AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: enable disable CPU cores.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/29/2012 07:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Cespenar, on Monday, July 30, 2012 2:10 AM

Answer:
I flashed the BIOS from 1101 to 1301. This brought the AWOL cores back to the barracks.
I was just about to do a windows reinstall when I noticed the Task Manager had the four boxes instead of one.
 07/29/2012 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cespenar
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/28/2012

I have been researching all the forums about missing cores on Phenom 11 X4 CPU's.

I have seen answers where people reset or re-enable or disable the cores in BIOS. But they don't say how that is done.
I have the ASUS M4N98TD evo and it only has a line in the CPU menu called Core Calibration. The choices are "Disabled" "Auto" "All Cores" and "Per Core"
These choices do nothing to the cores.
Has anybody got any clues please?

-------------------------
Phenom11 X4 965BE C3 Watercooled. Asus M4N98TD evo. Evga GTX670FTW. 8G Corsair 1600XMS. Win7-64bit. 320+500 HDD.
 07/29/2012 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

The 965 is a pure quad core it only has four cores, so there's nothing to unlock.

But to answer your question your looking for Asus's core unlocker and you should be able to enable it by pressing F4 on the mobo splash screen at start up.
But like I said there's nothing to unlock so it won't do anthing.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)

Edited: 07/29/2012 at 01:45 PM by SlayerX
 07/30/2012 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cespenar
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/28/2012

Answer Answer
I flashed the BIOS from 1101 to 1301. This brought the AWOL cores back to the barracks.
I was just about to do a windows reinstall when I noticed the Task Manager had the four boxes instead of one.

-------------------------
Phenom11 X4 965BE C3 Watercooled. Asus M4N98TD evo. Evga GTX670FTW. 8G Corsair 1600XMS. Win7-64bit. 320+500 HDD.
 08/01/2012 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Oop's sorry I misunderstood your question.

You were asking why windows was not showing all four cors...right.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information