AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: [UNSOLVED] AMD Phenom II X4 840T Freezes
Topic Summary: AMD Phenom™ II X4 840T Quad-Core Processor Freezing Problems
Created On: 07/16/2011 10:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Thespian, on Monday, July 18, 2011 9:16 AM

Answer:
PROBLEM UNSOLVED
 07/16/2011 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

Good day everybody.

I just bought an AMD Phenom II X4 840T and it is less than 2 weeks old right now. It worked well during its first days but then when I started having games installed and played, it began to freeze occasionally. When it does freeze, it creates an irritating buzzing sound coming from my speakers and it won't allow me to access the task manager forcing me to reset the system. It freezes most of the time when I am playing, and a couple of times while I was not playing.

At first, I thought the problem was on my graphics card so I lowered all the settings of my games and I updated my graphic driver to the latest version but it still freezes. I also did a disk check and fragmentation but nothing happened.

Here's my specification:

OS: Windows® 7 Home Premium 64-bit
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840T Quad-Core Processor
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6570 (1024MB)
RAM: 8GB DDR3 Memory
HD: 1.5TB

I don't know what to do now because I don't know so much things about this. I will appreciate your help. Thank You.

Edited: 07/19/2011 at 04:59 PM by Thespian
 07/17/2011 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
want2know13
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/26/2011

Check your RAM voltage. A friend of mine had a similar problem and his ram was undervolted

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x4 965 B.E. RB-C3
MSI 790XT-G45 BIOS v 2.5
4GB DDR 2 @ 800Mhz (4x1GB) [CellShock CS2221042 4-4-4-12 max 2,1v]
XFX AMD Radeon HD5770 (Driver 11.6)
PSU Toughpower 750Watt
LG W2361 23" 1080p
 07/17/2011 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

I have 2 channels of RAM on board, both of them got 1.50 V.
 07/18/2011 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

Answer Answer
PROBLEM UNSOLVED

Edited: 07/19/2011 at 04:56 PM by Thespian
 07/18/2011 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

Oops, I was wrong. My problem still exist. It just froze a while ago.

Edited: 07/19/2011 at 04:59 PM by Thespian
 07/19/2011 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
want2know13
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/26/2011

try to give to bios manual the settings of your RAM and test it again. from what you write to me it seems RAM problem (maybe faulty) but i might be wrong

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x4 965 B.E. RB-C3
MSI 790XT-G45 BIOS v 2.5
4GB DDR 2 @ 800Mhz (4x1GB) [CellShock CS2221042 4-4-4-12 max 2,1v]
XFX AMD Radeon HD5770 (Driver 11.6)
PSU Toughpower 750Watt
LG W2361 23" 1080p
 07/19/2011 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

How do I do it? Sorry, I don't really know a lot of things on this.
 07/23/2011 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thespian
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2011

I found a video on YouTube with the same problem as mine. According to him, he have solved his problem by replacing his on-board sound card.

He said:
Try disabling your onboard audio / Realtek audio device in your BIOS and install a different sound card. I know it's a horrible thing to have to do but I've disabled my onboard Realtek and have been using a Creative XiFi PCI Card for a week or so (several 90min sessions), without a problem.


So, I bought a different sound card and have it installed on my PC. But then, the problem still exists.

I really need your help guys.
Thanks.
 07/23/2011 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
want2know13
Lurker

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/26/2011

can you give more info about your motherboard and your ram modules please? also try with 1 ram module at a time to boot and if you still have problems with no1 ram module replace it with no2 module and do the same again. I dunno if anyone else can help but to me frezes seems to be something with ram or overheat. also did you update your vga drivers? I don't think it is the VGA but you said it happens in games so maybe...

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x4 965 B.E. RB-C3
MSI 790XT-G45 BIOS v 2.5
4GB DDR 2 @ 800Mhz (4x1GB) [CellShock CS2221042 4-4-4-12 max 2,1v]
XFX AMD Radeon HD5770 (Driver 11.6)
PSU Toughpower 750Watt
LG W2361 23" 1080p
 07/26/2011 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeus7866
Lurker

Posts: 12
Joined: 07/21/2011

Thespian May I know ur MBD Manufacturer??? and the Model Number too

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T @ 2.8GHz
ASUS M4A88TD\ USB3
8GB Transcend@ 2000MHz
ATI RADEON 5700 1GB
WIN7 64 bit SP1
HDD Seagate 500GB @ 7200 Rpm
 07/26/2011 12:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeus7866
Lurker

Posts: 12
Joined: 07/21/2011

Also with the help of HW Monitor Please give the readings of ur Core temp ur Mbd Temp and Ur GPU Temp....

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T @ 2.8GHz
ASUS M4A88TD\ USB3
8GB Transcend@ 2000MHz
ATI RADEON 5700 1GB
WIN7 64 bit SP1
HDD Seagate 500GB @ 7200 Rpm
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information