AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1055T multplier locked at 14 in asus m4a785td-v evo
Topic Summary: Strange behaviour from cpu since install
Created On: 05/10/2010 04:43 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/10/2010 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alatheia00
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2010

Hi

After installing my 1055T i have had numerous problems which i could really do with some help with. I have an Asus M4A785TD-V EVO with 4GB of G Skill ddr3 1600mhz 7-7-7-21 I have updated to the latest bios 2005 and my software tools are displaying weird data.

1) The Core voltage keeps jumping around from 1.35 to 1.475.

2) Intially my cpu speed across cores was stuck between 800mhz and 1.8GHz which I resolved by switching off C1E support in the bios.

3) The problem i am having is i want the cpu to operate at 3.3GHz which is available as a stock setting by upping the multi to 16.5 but when i set that in the bios and then check it, it reverts to 14. Infact nothing i can do will make this cpu go anywhere over 2.8GHz and this is not what i paid for. I tried to change the multi to 16.5 in AOD and again i set it 16.5 tried to apply it and it reverted to 14.

I am just wondering is this a motherboard bios problem or do i have a defective cpu I have switched off turbo core in the AOD in order to set the multi to 16.5 in the bios now i tried to switch it back on and it wont work.

Please help i want to enjoy the full power of this cpu and to think i thought i could overclock this cpu to 4.0GHz, maybe we start with stock 3.3GHz first.

Thanks
 05/10/2010 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

1. normal and designed to do so. It is called boost/cstate

2. cpu speed is dynamic based on load, turning off advanced features is NOT the answer

3. not a BE edition so Multi is locked on 1055T

4. turn on all the bells and whistles and use a game in screened mode to watch how boost kicks in.

5. Boost HTT reference clock to gain a OC base clocked speed.

6. in order for clock speeds to lock down (not advisable) Boost and cstate CnQ cpu thermal throttle must be turned off at the same time.

So many people keep trying to OC these things like there a deneb, for the love of god they don't even share the same architecture. They are total new architecture so you would be well advised to stop trying to OC the chip like the older phenom II class.

allow me to elaborate cstate and boost features.

FSB/multi/vcore/North Bridge speeds are dynamically controlled based on need

Want to see the max base clock on all cores then lock all core to 100% load.

want to see boost in action ? Then load up a game or app known to use boost.

All info needed can be found here
Link 1
Link 2

FYI clearly every board manufacture has there own naming scheme for these options mentioned, it is up to you to figure out what is what.

Advanced c state & Boost are new to the T class.

Now if you are just trying to have some fun with finding max stable OC for a overclocking fun time. Turn off Boost and c state at the same time as well as all other power saving options in bios to get all cores to lock down full time.

This is highly not advisable, the CPU was not meant to be run this way more then just occasional.

the sweet spot for the 1055T is to use a base clock of 3.4 Ghz 1.35 volt vcore with boost and c state and CnQ. Making for a max boost speed of 3.8 Ghz.

This will need to be done via HTT reference clock.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 05/10/2010 at 05:17 PM by PC-GURU -
 05/10/2010 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

You got exactly what you paid for, a non black edition cpu... and as Guru have said, to raise the multi you need a black edition version.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 05/11/2010 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alatheia00
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2010

Thanks for your replies guys, I was looking for bang for my buck what i got was less performance than a 965be in my opinion. Thankfully I have found a buyer for my pc and i can get a i7 965, what i should of got in the first place.
 05/11/2010 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: alatheia00

Thanks for your replies guys, I was looking for bang for my buck what i got was less performance than a 965be in my opinion. Thankfully I have found a buyer for my pc and i can get a i7 965, what i should of got in the first place.


no what you should have got was the 1090T for $300.00 that will give the i7 a hella run for it's money and quite possibly pass it for a HELLA lower price.

But if ya want to go throw money away please be my guest lol.

Also we know for a fact the 1055T is quite capable of passing the 965 BE in performance. You just need to know what your doing.

going and spouting off about Intel and how 1055T ( a low cost budet x6) just didn't perform for you just reeks of rookieness.

1055T is hundreds of dollars less then i7,s offerings for the same performance range.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 05/11/2010 at 11:57 AM by PC-GURU -
 05/11/2010 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

that 1090z@3.6 on that cpu support list looks interesting

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 05/11/2010 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: mbjbdc

that 1090z@3.6 on that cpu support list looks interesting[IMG][/IMG]


just listing max boost clock and not base clock is all.

