AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Has anybody run into this with C&Q
Topic Summary: cool&quiet works at 3.7Ghz but dosen't at 3.8Ghz
Created On: 02/05/2012 09:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/05/2012 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Hey guy's
I've had my 1100T running at 3.8Ghz for a wile now and its been running smoth but the last few months I've noticed that cool&quiet has stop working when the cpu is at 3.8Ghz, But when set to 3.7Ghz and it works just fine.

Now I OC by using the BOIS but I thought I'll try and see if it did it with AOD, BUT AOD will only allow me to go to 3.7Ghz with the multi and the system crashes if I use the HT. ref to bump it the rest of the way to 3.8....AAAGHH!!

Ok now its starting to tick me off!!!

Breath....ok

So now I try Asus's turbo and OC it to 3.9Ghz and check cpu-z and C&Q is working!?

I don't really care if C&Q works or not but could be a sign of something giving out?

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/06/2012 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

I had the same problem on my old ASRock AM2+ board.
If I enabled C&Q after a 3.8GHz CPU overclock, my rig would BSOD.
I haven't tried it on my CH5F, just don't see the need in using C&Q.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/06/2012 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

I never mess with it personally. Not sure what to tell ya.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/06/2012 05:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

I had the same problem on my old ASRock AM2+ board.

If I enabled C&Q after a 3.8GHz CPU overclock, my rig would BSOD.

I haven't tried it on my CH5F, just don't see the need in using C&Q.





Ok so the BIOS could be disabling C&Q to try to keep the system stable after 3.8Ghz.. this would also explane why C&Q works if I use Asus's turbo V to OC with.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information