AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: phenom and ram
Topic Summary: how many sticks
Created On: 04/29/2010 04:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/29/2010 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zovert
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 02/20/2009

why is it that with my 940 be xII, riding on an asus m4a79 delux will not run more than two sticx of corsair dominator. is this cpu limited in some way? or do i have to ratchet down the dram in the bios? i want all slots filled, do i have to go with a new ddr3 board and new cpu. help please. thankx.
 04/29/2010 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

The 940 is based on C2 Stepping, so it's a crap shot whelther or not you can run with all dimms populted.
Remember the memory limitation for DDR2-1066, it supports only one dimm per channel.
The C3 955 and 965 have an improved memory controller and can typically run with two dimms per channel.
So if you upgrade to either CPU, you might as well get a DDR3 board and memory.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/30/2010 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimmyFly
Newbie

Posts: 17
Joined: 02/26/2010

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

The 940 is based on C2 Stepping, so it's a crap shot whelther or not you can run with all dimms populted.

Remember the memory limitation for DDR2-1066, it supports only one dimm per channel.

The C3 955 and 965 have an improved memory controller and can typically run with two dimms per channel.

So if you upgrade to either CPU, you might as well get a DDR3 board and memory.


Sorry for bit of a highjack. So can the 940 run all 4 slots at 800mhz? Just wondering if I'd get more performance out of 6G at 800Mhz or 4G at 1066. I'd be down grading the 1066 to 800

-------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Phenom ll x4 940 BE@ 3.0 ghz
GA MA770-DS3 rev1 F8F BIOS
Thermolab BARAM Heaksink w/ 2xEvercool 120mm fans
Corsair VX450w PSU
Gigabyte 8800GT 512MB OC@700Mhz w/ Zalman fan
M-Audio 192 Sound Card
AverMedia 007 DVB-T TV Card
Corsair 2x2G XMS2 DDR21066
Windows 7 64bit
Sunbeamtech Freezing Storm Case w/ 3 120mm fans
WD 36G Raptor HD
Seagate 1TB Barracuda HD
 04/30/2010 08:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

i have run 4 dimms of 800mhz and 1066mhz with my 940.
i have been running 4 dimms of 1066 for over a year.
i have a DFI MB and the ram i am using isnt even on the compatability list.
there have been many people that have had all 4 dimm slots populated.

i am not saying that the ram isnt your problem, i am just letting you know about my experances with it.

if you get a AM3/DDR3 motherboard, you will need new ram also

good luck.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/30/2010 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Yes no problem for me either with your board as well I ran with my 940 with 8gb of 1066Mzh corsair dominators and I sold it all to my friend CapeCodkiller who still is running it all . Run memtest with one stick at a time to check all memory out .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information