AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II X2 545
Topic Summary: Won't run stable
Created On: 01/24/2010 08:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Zenrikku, on Monday, January 25, 2010 8:26 PM

Answer:
It was the ram, i tested it, and my friendly PC place tested it and it passed, so we tried replacing it just to see and it works now.
 01/24/2010 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zenrikku
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/24/2010

Here's my problem, I've ran everything I can think of to make sure everything is good on my system, checked ram and everything. Everything seems to check out. But when I try to run SuperPi, Prime95, Orthos, etc. it locks my PC up, I've tried setting timing myself, left them on auto, an nothing seems to work. Any ideas?


M4A785TD-V EVO
AMD Phenom II X2 545
Super Talent DDR3-1333 4GB (2x2GB)
Radeon HD 5750
Windows 7 32-Bit OS
 01/24/2010 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

What is your cooling... Prime95 is a beast and will get that CPU cooking nicely. What temps are you getting when running these stress tests?

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 01/24/2010 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zenrikku
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/24/2010

It's the stock heatsink, but I can't even run Prime95, as soon as I hit test BOOM! It freezes, the one time I did get it to run for like a minute, it was at 38C.
 01/24/2010 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zenrikku
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/24/2010

Anyone have a answer?
 01/25/2010 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasongs
Newbie

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/04/2009

I would recommend updating the Bios to the latest one.. that could help you out...

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X3 720 @3.4 1.4v
Cooler Master V8
Asus M4A78-E 790gx/SB750
4Gb OCZ REAPER HPC PC6400 @800Mhz 4-4-4-12 2T 2.1v
1x320Gb Sata HD, 1x500Gb Sata HD, 1x Sata DVDRW
Evga GTX 260 760/1530/1300
PNY GTS 250 740/1835/1100 ( Dedicated Physx )
Corsair CMPSU 750TX
Cooler Master HAF922 3x200mm 2x120mm
Soyo 20.1 LCD Monitor
Hyundai 32" LCD Tv/Monitor
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
 01/25/2010 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
I3r0k3n7FEET
Deprecated

Posts: 266
Joined: 01/25/2010

? how are you running super pi? isit on your HDD or on a removable? tbh its not a big deal.. as above.. make sure you have latest bios that supports it.. if you do then it could be one of those PC mysteries lol

though it could even be something to do with your ram :S

-------------------------
 01/25/2010 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zenrikku
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/24/2010

Answer Answer
It was the ram, i tested it, and my friendly PC place tested it and it passed, so we tried replacing it just to see and it works now.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information