AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I was given a mobile CPU
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/10/2005 05:03 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2005 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tony M
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/09/2004

How's it goin'
I was given this CPU: AXMS1800FXS3C
I presume it's an XP-M 1800+
I've put it in a MSI Mega180 PC (nForce2 chipset) and it sees it as 800MHz (6x133MHz) I'm gonna try it in a different system to see what comes up....
I was also looking the order code thingy for the XP-M's?
Thanks

Tony M




-------------------------

AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe. nForce4 X16
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024MB
2x XFX GeForce 7600GS eXtreme 256MB. SLI
2x Western Digital Raptor 74GB SATA
2x NEC DVD-RW dual layer
Hyper Type-R 480w PSU
Windoze XP Pro 32
<span
 01/10/2005 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE I was given this CPU: AXMS1800FXS3C
That's a 25W Low-power Mobile Athlon XP-M 1800+, model 8 (Thoroughbred) clocked at 1.53GHz, 133MHz FSB, 1.25V Vcore, 95°C max temp, 256KB L2-cache.
QUOTE I've put it in a MSI Mega180 PC (nForce2 chipset) and it sees it as 800MHz (6x133MHz) I'm gonna try it in a different system to see what comes up....
It's pretty normal for mobile AXP-M processors to be recognized improperly if you run them on a non-Laptop system.
Mobile AXP-M parts generally have a x6.0 'startup multiplier' which will be used if the (non-Laptop) motherboard is configured to automatically recognize the processor's multiplier.
You will have to manually set your multiplier to x11.5 in BIOS (if this is supported on your motherboard) to make the processor run at its default speed.
QUOTE I was also looking the order code thingy for the XP-M's?
If you're looking for official info of the sort AMD provides for their desktop processors, you will be out of luck...
As far as i know specifications and datasheets for mobile Athlon XP-M parts are NOT publicly available.

If you have any further questions on your processor, feel free to ask...i'll do my best to help with your question/problem.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 01/11/2005 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tony M
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/09/2004


Nice one. Thanks. I think I'll have to do a swap with me mate for a 'normal' Athlon

-------------------------

AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe. nForce4 X16
TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024MB
2x XFX GeForce 7600GS eXtreme 256MB. SLI
2x Western Digital Raptor 74GB SATA
2x NEC DVD-RW dual layer
Hyper Type-R 480w PSU
Windoze XP Pro 32
<span
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information