AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Phenom II X4 955 - Speedfan is reading 72C while gaming.
Topic Summary: Not sure what to do..
Created On: 04/12/2011 12:45 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by 8thful, on Saturday, April 16, 2011 12:53 PM

Answer:
Well thanks for all the help, I'm definitely getting a new fan for the processor, the stock one just isn't handling it as well as I would like. For now, thanks for steering me towards some good programs. I'm now going to constantly monitor the temp to take better care of my pc.
 04/12/2011 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

Okay, so I just built a new PC a few weeks ago. Here is list of parts..

Motherboard: ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard,

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX

Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power

Video Card: EVGA 012-P3-1470-AR GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Case: COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

I downloaded Speedfan to monitor temperatures and at idle. I'm getting 35C under CPU in the program. This seems all pretty good.

I turned on Crysis 2, Maxed out settings and played for 20 minutes, then looked at Speedfan and seen 72C next to CPU, with a fire symbol warning me that this is way too fricken hot.

Searched internet and I keep seeing that this processor maxed out at 62C so yeah, I'm worried. It has the stock heatsink on there and the thermal compound was already on heatsink flattened out. Was this not enough? Should I have put more on? My friend who helped me build said it was enough..

Is my heatsink just not good enough? Would appreciate any support here, thanks.
 04/12/2011 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Crysis dose put a fair amout of stress on the cpu wich would couse the temp to shoot up. the problem is the stock heatsink/fan just can't keep up.
The stock HSF works good if you only surfing the net, watching movies, etc, but for gamming it really dose suck. Go get your self a good aftermarket HSF with some good thermal paste and the problem will be fixed

Oh yeah, do not add more thermal paste to the hsf you have now. too much will couse the cpu to get hotter.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/12/2011 08:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

and.. not being a fan of speedfan.. I'd suggest using HWmonitor, AMDoverdrive, or Aida64(Everest) to double check the CPU temp.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 04/12/2011 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

AOD just gives the core temp

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/12/2011 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Hardwood

and.. not being a fan of speedfan.. I'd suggest using HWmonitor, AMDoverdrive, or Aida64(Everest) to double check the CPU temp.


Agreed, SpeedFan is not the best program for monitoring AMD CPU temps.

I have found AIDA64, HWMonitor, and ASUS PC Probe II to be the most accurate.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/12/2011 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

Thanks so much everyone. I will download all those programs right now and compare temperatures. Will share results soon.
 04/12/2011 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

While just having this browser (Google Chrome, Skype and Windows Live open), Under Temperatures in the Computer section in AIDA64, Motherboard is 26C, CPU is 46C, CPU #1/Cores #1-4 are at 50C. My CPU fan is at 620 RPM and 1.009 V.

With Crysis 2 open for 2 minutes in campaign mode. CPU is at 56C and CPU #1/ Cores 1-4 are all at 66C. (EDIT: Realize I forgot to post RPM and V, let me know if you need these, thanks).

Will continue posting results from other programs shortly.

Edited: 04/12/2011 at 12:06 PM by 8thful
 04/12/2011 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

Alright so again just having this browser (Google Chrome, Skype and Windows Live Open), with CPUID Hardware Monitor on, for my CPU, it has 4 Cores listed, under Value, they are 43C, under Min they are 42C, under Max they are 45C.

With Crysis 2 open for 2 minutes in campaign mode: Under Value, Cores 1-4 are at 61C, Min is at 41C and Max is at 61C. After 5 minutes of playing: Value is at 70C, Min is at 41C and Max is at 71C.

Do I need to download the last program and check temperatures or are these results from two separate programs good enough?
 04/12/2011 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

First off, ignore the core temps. The cpu temp is the one you want to keep a eye on.

If your hitting 56c with in two min of playing Crysis than you got a problem.
Whats the fan speed at when its at this temp?

As I said before pick your self up a aftermarket heatsink than you can play Crysis for hours and not have worry about the temp plus you won't have to listen to a vacume cleaner wile gamming.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/12/2011 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

1596 RPM at 55C, and gets up to 2296 at 59C (20 minutes of playing). It seems to be staying here right now, is that acceptable for a few months until I can get a new heatsink fan?

Edited: 04/12/2011 at 06:14 PM by 8thful
 04/14/2011 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeus27
Lurker

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/09/2011

@ 8thful its not safe that ur cpu reaches that temp its better if u increase ur fan speed and keep the temps to max 55C coz it might be dangerous if it crosses 60C...I recommend either get an aftermarket Fan or increase ur fan speed might get noisy but will bring your temps down..
 04/14/2011 04:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: 8thful

1596 RPM at 55C, and gets up to 2296 at 59C (20 minutes of playing). It seems to be staying here right now, is that acceptable for a few months until I can get a new heatsink fan?



Wo, that thing sould be screeming at 59c I mean the fan rpms should be between 4000~5000rpms.

Go into the BIOS and set the cpu auto fan control to performance.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/14/2011 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

I think that might have been the issue. On my computer, I have a program that I can set to AUTO or HIGH PERFORMANCE. I set it on HIGH PERFORMANCE while playing Crysis 2 and never hit over 56C. Even after 6 hours of playing. I didn't check cpu fan speed, I will do that today. If it is still not high enough, I will go into BIOS and try to figure out how to make it faster.
 04/14/2011 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Disable all CPU fan control options in the bios, this will allow the fan to run at it's higher rated RPM's.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/14/2011 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

But it will sound like a vacume cleaner.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/15/2011 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ndimario
Newbie

Posts: 29
Joined: 03/20/2011

This processor commonly goes up to 60c under full load using the stock fan. Even replacing the compound with Arctic Silver 5 didn't stop the processor from approaching 60c under full load.

Many will probably suggest picking up a decent heat sink. The stock heat sink gives you 4 heat pipes, but a small fan/fin set. Arctic Freezer Pro Rev2 maybe good. I'm currently using Hyper 212+ but its massive and requires a big mid tower case.

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0Ghz (1.475v)
Hyper 212+ HeatSink (4 pipes with 120mm fan)
Team Elite 2x2GB CL9 DDR3-1333
ECS Geforce 250 GTS
Rosewill 630w (Single Rail 50a)
Cooler Master HAF 912 (2x120mm front, 1x80mm back)
Ubuntu Desktop 10.04 LTS amd64
 04/16/2011 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Originally posted by: SlayerX

AOD just gives the core temp


Actually CPU temp is available with AOD. Status monitor/board status/tmpin2

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 04/16/2011 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8thful
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 04/12/2011

Answer Answer
Well thanks for all the help, I'm definitely getting a new fan for the processor, the stock one just isn't handling it as well as I would like. For now, thanks for steering me towards some good programs. I'm now going to constantly monitor the temp to take better care of my pc.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information