AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Acer Aspire 5251-1513 Cpu Upgrade
Topic Summary: from 25w to 45w is this wise?
Created On: 10/19/2010 09:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/19/2010 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
astrozombie138
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/19/2010

hello i was wondering what my options are on upgrading this laptop's cpu.

Stock it comes with AMD V series processor wich is 2.2ghz single core, 2000 mhz bus speed, wich runs at 25 watts. Its a socket s1g4 if i'm not mistaken.

Now say i wanted to upgrade to something like this http://products.amd.com/en-gb/...f5=S1&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=

Would the temperature be too extreme for the stock cooler? I have no idea if the motherboard has enough bus speed for this processor either.

Please let me hear your opinions
 10/19/2010 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SolnzeUSB
Deprecated

Posts: 259
Joined: 02/20/2007

I would not go above 35W. It is not guaranteed, but it is possible your lappy will run. It would be hot, but still run.
You can stay within your TDP, by getting some extra cores to handle additional programs.
25W TDP:
2 cores: Athlon II P320, P340
2 cores: Turion II P520, P540
3 cores: Phenom II P820, P840
4 cores: Phenom II P920, P940

Do not forget Phenoms give cores, but take away GHz

Get confirmation elsewhere from someone who actually did this, but these would be my choice to try (esp. Turions).

-------------------------
"Freedom in capitalist society always remains about the same as it was in ancient Greek republics: Freedom for slave owners." V.I.Lenin

HP tx1000 | Touch-screen | TL-64 Tyler | 4GB RAM | SSD + HDD dual drive | 802.11n | Win7 U-64 + Vista U-64
 10/20/2010 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gshv
B1FF

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/19/2004

I can add three processors to the list:

4 cores: Phenom II P960
2 cores: Phenom II P650
2 cores: Turion II P560

They seems to be shipping now in HP notebooks. Details are here:

http://www.cpu-world.com/news_...ile_CPUs_spotted.html

Gennadiy
 10/20/2010 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SolnzeUSB
Deprecated

Posts: 259
Joined: 02/20/2007

Gena, nice find!
Care to do the honors and update http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L...mobile_microprocessors ?

-------------------------
"Freedom in capitalist society always remains about the same as it was in ancient Greek republics: Freedom for slave owners." V.I.Lenin

HP tx1000 | Touch-screen | TL-64 Tyler | 4GB RAM | SSD + HDD dual drive | 802.11n | Win7 U-64 + Vista U-64
 10/27/2010 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gshv
B1FF

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/19/2004

Sorry, updating CPU-World takes almost all of my spare time

Gennadiy
 01/16/2011 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

just loaded the phenom II x920 BE into this laptop today. Runs great. Idle at anywhere from 42c-46c. ran 15 apps for close to an hour, two movies at once, full virus scan, pdf files, web pages, etc.... and heat topped out at 62c. a little warm to set on lap. I installed a 4gb stick of ddr3 1333, a 500gb 7200 rpm HD, along with CPU and it is well worth it in my book.
 01/19/2011 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
noobtech
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/19/2011

I have the 5251 as well...

I tried out and upgraded to a P320 25w and an N330 Athlon II 35w and X920 BE 45w... They all run fine and temps are not a problem with any of them. It runs as warm as the V120 did. So temps are NOT a problem... =) They all ran from 42c-62c in 70F room temp. They all rated at 5.5 for the dual cores on WEI... I still gotta run the test on the quad core though... My video scores went from 4.1 on the V120 to 4.0 to the rest... I don't know why?

Is there anyway we can overclock the 4250 or CPU's? I still have 2 gigs of ram installed..

@Fperez... You just have one stick of ram installed? one 4 gig stick? I don't think it will be running dual channel with one stick. Also, I'm assuming you went ahead and did a clean install of your OS? I installed 7 Ultimate 64.. and planning on putting in two 4 Gig sticks of ram... but I read somewhere that 8 gigs won't let the computer start up? That sounds odd...

Anywho, I would love to know what your WEI is rated currently with the upgraded HDD and RAM We pretty much have the same specs, other that now.

-------------------------
Acer 5251 w/ N330 AMD Athlon II
 01/24/2011 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

WEI went from 4.1 in 64 bit win7 to 3.9 in win7 32 bit. I thought id try both to see. I am using one stick, plan on another, but will switch to win7 64bit. The only issues I have seen are with cl7 mem modules in pairs. I have cl9. There are utility and mods available.
 01/26/2011 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

Just joined, but I can give you some information regarding the problems with the cl7 memory.
I installed 8Gb in my 5251, the video resolution dropped to 1024X768 and I lost the HDMI output. After a LOAD of research I found the problem is with the Catalyst drivers.
You can get the updated drivers through AMD, Acer has not seen fit to update the driver on their site yet.
This is the link to the driver: Catalyst Update

Once I installed the new driver, the resolution and HDMI worked properly. Hope this helps someone, I'd not seen an answer for this issue yet.

