AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: x4 Phenom II 965 Temps increase
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/13/2010 06:56 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/13/2010 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

Hello,I have a AMD x4 phenom 965 with its stock cooler installed.


Before I would get 37-38C idle temps and when playing games etc it would go up to around 45-50C.


But these past 2 days when I play games the temps increases to 60-61C straight away. If it was a dust/airflow problem than wouldn't the idle temps change aswell, the idle temps are still 37-38C.


The games themselves seem to be running at higher rates aswell. Before it was 30-40% but now its 100%. I haven't done anything different (that I can remember anyway)


Thanks


Additional info:


Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770t-UD3
GPU: Sapphire 5850 1GB
RAM: 4GB
 05/13/2010 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Hi ya Snowmang . Open up CPU-Z and check for any changes in your 965 . Look to the bottom right of CPU-Z's first window to make sure all four cores are running . Look at everything else there as well .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

Hi, here is the results from CPU-Z

http://h.imagehost.org/view/0396/Capture

It says that all 4 cores are running and I don't see anything out of the ordinary aswell
 05/13/2010 07:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Originally posted by: Snowmang

Hi, here is the results from CPU-Z



">">"><br "><br ">&l.....org/v...396/Capture



]http://h.imagehost.org/view/0396/Capture
<br [/L]


It says that all 4 cores are running and I don't see anything out of the ordinary aswell


Yes you have a problem there . Set your multiplier to x16 in your bios and fix your core voltage to lets go 1.30v or 1.32v . While your in your bios go into " Cpu Configuration " and disable cool n quiet and anything is there that automatically adjusted your voltages & frequencies . Then return with another CPU-Z pic .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

ok give me a few minutes
 05/13/2010 07:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Take your time with it Snowmang . Going to have you do a test for me after I see the next CPU-Z pic . No hurries take your time . If I miss you go and game and let me know how the 965 is responding like you posted originally . We will fine tune that core voltage after the test I have you do but its fine right now where your going to put it to .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )


Edited: 05/13/2010 at 07:30 AM by pcnazz
 05/13/2010 07:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

K I'm back, here's the new pic

http://i.imagehost.org/view/0591/Capture2_4
 05/13/2010 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Originally posted by: Snowmang

K I'm back, here's the new pic



http://i.imagehost.org/view/0591/Capture2_4


Looks better ! What did you set the core voltage to in the bios ? Or is on Auto still ?

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 07:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

Originally posted by: pcnazz

Originally posted by: Snowmang



K I'm back, here's the new pic







http://i.imagehost.org/view/0591/Capture2_4




What did you set the core voltage to in the bios ?


I only changed the multiplier, I couldn't find the option to change the volts and I also couldn't find any "cool and quiet" setting either. Sorry
 05/13/2010 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Ok I figured that . Okay go into your games for a while and let me know how the 965 is performing now , tell me just like you did in your original first post . No problem so far your doing good work .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

K will do but I'll add that my idle temps have now increased to 43C so wouldn't it increase even further when playing games?
 05/13/2010 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Go back in the bios and find the CPU voltage . Change it to 1.325v . Refer to your mother board manual if you have to but if you take your time in the bios you will find it . Find the other things I ask you to change to . No hurries here take your time you will find them with out me getting your manual and telling you . I'll check back to see how your doing . These things I ask will help your temps a bit to . At least find that CPU Voltage and set that to 1.325v or as close to that as your bios allows you for right now . Okay ?

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )


Edited: 05/13/2010 at 07:51 AM by pcnazz
 05/13/2010 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

Hi, I read the manual and found out how to do it. I set it to 1.325v. I overlooked the setting lol
 05/13/2010 07:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Sweat . Go put some load to in that game and report back the things you originally posted about your 965's performance and lets see how it looks now . I will check back . Also this is the test I wanted you to do for me , If you have a stability test run it please and take a pic of CPU-Z as its running so I can see . Keep your eyes on the temps . I want to also see your CPU-Z " Memory " tab pic to , after . Take your time Snowmang .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

Hello again, just started playing and the temps have definetly lowered. It would have been on 62C but now its on 51C. Thank you for all your help, greatly appreciated
 05/13/2010 08:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Your 965's cores percentage usage isn't 100% anymore either , right ?

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

no, not at all, it's now ranging from 45%-70% where as before it was locked on 100%
 05/13/2010 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Okay , good work Snowmang . Go through your motions and enjoy it , nice processor . If you have any issues post back here .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 05/13/2010 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Snowmang
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/13/2010

will do, again thanks for your help
 05/13/2010 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Your Welcome !

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information