AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Acer Aspire 5251-1513 Cpu Upgrade
Topic Summary: from 25w to 45w is this wise?
Created On: 10/19/2010 09:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/20/2011 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

5625 Service Manual
Here is the service manual for your laptop, it must have just came up, I looked for it the other day and came up empty handed.
 03/20/2011 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

According to the "tested CPU's" section, you can run a 25W or 35W processor, it looks like the P960 is the fastest, but I could be wrong.
 03/24/2011 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommythk
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/03/2011

Thx dude! The manual just give me a great understanding to my NB! =)
 03/30/2011 05:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

Checked the specs on that laptop, Not bad. The reason why I sold my acer 5251 was the graphics engine. Shopping for more GPU core and more GPU clock speeds out of the box. The X920 BE is an awesome CPU. Next laptop, next upgrade, maybe the X940 BE. or faster.

Edited: 03/30/2011 at 05:23 AM by fperez
 03/30/2011 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
automan
Lurker

Posts: 17
Joined: 01/26/2011

The 5251 is plenty for what my uses are. It was a kick to upgrade it and do it for a lot less than what a notebook would have cost with those specs.
If my memory serves me right the 5251 has the Radeon 4200 in it? Where can I find information on the ATI GPU core's and speeds? that would be an interesting bit of research.
 03/30/2011 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fperez
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/16/2011

wiki is a good source for most all hardware
 04/11/2011 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rsriram22
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/11/2011

Thanks all for your experiences/suggestions on 5251-1513.

I just ordered a Phenom II N830..

1) Would anyone know if I need to remove the bottom panel (HDD/battery etc) to get to the motherboard/CPU area? ( I have the manual and it seems to suggest that I need to remove the HDD/battery side of laptop before opening the keyboard side of the laptop)
2) What keys have the screws under them on the keyboard for this lappy (the photo in the manual is a bit blurry)

Thanks.

-------------------------
Acer Aspire AS5251-1513 w/AMD Phenom II N830 CPU (as HTPC)
 04/20/2011 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rsriram22
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/11/2011

Well, I was able to replace my stock V120 CPU with a triple core Phenom II N830 without a problem.

Answers to my questions above:

1) All screws on bottom panel needs to be removed (4 of them are under the battery - so battery needs to be removed)
2) HDD and WLAN module need to be removed (as they are connected to the motherboard)
3) RAM(memory) need not be removed
4) None of the keys on keyboard have 'screws' under them - There are tiny 'tabs' above the keys that need to be pushed to release the keyboard (a careful observation of the first row of keys should make these tiny tabs visible)...

All in all, the entire process was smooth and took around 1 1/2 hours and the CPU temps are hovering around 55-60 (using HWmonitor) after N830 is installed.

-------------------------
Acer Aspire AS5251-1513 w/AMD Phenom II N830 CPU (as HTPC)
 04/23/2011 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
noobtech
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/19/2011

Good job on the upgrade... I guess the first time taking this specific model apart could take a while. I'm sure you can do it again in under 30 min. :-)

I swapped out the processor out a couple times... I think I said that on a previous post. The first upgrade from the V120 was to a P320... and then to a .... hmmm, I forget... but I stopped with an X920. I didn't really run any tests to see how much shorter battery life is, but I don't think it would be noticeable. Besides, most people don't do the exact same thing each use.

When I first did the 8gb upgrade to the laptop, I had the same problem where HDMI disabled and graphics were nasty. I haven't tried to update catalyst yet... I went ahead and downgraded to 5gb of ram, which is good for now.

All in all... I like the system. I just wish we were able to overclock the x920. :-)

-------------------------
Acer 5251 w/ N330 AMD Athlon II
 04/23/2011 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rsriram22
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/11/2011

I do not think I have a problem after upgrading memory to 8GB -- I had the latest version of catalyst always, perhaps..

...With 8 Gig RAM and N830, this has become a high end HTPC..