Aaron
 01/27/2011 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

there are driver mods that allow use of desktop integrated m/board drivers with like chipsets to run on laptops available, this would help for more updated drivers. also amd overdrive for this chipset, but be careful not to give too much because the cpu and gpu share the cooling on this laptop. looks like there is room for some mods to the case for venting and possibly another fan to cool things down .
 01/27/2011 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

I'd like to upgrade the processor in my 5251 as well, but for now, I'll keep an eye on the testing your doing. I already installed a 500Gb, 7,200Rpm HD, and 8Gb of ram. The 5251 is a nice computer already, but it'd be cool to make it run better yet.
The link for the Catalyst drivers above is for the laptop drivers. I'm not looking to cook my laptop, so I'm stinking with proven updates. I'm thinking Acer put the 5251's out in a hurry, in the last seven months they have released 13 BIOS updates, fortunately, I've only needed to update once.
Thanks for posting your test results with the CPU's, it helps loads.
 01/27/2011 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

ACER 5251 CPU UPGRADE, Google "acer 5251 cpu upgrade" and check some of the other sites that have been posted on this subject. Its a go for the upgrade on this laptop. The only downside is slight loss of battery life. I mentioned some mods for anyone who wants to push their laptop a little further, if someone decides to use Amd Overdrive the extra cooling could be necessary depending on how much you want to push your hardware. it can be done. as of present I may do the mods myself when I can find the time, my regular job is a seven day a week deal so it doesnt leave alot of time for all the experiments id like to try right now. anyone want to step up to the plate I will assist with any information I can provide. Here is what I have done so far and it is simple. Removed approx 1/16 " of protective tape around heatsink area because die on Phenom x920 BE is larger than V120. cleaned and polished heatsink pad, Used Ait thermal pad on die for cooling, silver content, non conductive. reassembled all components. done. Did the cpu upgrade before updating to latest bios, so upgrading bios wasnt needed for the cpu itself, figured it might help with memory from what i read in other posts.

Edited: 01/27/2011 at 08:17 PM by fperez
 02/06/2011 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

About the X920, have you seen any issues going from 25w to 45w power consumption? No issues with the power clipping? I'd like to upgrade my notebook, but was hesitant to increase the power consumption. I thought the P920 was the way to go, a decent 1,970 on benchmark, compared to the 696 of the V120.
Please keep us updated on the X920, and how it works out for you, a 2,880 benchmark score........that would be a HUGE improvement!
 03/03/2011 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommythk
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/03/2011

I got myself an acer 5625G, P940 1.7 S1 socket (MB: JM51_DN chipset 785GX). i was wondering any problem to my notebook if i upgrade my cpu to X940 or X920 (no OC)? lastly, where could i source for the mobile processor as most of all processor i found are meant for desktop.
 03/10/2011 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

I received the P920 processor today, ($100 on line) it wasn't a bad install at all. I picked up Arctic Silver thermal paste "because".
It took me about 45 minutes to completely install the processor, the install was made easier by an Acer repair guide I found on line. It gave step by step instructions, not that I needed it that bad, but it made things a bit easier.
You will notice the difference right away! YEAH! Since it is the same power draw it should not get any warmer than the V120 did.
My sister has the same notebook and has asked me already about upgrading hers?

$300 notebook
$100 8Gb Ram
$70 500Gb 7,200Rpm WD drive
$99 Phenom II P920 processor

$570 for a very nice notebook, can't go wrong there.
 03/10/2011 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

Tommy,
I looked for a manual for your Acer and couldn't find one. Chances are that the Mo-Bo is tested for 25-35 watt processors, that's not to say that a 45W would not work, but you never know.
I'll post back if I find the manual for your notebook.
 03/10/2011 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

V120 compatibility: There are more yet, I believe.

CPU Model Passmark Score ID Number Power

AMD V Series Danube- Champlain
V120 658 VMV120SGR12GM 25W
V140 696 VMV140SGR12GM 25W

AMD Athlon II Dual Core Mobile Danube- Champlain
P320 1270 AMP320SGR22GM 25W
P340 1298 AMP340SGR22GM 25W

AMD Turion II Dual Core Mobile Danube- Champlain
P520 1437 TMP520SGR23GM 25W
P540 1504 TMP540SGR23GM 25W
P560 1667 TMP560SGR23GM 25W

AMD Turion II Ultra Dual-Core Mobile M6 Danube- Champlain
M600 1502 TMM600DBO23GQ 35W
M620 1526 TMM600DBO23GQ 35W
M640 1631 TMM600DBO23GQ 35W
M660 1653 TMM600DBO23GQ 35W

AMD Phenom II Dual Core Mobile Danube- Champlain
N620 1734 HMN620DCR23GM 35W
N640 1918 HMN640DCR23GM 35W
N660 1818 HMN660DCR23GM 35W
P650 1733 HMP960SGR23GM 25W

AMD Phenom Triple Core Mobile Danube- Champlain
P820 1671 HMP820SGR32GM 25W
P840 1824 HMP840SGR32GM 25W
P860 1876 HMP860SGR32GM 25W
N830 1961 HMN830DCR32GM 35W
N850 2074 HMN850DCR32GM 35W
N870 No score yet HMN870DCR32GM 35W

AMD Phenom Quad Core Mobile Danube- Champlain
P920 1957 HMP920SGR42GM 25W
P940 2199 HMP940SGR42GM 25W
P960 2315 HMP960SGR42GM 25W
 03/11/2011 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

good source for manuals, Tommythk, yours is grouped with other models, look at acer aspire 5620. google, tim.id.au you will find your manual there.

Edited: 03/11/2011 at 07:49 PM by fperez
 03/14/2011 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommythk
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/03/2011

Hi fperez,
thanks for the web but I simply can't find mine model there. the 5620 manual seems to be the older model.

here is one of the review web for my nb.
notebookcheck.net/Acer-Aspire-5625G-P924G50Mn.33255.0.html

the different of processor P920 (mine P940)

Hi automan, I located at Asia region so i supposed 5625G might not be available in certain countries?
 03/20/2011 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

That very well could be, or I just haven't found it. Sounds like a nice computer already, wonder how fast it could go if upgraded?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information