AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrade Athlon 64 3500+ to better CPU
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/25/2010 11:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/25/2010 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
duffton
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/24/2010

Hi,

I'm new here and I need to ask a question in order to make the good decision. I search the web without success to know which CPU I should choose to give a new life to my old laptop :

This is my old laptop:

HP Compaq Presario R4000
AMD Mobile Athlon 64 3500+
512 mb RAM DDR 2700 333 Mhz (2 X 256)
ATI Radeon Xpress 200M

I would like to know which are the best CPU I could use in this laptop ?

Thank you for your consideration.
 04/26/2010 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

I found this. Maybe it could help.
4000 @ 2.6ghz might be the highest it goes for socket 754 mobile.
2GB RAM max, that should be really good




-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem

Edited: 04/26/2010 at 11:52 PM by nauttboy
 04/27/2010 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
duffton
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/24/2010

Right thanks nauttboy. It is what I'm looking for actually. Thanks to confirm. But still a little thing concern me about the socket. Just because there is no 3500+ CPU listing for socket 754. The 3500+ is usually associate with desktop processor with socket 939. It is weird to me and I'm a little confused.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/...ile%20Athlon%2064.html
 04/27/2010 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
duffton
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/24/2010

BANG !

The COMPAQ Tech support told me there is a socket 939 in the R4000 laptop motherboard. But they cannot give me a detailed list of CPU supported.

I'm still searching the web to confirm...

Thanks if you have a cue regarding these new informations.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information