(FWIW, I had to upgrade the CPU because of a problem with the Vulkano placeshifter PC player software... For some reason, that software had problems with single core CPU)..

-------------------------
Acer Aspire AS5251-1513 w/AMD Phenom II N830 CPU (as HTPC)
 04/29/2011 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Coffeyj
Lurker

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/11/2009

Useing a 5251,a 2.1 N830 Phenom 2 Triple Core CPU and 4gb of DDR3 Windows 7 gives a CPU score 6.1. For me at least
 05/07/2011 12:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trevayne10
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/27/2010

bump

Edited: 06/14/2011 at 04:56 PM by Trevayne10
 05/07/2011 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trevayne10
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/27/2010

Hey SolnzeUSB -

Update on my P320 to N620 notebook CPU upgrade -

Just upgraded my Compaq Presario CQ62-225NR notebook's P320 Athlon II 2.1 dual core CPU - which is 25W TDP - to the N620 Phenom II 2.8 Dual core CPU - which is 35W TDP. Everything is about 36% faster, HUGE performance increase. works fine, temps are actually *LOWER* now with the N620.

Some before/after benchmark scores:


Windows 7 64-bit WEI scores with the P320 CPU:
==================================

CPU: 5.1

Memory: 7.1 (8GB)

Windows Aero: 4.1

3D Business/Gaming Graphics: 5.2

Disk: 5.9

==================================

Win7 Scores with N620 CPU upgrade:

CPU: 6.3

Memory: 7.1 (8GB)

Windows Aero: 4.2

3D Business/Gaming Graphics: 5.3

Disk: 5.9



GeekBench:
==================================

GeekBench 64 bit score, Win7, P320: 2919

GeekBench 64 bit score, Win7, N620: 3847

GeekBench 32 bit, Ubuntu 10.04, P320: 3124

GeekBench 32 bit, Ubuntu 10.04, N620: 4004

==================================

100% successful upgrade, totally worth it. Got the N620 CPU on eBay for $67.00 USD, w/free shipping. The CPU was pulled from a store demo model notebook.
 06/10/2011 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SODEK
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/10/2011

where can i buy an amd phenom ii x2 p650 or n660 processor???
 06/10/2011 05:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trevayne10
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/27/2010

Hey, Sodek -

Here's a barely used (1 month) N660 on eBay, for $108 USD:

">http://cgi.ebay.com/AM.....s.....m1c1c627048


For $108 bucks, going from your V120 single core 2.2 GHz CPU to a 3.0 GHz N660 dual core will be a HUGE performance boost. I'd say jump on it.

...and forget about the P650 - the cheapest one I've seen is on eBay, $194.95 (new) -

">http://shop.ebay.com/i.....d......m270.l1313


- which is about half the price of a new, entry-level laptop. False economy, in other words. $108 for 3.0 GHz, yes. $194 for only 2.6 GHz, no.

Hope this helps.

Edited: 06/11/2011 at 08:01 AM by Trevayne10
 06/10/2011 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SODEK
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/10/2011

thnz a lot trevayne10..........i think im going for the n660
 06/10/2011 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trevayne10
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/27/2010

no prob
 06/11/2011 12:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SODEK
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/10/2011

can someone help me plz... where can i buy the thermal grease........i was looking at a manual and it says that it needs to be... n-302 dimand tim grease or honeywell

http://support.acer.com/acerpa...551_5551G_04282010.pdf
 06/11/2011 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trevayne10
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/27/2010

Sodek, get Arctic Silver 5 ("AS5") thermal compound. It's made with 99.9% silver, excellent thermal conductivity. AS5 is pretty much an industry standard, and I've personally had great results with it. Here's the link:

http://www.arcticsilver.com/as5.htm

Radio Shack has it, $8 or $9 bucks.

Edited: 06/11/2011 at 07:59 AM by Trevayne10
 06/11/2011 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SODEK
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/10/2011

thnx again trevayne10
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information