AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ACPI support for Turion X2 Ultra / new chipsets in Linux Kernel 2.6.27
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/25/2008 04:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/25/2008 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vplessky
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/25/2008

Does someone have comprehensive information about ACPI support for AMD Turion X2 Ultra / new chipsets in Linux Kernel 2.6.27?

I have ASUS M51Ta laptop with AMD Turion X2 Ultra (ZM-84) processor and Radeon 3650 graphics (Puma platform).
Mandriva 2009, Fedora 10, OpenSuSE 11.1, Ubuntu 8.10 do not boot (install) on this new laptop.

disabling ACPI (acpi=off as boot option in GRUB) allows to boot system.
BUT: : no battery (despite it is present), no control over CPU frequency, CPU works on max. frequency and laptop heats enermously.
I guess problem is caused by ACPI.

Please help to overcome this problem.
All those distribution use kernel 2.6.27.x (different variants of it)

I need fast fix - as I got used to work from Linux, and have to write those message from Windows.
In case there is no immediate fix available to any of those distributions: are there any distros available which would work with ACPI with AMD Turion X2 Ultra (ZM-84) processor (AMD Puma platform)? Gentoo, Slack, any other?

Thanks a lot for any tip!

-------------------------
Vadim Plessky

 01/06/2009 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I had similar problem with AMD Turion X2 (RM-70) in HP's 6735s, i had to update bios to resolve this problem.
Linux runs, but i don't think everythig is wright. Frequency scalling seems to not work and laptop is sometimes quite hot.
When im running windows computer is much cooler. I hope I'll find a solution to this problem soon.
Or maybe next linux kernel will support Puma better.
 01/06/2009 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vplessky
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/25/2008

Originally posted by: c-butler

Frequency scalling seems to not work and laptop is sometimes quite hot.



Looks like ACPI is not working (tuned off) on your system.

Try
#ls /proc/acpi

You need to be Root to have access to it.
If that folder exists - check what commands show:
# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/info
# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/limit
# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/power
# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/throttling

You can also invoke 'dmesg' from command line and see if ACPI has been enabled or not.
Easy way of doing it:
#dmesg > dmesg.txt
and open text file in any text editor.

If you find in that file message:
ACPI: Interpreter disabled.

than ACPI has been disabled in your system.
And power-saving/frequency scaling doesn't work in such case.

I managed to boot my system with ACPI enabled using option "maxcpus=1" in GRUB.
System still heats more than with working frequency scaling (active state: T0), but heating is less comparing to ACPI=OFF option

-------------------------
Vadim Plessky

 01/06/2009 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vplessky
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/25/2008

My ASUS M51Ta laptop with kernel 2.6.28, booted with "maxcpus=1" option:
ACPI is working.


#ls /proc/acpi
ac_adapter
battery
button
dsdt
embedded_controller
event
fadt
fan
info
power_resource
processor
sleep
thermal_zone
video
wakeup

# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/info
processor id: 0
acpi id: 1
bus mastering control: yes
power management: no
throttling control: yes
limit interface: yes

# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/limit
active limit: P0:T0
user limit: P0:T0
thermal limit: P0:T0

# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/power
active state: C0
max_cstate: C8
bus master activity: 00000000
maximum allowed latency: 2000000000 usec
states:
C1: type[C1] promotion[--] demotion[--] latency[000] usage[00000000] duration[00000000000000000000]

# cat /proc/acpi/processor/P001/throttling
state count: 8
active state: T0
state available: T0 to T7
states:
*T0: 100%
T1: 87%
T2: 75%
T3: 62%
T4: 50%
T5: 37%
T6: 25%
T7: 12%



You may want to check bug report
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11541

Problem described above and in this bug report is most likely bug in kernel.

-------------------------
Vadim Plessky

 01/09/2009 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I've checked a few things.
ACPI seems working, I can read battery status, cpu temperature, fan state, processors state, ... .
My result for ls /proc/acpi is identical as yours.

