AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: x4 965 Temps insanely High!
Topic Summary: Core temps very very high
Created On: 09/13/2010 01:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2010 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

I recently built a new system with the AMD Phenom x4 965 as the centerpiece.

I've had the system for 2 weeks and while playing starcraft 2 CPUID suggests that my cpu temp reached the 80c. I thought that was normal until reading a little bit online, to realize that 80c is unbelievably high. Like really really high high. Because the weather has cooled off a bit the temps are a bit more under control. At the time of writing this i'm sitting at 39c, but while playing sc2 the cpu has reached 72c. That's still super high.

I'm not sure what the issue is. I bought an aftermarket heatsink/fan to avoid any issues and it seems that has failed. Honestly i'm freaking out a little bit cause i don't want to damage anything.

I saw a topic or two on this but none of the info helped or at least i wasn't quite sure how to apply it. Any and all help would be appreciated.

extra info
Motherboard: Asus M4A87TD EVO
CPU: AMD Phenom x4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4ghz Socket AM3 125w
Ram: Gskill Ripjaw 4gig (2x2gig) ddr3 1600 [model: F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL]
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD5830 1gig 256-bit ddr5
Power Supply: 750w Corsair modular psu

Heatsink/Fan: http://www.newegg.com/Product/...7%20Pro%20Rev.2%2092mm

- I'd also like to note that upon startup i will get a cpu fan error about 50% of the time... usually if it's the first time in the day that i boot it up. Fan is spinning perfectly fine and quiet as a mouse.

Picture of Temps
 09/13/2010 01:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Your about the 4th guy in the last few months thats started a 965 thread with high temps, all running an arctic cooling freezer. I've learned enough about that heat sink, how is your case flow and ambient temperature?

OCM

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 09/13/2010 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

the temp outside is 56f (night time here in ny), so in the room it's probably in the low 60f's

case air flow should be good... only have 1 graphics card, one hard drive, and one dvd-rw. The power supply has detachable cables so i'm only using the cables i need and i've twist tied the few cables there are out of the way.

=(
 09/13/2010 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
david9999
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/13/2010

You should be safe, don't go for a lot of volts on that thing.
 09/13/2010 10:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

the cpu reaching temps of 70c and 80c is safe?
 09/13/2010 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

The pic of cpuid you gave say's your cpu only hit a max temp of 60C. which is not to bad.

Ignore the core temps thay'er wrong it the CPU temp you worry about.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/13/2010 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

What about in the summer time when temps get over 100f... the core temps will reach 80c and the cpu temp will in the 70's... i'm a little concerned. My friend tells me that the core temps shouldn't really get above 50c on load and 40c idle. His i7 (i know that might be apples and oranges) idles around 30's and goes to (40c)'s under load. Not sure if what he's telling me is accurate or applicable.
 09/13/2010 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

I think your going to have to look at liquid cooling if your room temp is hitting 40c+ in the summer time. either that or get AC.

As I said before ignore the core temps thay'er only a guessament but if you cpu temp is in the 70's then you got a problem since you realy don't want to go past 62c with the Phenom II's.

I also read that you getting a cpu fan error at start up. this is becouse your cpu fan is spinning to slowly. I use to get that all time with my gigabyte G-power heatsink when the smart fan was on. This might be also the reason why your temp is hitting 70+. the fan is not hitting full speed.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/13/2010 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

Thanks so much for the help slayer... any suggestions on increasing the cpu fan speed?

In the bios the minimum fan speed it has, before it starts popping off warnings is 200rpm... is it really spinning less than 200rpm on initial boot up? At the moment the motherboard i guess controls the speed of the cpu fan... it fluctuates between 1000rpm and 2200rpm idling around 1300rpm. Is there a way to boost that without making it spin at one speed constantly. I like that it spins faster when things are going on and slower when it's idling (even though the cpu fan is nearly completely silent).
 09/13/2010 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Right now I would turn off cpu Q- fan and see if it helps lower your load temp. (my BIOS only has three setting for cpu Q-fan so you may have some thing different) Then try Q-fan on perfomance setting.

By the way, what heatsink are you using? I can't get you link to work

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/13/2010 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

you're right... very sorry about that. I'll repost link

Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2

I'll see about the Q-Fan and report back sometime tonight or tomorrow. thanks again for the help so far
 09/16/2010 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatClyde
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/30/2010

If you have an ASUS board, disable Cool'N'Quiet in the BIOS and set the fan to "Performance" mode.
It can only help Cool'N'Quiet blows chunks !
 09/16/2010 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Budy, I have two ASUS boards and C'n'Q is anabled on both and I have not had any problems with it at all.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/18/2010 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ValmonUni
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/13/2010

cool n quiet is keeping my temps down right now by under volting the cpu when it doesn't have to work so hard. I turned my fan to turbo (cause i don't have performance mode). It's helping keep things a little cooler but not a whole lot. cpu (not cpu core) hit 64° with core temps of 71° while playing sc2. Emailed Arctic Cooling asking if the temps were normal. They said the cpu is faulty and they're sending me another one. They were really cool about it to. I had my newegg invoice ready to send, but they never asked for it. Waiting for the new one to arrive.

ps: putting the fan in turbo mode fixed the cpu fan error at boot up. Must have been not spinning fast enough at start-up as suggested.
 09/18/2010 04:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatClyde
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/30/2010

Originally posted by: SlayerX

Budy, I have two ASUS boards and C'n'Q is anabled on both and I have not had any problems with it at all.


I presume that was aimed at me ?

Imo, Cool,N.Quiet is a ridiculous program. I have seen many others, including myself, having issues with it. Just because you are not doesn't mean it's perfect.
1) Keeping the CPU "COOL" requires lots of airflow. That obviously means the fans will be spinning at or near their max potential.
2) Keeping a PC "QUIET" would require the fans to be running at their minimum or not at all.

This is why it's a dud. You can't have both. Yes, I know the limited theory behind the ASUS claim of how Cool'N'Quiet works, but I believe it's flawed and disabling it will improve performance and isn't that the object rather that having a perfectly silent PC ?
 09/18/2010 05:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Ughhh.....

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 09/18/2010 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Before you go around calling stuff "ridiculous" you should get your facts strate.

1. C'n'Q is a AMD program thats built in to the motherboard. Asus has nothing to do with it beside's installing it on thay'er boards

2. you do not need lots of air flow to keep the cpu cool..you need a good heatsink with a large surrface area that can disapate the heat quickly. even if you have the biggest, baddest fan out there running at full speed won't matter if the heatsink can't move the heat from the cpu and disapate it into the air.

3. if you lower the cpu voltage and clock speed you lower the cpu temp thus you don't need to have the fan running at full speed. it wont make run silent but it will be quieter.

4 I haven't seen any differance in perforamce with C'nQ on or off.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/19/2010 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cravinmild
Newbie

Posts: 42
Joined: 07/11/2010

I had this "friend", does not matter what his name is, the important part is that during his applying of the aftermarket cooler he must have forgot to take the film off the new cpu cooler and for weeks ran it like that with increadibly high temps. It was not till he tryed to reapply the tp that he realized his mistake............dont laugh its not funny. Point is that his cpu now runs at exteamly high teens and sometimes even gets to 32c under load.

Dont be that guy
 09/21/2010 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Ha ha ha ..... sorry, but how do you miss that film on the heatsink?

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information