AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: need help with my msi motherboard
Topic Summary: problems in game
Created On: 11/07/2010 03:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2010 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

when i played battle field bad company 2 for 7 and a half hours i got stripes on my screen(like a tv out of tune) and i lost sound and after a while it comes back sometimes but when i exit sounds back.

at that time my gpu as runing at +- 64 C and cpu at 45 C

i have a gigabyte radeon hd 4890 1gb ddr5,4gb ddr3 1333mhz ram, a phenom2 x4 940 BE with a thermaltake blue orb 2, msi 790FX-GD70 winki edition motherboard, a 700w sli ready power supply, os windows 7
 11/07/2010 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

most probably a driver problem, I had the sound problem in TDU a driver update fixed it, and can you please state the make and model of that 700w psu?

thanks.
 11/07/2010 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

i am using a huntkey max700w apfc power powersupply

i don't think that the problem is drivers it only did this with battle field bad company 2 and not with eg: need for speed shift
 11/07/2010 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

I would pay more attention to why you were sitting in a chair playing games for 7.5 hours, but maybe that's just me.

Your machine is probably fine. I would bet the game just crashed. I doubt very many people played it that long during testing.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 11/07/2010 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bumblebeepee
B1FF

Posts: 136
Joined: 09/10/2010

i would ask,
is this the first time this has happened?
what size is the page-file / virtual memory on your computer?
is it on the system drive?
(the last two question isnt that related to the problem, just having the page-file on a separate hdd to the O/S, can help reduce load times and reduce wear on a hard disc.)

if this is the first time its happened, play as normal until the problem appears again, to determine what is common between the fault.

-------------------------
Hit it with a Hammer.
CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 3.8 ~ 4 Ghz (Cooler Master V8 Heatsink)
Graphics: 2 x HD 5770
RAM: 8 GB (standard clock: PC3-1333)
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E (790GX)
Sound: ASUS Xonar DX
Case: CM 690 (with custom paint and a 800W PSU)
 11/08/2010 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

os (windows 7 extreme r1 64-bit) no it's not the first time it did that the first time it happend when i played music +- 5 hours then and the sound didn't come back but i swithed off the machine for an hour and switched it back on and every thing was back to normal
windows programs eg: printer,eset,nero is on a 250gb hdd only and games and other files are on a 1000gb hdd
 11/08/2010 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

ram? could be overheating? maybe you overclocked and it isnt 100% stable?

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 11/09/2010 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

i would look at temps also. after 2 hours of gaming for me temps are high and i manually set the fan on the gpu to like 75% or maybe your computer is telling you to take a break

they dont make a phenom11x4 940BE am3 you must have a typo

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32

Edited: 11/09/2010 at 10:42 AM by kleetus
 11/10/2010 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

thanks kleetus for the info. Is the corsair H50 a good buy.
 11/10/2010 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

i recommend very much it works great

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 11/13/2010 08:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

when i stress test my graphics card the grapics starts to stutter and my fan speed slows down and fan lights start to dim. i have both 6-pin plugs pluged in from my powersupply to the graphics card. when i stress test it the temp becomes 75-80 at max when idle i get 40-50.
 11/13/2010 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

can you test your psu that would be first thought some stores have free psu testing

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 11/13/2010 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
italianveins
B1FF

Posts: 103
Joined: 11/03/2010

yeh Kletus is a nice guy he helped me also ... btw what do you suggest Kletus i want to do a stress test on my pc and sent you the results prime95 on what setttings ?

-------------------------
MSI890FXA-GD70 / Phenom 2 BE 965 x4 / Crosair Dominator 4GB 2x2GB / ATI 5770 Video Card / PSU 480W / 1HDD Sata 2 320 GB ! / CPU cooler >>> Arctic cooler 64 pro /1 dvd-W / win 7 Ultimate /
 11/14/2010 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

kleetus will i be able to run two (crossfire) gigabyte radeon hd 4890 with a phenom2 x4 940 be with 3x case fans and two harddrives (250gb +1tb) with a max700w apfc power powersupply.
 11/14/2010 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

you have 4 12v rails at 18amps each right?
i dont know the formula but it should be enough but i would have the psu checked or buy a new one i dont know that brand and it sound like a psu issue

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 11/18/2010 04:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
072Killer
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/07/2010

I hve tested my powersupply and there was no problems i also found out that my graphics card is hissing and not my psu and also it sometimes starts to hiss when scrolling down.

Edited: 11/18/2010 at 12:32 PM by 072Killer
 11/19/2010 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Since your PSU has four +12v rails, you have to make sure both PCI-E connectors to the graphic card are on dedicated rails.
This is one of the problems with PSU's that have multiple +12v rails.
My first thought is that your graphic card is overheating or is overclocked too high.
Graphical corruption like you described in your first post is either a temp issue or too high of an overclock on the GPU memory.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/21/2010 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tualatin
Fanboi

Posts: 67
Joined: 11/24/2009

stripes? this has been a known problem on some ATI cards. I sure as hell had it once or twice. Driver update rectified the problem. Annoying as hell it was.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information