AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II X4 965 BE 125W temp problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/27/2010 10:21 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/27/2010 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

Hi everybody! I'm new in the overclocking world, so I will need your help here!!

My PC:

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 125w (3.4MHz)
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD3P (BIOS updated)
RAM 4GB DDR2 Kingstone
Power Supply 520w
Crossfire (x2 ATI Radeon 5770 1GB)
Windows Vista 64bits

I used to have an AMD Athlon Dual Core +5200 2.7MHz and I changed it for the Phenom. I installed the new processor (using Antec Formula5 Silver Thermal Compound) I didn't use the stock cooler, I used mine, sorry I dont know the name of the cooler that I use. I re-install windows vista 64bits and finally I updated the BIOS.
Everything goes fine, except for the temp... It's always betwen 43 and 45

I ONLY overclocked the Multiplier from x17 (default) to x18 (to get 3.6MHz) and the temperature go up to 46-52 And when I started an Stability Test with AMD OverDrive to see if is stable... only take one or two minutes to raise the temp to 60 and crash...

So... What should I do? change the cooler? the power supply?

I hope you can help me out with this!

Thxs!!!
 10/27/2010 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Welcome to the forum!

My first impression: Do not tell me he's running x2 5570's and a 125w CPU with a 520w PSU.
I suggest a minimum 650w, 80+ certified PSU.
Myself, I wouldn't go less than a 750w unit.
Also, what case are you using and what is the case fan arrangement?
If you want to get a handle on your 965 temps, you really need to know and tell us the cooler that you installed.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/27/2010 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

Thank you for you help! Will be the first thing in the morning to get a new power supply.

The case I use is the TACENS PRIOR, the only fan is the one in the back. The crossfire don't leave me much space to put another. The cooler that I have installed, is the Freezer Pro 7 Rev2.

If you need any more info, just let me know.
 10/27/2010 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

That Arctic freezer pro 7 is realy not that good of cooler for the 965 and infact by the looks of it, its doing worse than the stock heatsink. But that might have something to do with not enough airflow though your case and a overloaded psu.

I've looked up your case and your right, you don't have a lot of room but if you can get one fan in the front ( you may have to move your HDD) and one on the side (both intake) this will help lower your temps. But I sugest you get your self a new case with better airflow and more room for your 5770"s

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 10/27/2010 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Yep, your 965 is not getting adequate airflow/cooling...a must for a 125w CPU.
I agree with SlayerX, that case will not do your 965 justice.
Consider getting a high air flow case like the Cooler Master HAF 922 (large mid-tower) or full tower: HAF 932 or 942.
The Arctic Freezer Pro will work fine in either one of the cases that I mentioned, it's actually a decent cooler.
CPU coolers with a push/pull (dual) fan configuration will always out perform single fan solutions though.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/27/2010 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

The Arctic freezer 64 pro was a good cooler. the AF pro 7... not so much.

The AF pro 7 mounts so the fan face's down pulling in the warm air from the video card. Thats way I don't think its that good.


But either one can't touch the H50

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 10/28/2010 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

First of all, thxs for the help guys!!

I think I'm going to start changing the power supply and then looking for a new case and cooler. I'll tell you how it goes!!

Cya soon!
 10/28/2010 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

All right!! Good news!!

Now I have the A52FG - iCute (case) and the A61HG 700W iCute (power supply)

Temp now is... 30-31 !!! without changing the cooler (AF Pro 7)

Do you think I'm ready to overclocking now?
 10/28/2010 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: leanmv

All right!! Good news!!



Now I have the A52FG - iCute (case) and the A61HG 700W iCute (power supply)



Temp now is... 30-31 !!! without changing the cooler (AF Pro 7)



Do you think I'm ready to overclocking now?


Run stress tests at stock frequency (3.4GHz) with 1.40v CPU voltage.

If your stress test CPU temp stays below 50c, then you're good to go.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/28/2010 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

31c...Well I'll be....... that AF pro 7 is not as bad as I thought it was. It just needed some good air.

Way to go leanmv

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 10/28/2010 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

Ok then...

I have installed the AMD OverDrive and OCCT v3.0, should I use the Stability Test from OverDrive or OCCT to stress the PC?

To change the voltage, I have to do it from the BIOS, right?

Thxs!!!
 10/28/2010 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Yes, make all CPU overclock changes in the bios.
Only use AMD OverDrive for monitoring and stability testing purposes.
Best, quickest way to test initial CPU overclock is with HyperPI.
Run the 32M test and if it passes, try the IntelBurn or Everest Ultimate (1 hr.) stability test.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/28/2010 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

The results:

HyperPI: ok!

Everest Ultimate (1hr.) Stability Test:

Temperatures
Motherboard min. 27 max. 27 average 27.0
CPU min. 28 max. 43 average 41.9
CPU #1 / Core#1 min. 33 max. 51 average 48.6
CPU #1 / Core#2 min. 33 max. 51 average 48.6
CPU #1 / Core#3 min. 33 max. 51 average 48.6
CPU #1 / Core#4 min. 33 max. 51 average 48.6
SAMSUNG HD103UJ min. 18 max. 19 average 19.0

Cooling Fans
CPU min. 1997 max. 2039 average 2016

Voltages
CPU Core min. 1.39 max. 1.39 average 1.39
+3.3 V min. 3.28 max. 3.30 average 3.29
+12 V min. 12.25 max. 12.45 average 12.34
DIMM min. 1.39 max. 1.86 average 1.86

What do you think?
 10/28/2010 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

The individual core temps are calculated, not taken from a sensor.
So, you're actual CPU temp (from a sensor) was 43c max., outstanding!!!
Was this at stock (3.4GHz) frequency with 1.40v CPU voltage?

When testing, make sure you turn off Cool & Quiet and any CPU fan control in the bios.

My friend, I would say you're ready to start overclocking that puppy...good luck!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/28/2010 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

YAHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Allright mate!!! Great then! Well... what should I do?! jejeje What first? change the x17 multiplyer? the FBS maybe? HT Link I readed in somewhere?

Thxs!!!
 10/28/2010 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

By the way, yes, it was at stock (3.4GHz) frequency with 1.40 CPU voltage
 10/28/2010 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Everything you need to know (and more) about overclocking your 965:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...&keyword1=965%20thread

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/28/2010 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

Ok, I'll start reading! Thanks for your help!

Cya!!
 10/28/2010 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

First start by using the multiplier to overclock, then test stability.
Then you can use a combination of the FSB (CPU clock) and multiplier for overclocking.
Keep in mind that when you increase the FSB, it will increase your NB and memory frequency as well.
Your HT Link does not need to be higher than 2200MHz.
Sweet spot is CPU@ 3.8GHz with the NB@ 2600MHz.
Achieving a higher CPU and NB frequency will undoubtedly be a plus.

Good luck...

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/28/2010 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leanmv
Newbie

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/25/2010

After three hours of slow increase of the Multiplier and the FBS...
making Stability Test of 1hr. with the Everest Ultimate each time I raised a bit...

I reach 3857.0 MHz !! ((( AT 37-38ºC )))

Multiplier x19
Bus Speed 203 MHz
HT Link 2030 MHz (auto, i didn't use it)

Core Voltage still in 1.392 V since the first time.

Now... the memory, it is a (4GB)DDR2 Kingstong with DRAM Frequency of 406 MHz...
How much can I raise the NB Frequency? (right now is like this: auto, at 2030 MHz)
I know is not a DDR3 of 1333MHz... the link you pass me is very useful but not much info about this kind of memory.

Thxs!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information