Well known and documented typo.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/14/2010 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alatheia00
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2010

"no what you should have got was the 1090T for $300.00 that will give the i7 a hella run for it's money and quite possibly pass it for a HELLA lower price.

But if ya want to go throw money away please be my guest lol.

Also we know for a fact the 1055T is quite capable of passing the 965 BE in performance. You just need to know what your doing.

going and spouting off about Intel and how 1055T ( a low cost budet x6) just didn't perform for you just reeks of rookieness.

1055T is hundreds of dollars less then i7,s offerings for the same performance range."

Several points:

1) No such thing as a free lunch

2) This generation of AMD cpu architecture is massively inferior to its Intel equivalent (45nm vs 32nm). (The only reason i purchased the 1055T is because I just made an impulse buy refer back to point 1.

3) The 1090T overclocked does not have the computational power of a i7 965 at stock, admittedly it is more expensive but again refer to point 1.

4) I am no fanboy of either Amd or Intel but you make a point about Amd being a cheaper option if you are going six cores than not everyone can afford six amd cores let alone six intel ones, but one must admit that the Intel architecture is better implemented but the price is the only restriction for purchase.

I think its funny that the other chap says you pay for what you get, ok I didn't get the 1090T but surely the 1055T should have some performance inhancements to its predecessor in gaming, I don't care about multithreaded apps I want a cpu which performs great in everything it does and at £166.00 its hardly cheap as chips and is currently the 2nd most expensive AMD AM3 cpu. I have been using AMD cpu for a long time so I know when they have struck gold and when they are just competing for the sake of it the fact the thuban cpus have the same amount of cache as it predecessors says it all.

End of rant.
 05/14/2010 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

umm dude the i7 965 is a 1,100.00 + CPU and you can own 4 1090T for the price of 1 965 i7 for what at best a 2 % to 5 % performance gain ?

Pathetic.

now if the i7 965 was say $400.00 I would then say worth it.

ok so I just looked over a dozen reviews comparing intel to AMD.

1090T is testing out around 5% behind a stock 965 i7 extreme.

$1,100.00 compared to $300.00 1090T. No thanks.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 05/14/2010 at 06:21 PM by PC-GURU -
 05/14/2010 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

if you talking comparisons it should be 6-core to 6-core
1090t vs 980x
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cp...AMD+Phenom+II+X6+1090T

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 05/14/2010 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: mbjbdc

if you talking comparisons it should be 6-core to 6-core

1090t vs 980x

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cp...AMD+Phenom+II+X6+1090T


O ya $1049.00 CPU to a $300.00 CPU

honestly now lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/15/2010 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: alatheia00
I think its funny that the other chap says you pay for what you get, ok I didn't get the 1090T but surely the 1055T should have some performance inhancements to its predecessor in gaming, I don't care about multithreaded apps I want a cpu which performs great in everything it does and at £166.00 its hardly cheap as chips and is currently the 2nd most expensive AMD AM3 cpu. I have been using AMD cpu for a long time so I know when they have struck gold and when they are just competing for the sake of it the fact the thuban cpus have the same amount of cache as it predecessors says it all.


I can repeat myself, you got what you paid for. If you don't know how to take full advantage of it then I guess you need to read up a bit because that CPU can do a lot more if you learn how to take full advantage of it.

The fact that you complained about it not allowing a multiplier raise is what I'm talking about. You didn't read up before you got it.

But if it's easier to blame someone else for your own mistake then be my guest.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 05/15/2010 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alatheia00
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2010

I can repeat myself, you got what you paid for. If you don't know how to take full advantage of it then I guess you need to read up a bit because that CPU can do a lot more if you learn how to take full advantage of it.

The fact that you complained about it not allowing a multiplier raise is what I'm talking about. You didn't read up before you got it.

But if it's easier to blame someone else for your own mistake then be my guest

Sorry guys i don't mean to offend anyone all my comments are personal opinions and nothing more, however in nearly all (apart from 1055T) my purchases, i have researched a vast amount of resources before purchase something I enjoy this almost more than buying the product itself.

