AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Poor performance from Athlon X2 QL-62
Topic Summary: HD H.264 Decoding using favorite player/codec amongst other things
Created On: 11/13/2008 03:59 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2008 03:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B16CXHatch
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

I just bought a new laptop after breaking the monitor on my old one. I bought a Compaq Presario CQ50-210US which sports a Mobile Athlon X2 QL-62, 2GB RAM, GeForce 8200M, and Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP1. It replaced my old Compaq Presario C551NR which had a Celeron 440M, 1.5GB RAM, Intel 945G, and Windows Vista Home Basic 32-bit.

So I watch a lot video, mostly on my desktop (Athlon X2 6000+) but when I'm on trips and such, I use the laptop obviously. I use the Combined Community Codec Pack (CCCP) on all my PC's and watch videos with Zoom Player (which comes with CCCP). My old C551NR with the Celeron could play 720p .mkv files just fine. Not trouble what so ever. Even my old HP I had almost 2 years ago played them fine (Sempron 2800+, 512MB RAM, Radeon Xpress 200M, XP SP2). My old desktop with an Athlon 64 3500+ Venice also ran them fine. But my brand new laptop, which should more powerful than both my previous laptops, cannot play these files correctly using the CCCP. The video lags very badly. I reinstalled Vista and still the problem persisted. I installed Vista x64 and the problem persisted still. I did try VLC and some videos it played worked fine, others had slight lag or video artifacts, and others just didn't play at all (the ones that didn't play in VLC didn't play in it on any computer I tested).

And just for kicks I decided to install the CCCP on an old Athlon XP 2600+, 1GB RAM, GeForce 6600GT Desktop of mine. One video I tried, the video actually kept up with the audio for a while but then began to lag a little. Some videos lagged worse than others but I expected catastrophic lag due to the age of the processor but I was wrong.

Now, why does this new QL-62 perform so poorly while all my older stuff does better. To recap, I have a Sempron 2800+, Athlon XP 2600+ Thoroughbred , Athlon 64 3500+ Venice, and a Celeron 440M that have all outperformed it in HD H.264 video decoding utilizing the CCCP in Zoom Player. Is there some sort of fault in it or what?

I appreciate any information. Thank you.

* Note: All videos tested were 720p .mkv files with soft subtitles (fansubbed anime).
 11/14/2008 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Could be a Graphics Card Issue
Did you update the graphics driver?
http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/
Because from what i heard from other members QL-62 is architecturely identical to the older TL Series except for the Hypertransport 3.0
So it should be a processor problem
You can try BIOS update as a LAST resort

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 11/14/2008 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B16CXHatch
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

Video was up to date. I tried updating all kinds of drivers, different OS's, I tried running different things disabled, I tried everything and the only thing I can figure is it's the processors fault considering most of the video decoding is done there.
 11/14/2008 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Dont know if this is relevant but i had poorer than expected video performance with my Celeron based laptop and found the onboard video was only set to 64mb of ram in the bios, so i cranked it up to the full allowable 256mb and all was much better. Might have just been a coincidence but thought i would mention it.
 11/14/2008 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B16CXHatch
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

Well this one, according to diagnostics, is able to use up to 800MB or so of RAM (it's variable, it changes on it's own I think). My old Celeron laptop however is slower and had even less RAM but it ran the same stuff like a champ, ditto on my even older Sempron one with even less RAM (and even less dedicated to video).
 11/15/2008 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Originally posted by: B16CXHatch

Video was up to date. I tried updating all kinds of drivers, different OS's, I tried running different things disabled, I tried everything and the only thing I can figure is it's the processors fault considering most of the video decoding is done there.


You tried BIOS?
Download it here
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...ng=en&product=3795234
Check it is more updated than the one in your laptop
using http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information