I dont know is that ok but cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/limit gives result identical as yours but similar command for CPU1 gives <not supported>.
Same situation with /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling

cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU{0,1}/info
processor id: 0
acpi id: 0
bus mastering control: yes
power management: no
throttling control: yes
limit interface: yes

processor id: 1
acpi id: 1
bus mastering control: yes
power management: no
throttling control: no
limit interface: no

cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU{0,1}/power
active state: C0
max_cstate: C8
bus master activity: 00000000
maximum allowed latency: 2000000000 usec
states:
C1: type[C1] promotion[--] demotion[--] latency[000] usage[00000000] duration[00000000000000000000]

active state: C0
max_cstate: C8
bus master activity: 00000000
maximum allowed latency: 2000000000 usec
states:

Powertop shows that also frequency scaling works fine.

I've found that my cpu gets hot when I resume from suspend mode.
At the moment I don't know why, since Powertop shows that freq scaling works fine after resuming from suspend mode.
 01/11/2009 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

Hi
I have a laptop based on the same platform (hp 6735s, puma, ql-60 processor, lates f06 bios ). My observation is that in Vista the processor is usually @ 45-50 degrees (in powersaving mode).
in standard 2.6.28, 27 or 24 kernel it usually is 55-65 and higher even though the frequency scaling seems to work (powernow-k8 loaded, the relevant applet showing frequencies changing).
The AMD power monitor in Vista shows the variable voltage on both cores, which i believe is the problem in linux.
Dmesg shows only the FREQUENCY ADJUSTMENT (1000mhz, 1900mhz) enabled, no VOLTAGE ADJUSTMENT possible. Is there any patch that would enable the voltage scaling?
Although I have seen somewhere on the net that the processor actually adjusts the voltage by itself, I do not think this is the case in linux - the battery life seems to confirm it (1h30min maximum).
Can anyone please confirm that the voltage scaling works/does not work in linux as well as in windows ?
My second question concerns the powerplay feature in the m780g chipset. Is it actually implemented?
Whenever i issue a "aticonfig --lsp" command I get the error saying that it is not supported in my hardware (contrary to what the amd site says...). Tried catalyst 8.11, 8.12.
Hope someone can explain that more to me, what is interesting is if the T7 state is actuallu usable
Best regards to all the brave puma/linux based laptop owners
 01/13/2009 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I've turned od powerplay in ATI Catalyst Controll Center and now my CPU is 5-20 degrees cooler than it was when this feature was turned off .
This is werid but when i try to run "aticonfig --lsp" I get an error message that my hardware doesnt support it.
 01/14/2009 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

hi
which distro/kernel are you running? which fglrx version?
I would gladly try your setup . the bios version in my hardware is f06 it seems to be the latest on the hp site...
 01/15/2009 03:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I'm running Fedora 10 with 2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64 kernel and fglrx 8.561 from RpmFusion repository.
 01/17/2009 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

ok, thanks for the tip... I've just installed fedora 10, now work in progress on wifi.
 01/17/2009 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I have broadcom wifi, mine works with broadcom-wl which you can find in rpmfusion repository.
 01/17/2009 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

mine too, broadcom 4322 to be exact. How did you get the fglrx working?
 01/17/2009 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

just noticed f08 bios is out, adds something with microphone.
 01/18/2009 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I've just installed kmod-fglrx from rpmfusion-testing repository.
Then I ran: aticonfig --initial -f
After reboot everythig was working just fine.

To reduce the temperature I had to run amdcccle and change powerplay settings.

That's all.
 01/19/2009 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

all done, but i cannot see any option for powerplay in the amdcccle... have you got a screenshot of yours?
 01/19/2009 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

thanks for the info though - fedora seems to be the distro of choice for 6735s...
 01/19/2009 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

That is how it looks on my computer:
Screen

I think most popular distros are good choice for 6735s, I chose fedora because I use this distro for years. I just know it well and get used to it.
 01/19/2009 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

interesting, I do not get the powerplay tab....
I used to use ubuntu, but I've had to many problems to get the fglrx running and eventually got fed up with hangs/crashes.
I wonder why the powerplay tab is not there...
What is your catalyst control centre version?
Maybe I need to downgrade it somehow...
The shot of mine below:

http://img237.imageshack.us/co...7/2388/amdccclepf1.jpg

Edited: 01/19/2009 at 11:45 AM by smagic
 01/27/2009 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
c-butler
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/06/2009

I have Catalyst in version 8.53, 2d driver 8.56.4 and CCC 1.0
 01/31/2009 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smagic
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2009

This is crazy.
I have just updated to catalyst 9.1 and still no powerplay.
I am tired of having to use the laptop for an hour and a half max burning my laps in the process.
Can somebody do something about that please?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information