AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 9950 of doom
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/25/2008 11:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/25/2008 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8atenate
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/25/2008

Hi

My new phenom doesn't want to work on my mobo.

I have this mobo

A reviewer of the processor says it works %100 percent in the same motherboard.
Another says that DFI board does not have enough power for the processor.

When i plug it in it will start with fans and a little hdd activity but i do not get an image on my screen nor does it appear to do a post as no beep.

I'm stuck, i did removal of the 9950 and replaced with 9500. Everything works groovy now.

I have an antec neopower 550 if this helps.

I'm considering to do a BIOS upgrade if this will help. I just don't want to buy another motherboard. Maybe i should wait for SB750.
 07/26/2008 12:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

try getting the latest bios update and trying again

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 07/26/2008 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kull
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/25/2008

Hi,

Do as cvsi3 wrote and it will probably solve that issue (if your unsure with BIOS flashing ask some skillful friend to help you - don't ruin your m-board)

But for your own sake buy yourself a much stronger PSU, at least some 800W model (min. continuous 50A on 12V is must have for such a powerful CPU especially if you want to raise it's multiplier)
You didn't wrote what graphic card you have or how many of those you have but that antec neopower 550W is simply too weak for today's tasks and components.

Cheers

-------------------------
AMD Phenom 9950@3.1GHz 1.3625V G-byte G-Power 2 Pro
Asus M3A32-MVP 1102
2X 2GB DDR2-800-Geil Black Dragon EVO ONE CL5
MSI GeForce 280GTX - OC
Belinea 102035W
2X Samsung HDD HD501LJ
Pioneer DVDRW 205D
X-FI XMusic + 5.1 HT
Gigabyte 3D Aurora
Chieftec CFT1200G-DF PSU
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information