AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: [Solved]Reinstall of windows xp, cannot find correct drivers HELP!!
Topic Summary: I need help finding correct drivers
Created On: 09/25/2012 05:35 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/25/2012 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alexor
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

As it obviously looks I am brand new to the forums so I'm here because of a problem I have gotten myself into.

I reinstalled windows xp home 32bit on a new computer and currently it cannot get connected to our network for internet access and access to the network.

So my question is what are the proper drivers needed to get this computer connected to the internet because from what I know there is a ethernet network driver currently missing.

My motherboard is a AMD Phenom(tm) 8450 and I am having no luck finding the proper driver. Before questions are asked this is a computer I have put together and I do not have a driver disc along with AMD's website being rather hard to find the right drivers. Please HELP!

I will be frequently popping on to check for answers if they arise while I search for/test possible drivers



Edited: 09/27/2012 at 03:36 PM by Alexor
 09/25/2012 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Hello....ok, so what you need to do is look at your motherboard and see who the manufacturer is (ASUS, MSI, Gigabyte) and the model number of the motherboard. For clarification you stated what cpu/processor you have. Once you have the information that I asked for post it here....ok? You have to look at the motherboard or if you have the box...it will be on there too.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/26/2012 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

The reason Canis is asking for your motherboards manufacturer is that your going to have to download the ethernet driver from their web site.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/26/2012 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

yep yep

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/26/2012 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alexor
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

After kicking myself for how I could mix these things up I think I have what you need

The manufacturer says Compaq Presario

and the model number is FJ376AA-A2L SR552F

Got both of these by runing dxdiag

 09/26/2012 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Hmmm....kinda, but what we really need is the motherboard make and model....and revision if there is one. It will be printed on the motherboard itself. If you want, just take some good pictures and post them up here for us to look at.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/27/2012 02:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I see, Compaq Presario model SR5552F.
Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE / nForce 430
Motherboard : M2N68-LA (Narra3)

Ethernet : Realtek RTL8201N

Driver for WinXP 32bit, you will need the Nvidia chipset driver, Nforce driver v. 15.26,
it will pick up your ethernet interface also.


http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_winxp_15.26.html


http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...n&product=3752885#N245

-------------------------
 09/27/2012 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Make sure that your motherboard matches what go_for posted before you install anything to prevent a BSOD or other issues.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 09/27/2012 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alexor
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/25/2012

Thanks a ton you two (Canis-X, go_for)computer up and running and now time to install Borderlands 2



Edited: 09/27/2012 at 10:38 PM by Alexor
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information