AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrade CPU for Acer 5534-5410 laptop? CPU = TF-20.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2009 12:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2009 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
morkys
Console Jockey

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/07/2004

My mom and I just bought an Acer 5534-5410 laptop for my sister and it comes with a TF-20 CPU. I'm wondering what CPU I could upgrade this to without getting into too much heat. A dual-core 2.0 GHZ CPU with larger cache. I don't need the fastest or best, just something a little better than it is. May not upgrade right away.

What are the CPU options for this? Any ideas?

thanks,



-------------------------
Enermax CS-656-TA ATX case w/ 3 fans - Enermax EG425P-VE SFMA (12V=29a) (5vsb=2.5a) - MS XP Pro SP2 - MSI Neo2 Platinum - AMD64 3000+ winchester - (Artic Silver + oem HSF) - 1GB OCZ Premier Dual Channel DDR - (OCZ4001024PDC-K 2x512M PC3200 DC Kit 2.5-3-3-10) - Geforce2 GTS AGP (I do not play games) - Mitsumi 1.44 MB floppy and card reader via USB 2.0 - Seagate 7200.7 200 GB SATA HD x 1 - LG 4163B DVD burner - EIDE - Onboard sound - nForce 3 Onboard LAN - logitech PS2 wheelmouse - microsoft PS2

Edited: 12/28/2009 at 01:04 PM by morkys
 12/28/2009 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Don't think there is much you can upgrade to on those, but I'm not positive. I believe it's just a repackaged Athlon 2650e.

These are Socket S1G1, so you could conceivably put one of those in there. If you have the Radeon 3200 or 4200 (don't think they've been putting the 4200 with the TF-20's but just in case) then it'd be worth the upgrade. If you have the Radeon x1250 graphics I don't think it'd be worth upgrading your CPU.

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 12/29/2009 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
morkys
Console Jockey

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/07/2004

The package could have 'optionally' came with a dual-core CPU as it shows on the box, so that alone means there is something out there that works.

In the 'Quick Guide' it states:

Platform
AMD Athlon 64 X2 dual-core processor
AMD Athlon 64 single-core processor

Of course, this could mean the 1.2 GHZ dual-core which wouldn't be as much faster than the 1.6 GHZ single-core AMD64 TF-20 it has now....but, this is what I want to find out.

Laptop has HD3200 graphics. Sister won't game, but dvd's would be nice. So far the supplied dvd software is nicely buggy and not the greatest at de-interlacing and scaling (combing). Maybe the next time I boot it up it will work...lol...although, the screen is quite low in contrast, high in black levels and doesn't have the best viewing angle, so not really going to be used for that much. Otherwise, it's proving to be ok so far.

Anyhow, I guess I will get the CPUID prog and run it on the laptop and see what it says and go looking from there.

thanks



-------------------------
Enermax CS-656-TA ATX case w/ 3 fans - Enermax EG425P-VE SFMA (12V=29a) (5vsb=2.5a) - MS XP Pro SP2 - MSI Neo2 Platinum - AMD64 3000+ winchester - (Artic Silver + oem HSF) - 1GB OCZ Premier Dual Channel DDR - (OCZ4001024PDC-K 2x512M PC3200 DC Kit 2.5-3-3-10) - Geforce2 GTS AGP (I do not play games) - Mitsumi 1.44 MB floppy and card reader via USB 2.0 - Seagate 7200.7 200 GB SATA HD x 1 - LG 4163B DVD burner - EIDE - Onboard sound - nForce 3 Onboard LAN - logitech PS2 wheelmouse - microsoft PS2

Edited: 12/29/2009 at 09:10 AM by morkys
 01/01/2010 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreakDaddy247
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/30/2009

Yes it is very possible to upgrade the TF-20, i just did it with my Acer Aspire 56516-5474, i upgraded to a TL-50, windows will even update the driver for the new cpu. im thinking of upgrading the cpu again to a TL-6x series really soon. i really dont have much in the way of heating problems so far. pretty much any Socket S1 cpu will work.
 01/01/2010 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreakDaddy247
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/30/2009

**5516-5474**
 01/01/2010 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FreakDaddy247
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/30/2009

Oh, by the way, the TF-20 is just a rebadged Athlon Neo.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information