AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Compatibility between S1G3 and S1G4 ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/01/2009 01:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/01/2009 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bullit
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/25/2004

I am about to buy a laptop. One option is with with Turion X2 Caspian series anothers have Intels. My question is if later i can upgrade the AMD Caspian one with AMD Champlain series CPU's which apparently reportedly will be s1g4 socket. If i don't get any confirmation i might go Intel route since for the price they are a bit better performing.
 11/18/2009 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
iKai83
Member

Posts: 54
Joined: 07/06/2009

As much as I remember another discussion going on here about that, the Turion X2 is not upgradeable to later CPUs (it's new architecture - the Turion X2 is a mixture of K8 and K10, the Turion II is pure K10). If you can, look out for a Turion/Athlon II X2, there you might rather be able to upgrade to Turion/Athlon II X4 or higher CPUs next year. Besides that, the new Turions and Athlons II are usually not more expensive than previous ones.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information