

Good question and it's not normal.


Thanks, I finally found it in ADD/Remove. It was listed as Dual Core Optimizer, I was looking for "AMD".



-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/24/2009 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Few games like the new batman game auto installs DCO even if you use a quad core. I just remove it (DCO) after the games installed.

Just thought I would add that encase that's where its coming from.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/24/2009 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

Thanks a lot for the heads up. It makes a lot of sense because I have installed a lot of games that I ordered from Goozex recently. I think DCO was causing me to crash because "Programs and Features" tells me it was installed on 8/29 and that is right about the time I started having issues.

Batman: Arkham Asylum is freaking awesome game, I was up until 6AM playing it and I had no idea the time flew. Well worth the money indeed.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/24/2009 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

yes its an awesome game, loving it my self.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/24/2009 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerran
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 03/02/2009

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

yes its an awesome game, loving it my self.



I must admit the only thing I am not loving is the developers at Rocksteady bending to nVidia's proprietary PhysX garbage instead of going the neutral (Havok) or Open source (OpenCL) route.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3605.17MHz (206.01*17.5)
Laing D5 MCP655 Pump | D-TEK FuZion v1 CPU Block | Feser One - F1 - Cooling Fluid
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Mobo (BIOS F6)
4GB G.SKILL (F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK) DDR2 1100 @ 5-5-5-15
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality FPS
WD Caviar Black 500GB (WD5001AALS) SATA 3.0 HDD x2
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W PSU
Windows 7 Professional x64
Driver Versions: Catalyst 9.12, X-Fi 2.18.0013
 09/25/2009 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

That's where we differ, Physx just rocks for detail and FPS performance.

I max this game out as high as she will go with mad eye candy in drivers and still pull more FPS then my eye can ever see @1920x1080 1080p.

Cant wait to see what the 295 GTX top clocked monster card will do tomorrow.

Clocks on it are same as mid range 285 GTX X2 .

Giving the fact that its easier and cheaper for game makers to program to nvidia then ATI architecture, I doubt it will change any time soon.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/15/2010 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slapusilly
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/15/2010

I found that Batman installed this on my computer as well. Suddenly my otherwise smooth running system was hanging for a few seconds doing the most menial of tasks (simply opening the control panel!) I looked around and lo and behold there it was installed on the same day/time as Batman! Removed and now my machine is happier! Thanks to the original poster for bringing up this topic! It helped!

-------------------------
Processor: AMD Phenom II X2 550 B.E. (x4) @ 3515.44 MHz (200.88 * 17.5)
Cooling: OCZ Vendetta 2 (keeps it around 40C When gaming)
MB Model: Asus M4A785-M
Memory: A-Data G Series 4096 MB DDR2 Dual Channel 401.8 MHz 2.01V @ 5-5-5-12
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT EE 1024mb (1GB) O.C.'d to 635Mhz Core clock and 1588Mhz shader clock Using MSI Afterburner program.
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
 03/15/2010 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Interesting, I've never noticed this at all.

....I haven't been experiencing any issues really, but I'll uninstall this little bugger anyway!!

This is what it is though:

AMD Dual-Core Optimizer Version 1.1.4
Description:

The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.


-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/16/2010 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

I remember the discussion about this when the first line of Phenoms arrived. I'm sure those threads can be find somewhere way back in the forum. DCO causing problems and shouldn't be used with the newer CPU's, it was ment for Athlon X2's and this had been fixed in the newer line of cpu's somehow.

DOn't quite remember and I'm to lazy to search for it but I do know that todays CPU's doesn't need it.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information