AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: *1st time AMD buyer...NEED HELP!!* Phenom II x4 955 Idle temp never < 45*C
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/22/2010 12:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/22/2010 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepdawg
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/22/2010

I have a Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 on a brand new Phenom 2. Using core temp i have never seen my processor go below 45*C. Is this normal? Is there any thing i can do? Its not the best case but right behind it i have a 120 pushing air out of the case as well. An 80mm on my HDD cage, so the air is definitely moving.
 03/22/2010 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepdawg
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/22/2010

This is a Black Edition as well. My voltage according to coretemp is 1.325(gigabyte board is set to auto) im too worried to try to OC it with these temps
 03/22/2010 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Welcome to the forum SheepDawg!!
First thing you need to do is to go into the BIOS and look in HareWare monitoring to see if CoreTemp and the BIOS readings is the same. Just to make sure your getting an accurate reading.

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 03/22/2010 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepdawg
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/22/2010

coretemp AMD overdrive and the pc health in the bios settings are all the same temperature. i have been running stability tests for a hours now(on and off) after OCing it to a x18 multi. idling at 38-40...paste must have set up or something(domr crappy best buy dynex paste, could probably get cooler.
 03/22/2010 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

I think you kinda answered your own question.... If your going to be doing any OCing (which it appears you are) you might want to consider getting one of the proven brands, like Artic-5, Tuniq TX-2, or OCZ Freeze. Just to mention a couple of more popular brands.

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 03/22/2010 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepdawg
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/22/2010

LOL yea well let me explain i had some arctic mx-2 from newegg but as this is my first AMD processor this was my first time trying to secure a heatsink to the cpu...needless to say i wasted all the good stuff (funny now but i was quite mad at the time). getting a new case here friday, so maybe ill go grab some good paste and reseat it then. thanks Uncle Fester.
 03/22/2010 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Hey no problem Bud. Ya good idea to reapply the good stuff while you swap the MoBo out, just make sure you don't put it on to thick or it will act like insulation.

And I quite understand about the getting T'ed off, then looking back and laughing at myself LOL

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 04/06/2010 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dragon965
Newbie

Posts: 17
Joined: 03/15/2010

Hey Sheepdawg,

I've got the 965BE myself, I did a lot of research prior to buying my CPU cooler, and am running the Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus, it is a direct contact heat pipe cooler with 1 12CM fan and mount brackets for a 2nd fan, its roughly the same price as the Arctic Cooler you are running, but in most or the reviews it was in the top 5 of the coolers tested, even those costing more.

The Arctic coolers however, do not do that well, you will see several posts in these forums that attest to this. see www.frostytech.com, it has extensive lists of available coolers and the results they got with the 2 systems they test on.

The temps I am getting on my Phenom II 965BE are 29C idle, 48C load. My CPU is running at 4GHz at 1.46V. The rest of my setup is below. Hope this is of help...

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE 4.0Ghz @1.41V
Gigabyte GA-MA785gm-US2H Motherboard F6 BIOS
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with Dual fans
Cooler Master HAF 922 Case
4 GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC2-8500 1066 memory
Saphire Radeon HD3650
500 GB Western Digital SATA II hard drive
500 GB Seagate SATA II hard drive
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1600 TV Tuner
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information