AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II X2 550 + 770 chipset + GeForce 9800GT = No 3D?
Topic Summary: I can't play 3D games and I'm stumped as to why
Created On: 12/05/2009 01:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Zabadoh, on Friday, December 18, 2009 12:44 AM

Answer:
FIXED!!! It turned out to be the memory, which was designated "for Core i5 and i7" Don't ask me why DDR3 1600 can't behave like DDR3 1600 like it says on the label.

Now I'm running 2x generic 2GB DDR3 1333 and everything's working fine.
 12/05/2009 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zabadoh
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/20/2003

I've built my new gaming rig with a Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition, 4GB DDR3, and MSI 770-C45 mobo and a Galaxy 9800 GT 512MB Low Power edition.

I'm having problems playing 3d games. Even the menu screen for Freelancer screws up on this setup. When the 3d screen comes up, it's dark, then the textures go haywire and then the system bluescreens.

The problem isn't the video card. It seems to work fine with my Phenom X3 4850 machine on an ASUS M3A76 mobo.

The mobo and CPU work fine otherwise, or with 2D games like Red Alert 2.

So I'm stumped.

Any ideas?
 12/06/2009 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasongs
Newbie

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/04/2009

Please Post System Specs ( This is very Helpful )

Any OC on the Cpu??
What Vga Drivers are you using?
Have you manually set Freq, Timing an volt for your memory?

It looks like a stability issue.....

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X3 720 @3.4 1.4v
Cooler Master V8
Asus M4A78-E 790gx/SB750
4Gb OCZ REAPER HPC PC6400 @800Mhz 4-4-4-12 2T 2.1v
1x320Gb Sata HD, 1x500Gb Sata HD, 1x Sata DVDRW
Evga GTX 260 760/1530/1300
PNY GTS 250 740/1835/1100 ( Dedicated Physx )
Corsair CMPSU 750TX
Cooler Master HAF922 3x200mm 2x120mm
Soyo 20.1 LCD Monitor
Hyundai 32" LCD Tv/Monitor
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
 12/14/2009 02:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zabadoh
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/20/2003

My specs:

CPU has no OC and stock cooler
AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 550 Processor Callisto Rev C2
Core Speed 3107.7 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 15.5 x 200.5 MHz
HT Link speed 2004.9 MHz

Motherboard
MSI 770-C45 (MS-7599) AMD 770 Chipset
AMI BIOS Rev 1.4 (latest)

The memory is a little funky - The mobo supports up to 1333Mhz, but says that it can support 1600Mhz with OC, so that's what I have in there right now: 2x 2GB DDR3 1600
I've set up the memory to run at 1600Mhz in the BIOS with no change in voltage. Maybe that's my next step is to up the voltage, but it seems like I'm going in the reverse direction from usual overclocking exploratory practice. I don't want to burn out my memory by keeping on raising the voltage because I really don't know how much voltage it will take to stabilize the memory, if the memory is actually the problem at all.

(Only DIMM #1 is shown here, but DIMM #2 is the same)
DIMM # 1
SMBus address 0x50
Memory type DDR3
Module format UDIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Corsair (7F7F9E0000000000)
Size 2048 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3-10700H (667 MHz)
Part number CMX4GX3M2A1600C9
Number of banks 8
Nominal Voltage 1.50 Volts
EPP no
XMP yes
XMP revision 1.2
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 6.0-6-6-16-23 @ 444 MHz
JEDEC #2 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 592 MHz
JEDEC #3 9.0-9-9-24-34 @ 666 MHz
XMP profile XMP-1600
Specification PC3-12800
Voltage level 1.650 Volts
Min Cycle time 1.250 ns (800 MHz)
Min tRP 11.25 ns
Min tRCD 11.25 ns
Min tWR 15.00 ns
Min tRAS 30.00 ns
Min tRC 50.63 ns
Min tRFC 110.00 ns
Min tRTP 7.50 ns
Min tRRD 7.50 ns
Command Rate 2T
XMP timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC-CR @ frequency (voltage)
XMP #1 6.0-6-6-16-27-2T @ 533 MHz (1.650 Volts)
XMP #2 9.0-9-9-24-41-2T @ 800 MHz (1.650 Volts)

GPU is completely stock. No OC.
Galaxy 9800 GT 512MB Low Power Edition
GeForce driver version 191.07 (latest)

Edited: 12/14/2009 at 02:43 AM by Zabadoh
 12/17/2009 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasongs
Newbie

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/04/2009

First regarding the memory.. Look at the label in the memory, it should say the timings and volts to use... Regarding you VGA drivers i would use the previous one 190.62, or look into nvidia website for the newest one... Lots of user with the 191.07 drivers were having issues just like the one you mention, other reported problems with there Cards after using these drivers, ... I myself had artifacting problems when i installed the 191.07, and had to roll back to previous drivers.....

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X3 720 @3.4 1.4v
Cooler Master V8
Asus M4A78-E 790gx/SB750
4Gb OCZ REAPER HPC PC6400 @800Mhz 4-4-4-12 2T 2.1v
1x320Gb Sata HD, 1x500Gb Sata HD, 1x Sata DVDRW
Evga GTX 260 760/1530/1300
PNY GTS 250 740/1835/1100 ( Dedicated Physx )
Corsair CMPSU 750TX
Cooler Master HAF922 3x200mm 2x120mm
Soyo 20.1 LCD Monitor
Hyundai 32" LCD Tv/Monitor
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
 12/18/2009 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zabadoh
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/20/2003

Answer Answer
FIXED!!! It turned out to be the memory, which was designated "for Core i5 and i7" Don't ask me why DDR3 1600 can't behave like DDR3 1600 like it says on the label.

Now I'm running 2x generic 2GB DDR3 1333 and everything's working fine.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information