AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II x4 955 temp
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/04/2012 06:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/04/2012 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
predator50
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/04/2012

Can anyone tell me more about these temps.




the 1st image shows my temp @53.5 - 54, maxing @ 55.
the 2nd image shows at current 64, maxing @ 68

From what i have read on the website these processor tdp should be 62, is there any concern on my temp??

other info
cooled by Noctua NH-U12P S2 with 1 fan. Did not do any overclocking.
 06/04/2012 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

The second is the cpu temp, not really important whereas the core temps are.

Read this thread.

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...d=153804&enterthread=y

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 06/04/2012 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
predator50
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/04/2012

is there any temp limit for the cpu temp or i just focus on the core temp?
 06/04/2012 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

mine list temp pin 0-3 where your says system temp is my cpu temp and where your says cpu temp i believe mine is the northbridge temp. mine is a gigabyte board. you might want to verify if you can that its names are correct. does your board have a same brand monitoring program to check it aginst?
i do have the exact same reading on temp pin 3, i guess there is not one there.

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64
 07/04/2012 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
predator50
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/04/2012

thanks for the info, btw I was able to oc my rig phenom ii x4 955 c3 @ 3.9ghz running prime95 for 3hours without changing the volt.
How far can i push it without changing the volt? the max core volt is 1.408 in cpuz


Bus speed is 200.0
Multiplier is 19.5
The multiplier is this advisable or i should increase the bus speed?

cooled by Noctua NH-U12p se2 push pull

Edited: 07/05/2012 at 01:27 AM by predator50
 07/05/2012 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

more work usually means more power so a bump in the volts usually may be needed.
the multiplier is the safest (easiest) way , thats why they do it that way now.
you might can get some fine tuning with the bus speed but it will change a lot more parameters on the rest of the settings that just the cpu speed.

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64
 07/05/2012 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

you could increase the bus speed a small amont with out touching the v-core but the higher you go the more unstable it will become with out any real benifet.
So I would leave it at 200 unless you really want to push it.

And BTW you've already changed the voltage. when you OC'ed the cpu and left the voltage on auto in the BIOS the mobo will bump up the voltage for the cpu.
The voltage for the 955 c3 should be around 1.32~1.35v at stock clock speed.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 07/06/2012 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
predator50
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/04/2012

I don't know why but the default volt on my 955 is 1.40v.

thanks for the info, i will try to push it 4.1ghz maybe.

Edited: 07/06/2012 at 12:49 AM by predator50
 07/06/2012 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Typically, what most overclockers will do is raise the mutiplier until they reach their target then use the bus to "fine tune" their overclock. As far as should you use it or not, that depends on why you are overclocking. I find that using a combination of CPU multiplier and bus allow for better performance but not all agree. Your best bet is to try different overclocks out and run your preferred benchtest suite of applications to see which combination is giving you better scores, once you have found "your method" fine tune it by lowering your voltages until you found where your stability line is as that is what the art of overclocking is all about, max speed at the least amount of volts possible.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/07/2012 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Agreed, a combination of bus speed and multiplier typically yield the best results.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information