Your right schoolboy error on my part, I knew the cpu came with a locked multi it just in my bios it gave the option of changing it all the way up to 16.5 obviously this didn't do anything. Also I my motherboard a Asus 785g is the bottleneck at the moment and I only brought it because x58 was overpriced, triple channel ram gives very little if any performance boost and up until recently didn't come with sata 6g and usb 3.0 ( I hate how when they compare AMD vs INTEL they always give the intel mobo 6gb of ram and the AMD 4gb why not give them both the same to make tests more fair, I know AMD is dual channel but surely more ram is not going to disadvantage the AMD setup)

Any advancements AMD make are good for the consumer, but i just wish AMD would release something that changed the game like the athlon fx series. I hate Intels business practices and how they overprice components as they know the enthusiast crowd always want the best processor, even if they are only using it for gaming and even if it only gives you an additional 15 fps in comparasion to the competition. I think Sandy bridge vs Bulldozer is make or break for AMD. We all know that Intel are a generation ahead in the fabrication process.

AMD are guilty of the same pricing strategy as Intel with their HD 5970 only because Nvidia can't get their act together and have finally realised that constantly rebranding the same graphics core will not win you any awards. So the real argument is this if AMD was producing superior chips than Intel would they be charging silly prices for the products just as Intel are now, as long as I have been involved in IT people always want the latest tech even if they don't need it and the last few years have seen things really explode.

I am currently looking for a ssd boot drive which meets the sweet spot for price and performance any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
 05/15/2010 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

what size ssd?

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 05/15/2010 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alatheia00
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2010

I can repeat myself, you got what you paid for. If you don't know how to take full advantage of it then I guess you need to read up a bit because that CPU can do a lot more if you learn how to take full advantage of it.

The fact that you complained about it not allowing a multiplier raise is what I'm talking about. You didn't read up before you got it.

But if it's easier to blame someone else for your own mistake then be my guest.

The cpu multiplier or cpu ratio is configurable even though it is locked, locked means it has a limit which cannot be overcome like the black edition maybe you should do some more reading before commenting on something you obviously don't know much about. Stick to your black editions, which a five year old could overclock lol.
 05/15/2010 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: alatheia00

I can repeat myself, you got what you paid for. If you don't know how to take full advantage of it then I guess you need to read up a bit because that CPU can do a lot more if you learn how to take full advantage of it.



The fact that you complained about it not allowing a multiplier raise is what I'm talking about. You didn't read up before you got it.



But if it's easier to blame someone else for your own mistake then be my guest.



The cpu multiplier or cpu ratio is configurable even though it is locked, locked means it has a limit which cannot be overcome like the black edition maybe you should do some more reading before commenting on something you obviously don't know much about. Stick to your black editions, which a five year old could overclock lol.


I build PC,s in the 1000,s for over 15 years professionally.

My business is very successful and to this date I still have a 0% return rate and a 100% satisfaction rate.

I build PC,s in the 1000,s with none black edition cpu,s. So I do know what I am talking about and it sounds a bit like what he said.

I know for a fact your a dip, but that is another story lol.

1055 T has a locked multi up but not down.

1055T can not be set to 15x but it can be set to 14x and lower.

clearly , reading his post he SAID THIS already.

now, leave and let us big boys get back to what we do best.

your intel $1,050.00 CPU is waiting for you lol. Go bug there forums.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/15/2010 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: alatheia00

The cpu multiplier or cpu ratio is configurable even though it is locked, locked means it has a limit which cannot be overcome like the black edition maybe you should do some more reading before commenting on something you obviously don't know much about. Stick to your black editions, which a five year old could overclock lol.


You're actually quite funny.

Remember your first post?

3) The problem i am having is i want the cpu to operate at 3.3GHz which is available as a stock setting by upping the multi to 16.5 but when i set that in the bios and then check it, it reverts to 14. Infact nothing i can do will make this cpu go anywhere over 2.8GHz and this is not what i paid for. I tried to change the multi to 16.5 in AOD and again i set it 16.5 tried to apply it and it reverted to 14.


And then my reply:

You got exactly what you paid for, a non black edition cpu... and as Guru have said, to raise the multi you need a black edition version


Aren't you starting to contradict yourself a bit here?

No, I've said enough in this thread. I think I said it all in my previous post!

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information