AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: help me
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/22/2003 07:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/22/2003 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliffhanger
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/22/2003

Got a Compaq laptop model 1200. opened it up to repair a busted connector and noticed that the processor is easily interchangeable. its on a regular socket 462.
presently its an athlon 4 at 1g. Don't know what motherboard. is there any chance i could plug an xp chip in place of the 1g. and how fast a processor should i get.
i assume its a mobile processor but seems exactly the same as my desktop processor- how can i tell them a part. i don't really mind if i blow a processor
trying but i wouldn't wanna blow the motherboard.
 12/22/2003 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

Here's a list of mobile XP processors, I think they will all work in your mobo but don't take that as gospel.

Mobile XP' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...propertycodevalue=4181
 12/23/2003 02:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE i assume its a mobile processor but seems exactly the same as my desktop processor- how can i tell them a part.
You can identify any AMD-CPU by its OPN. It's either printed on the die itself or on a black sticker on the CPU.
Yours should be either 'AHM1100AVS3B'(Standard/Mainstream-part, 1.4V Vcore, 25W max power) or 'AHM1100AUQ3B'(Desktop replacement-part, 1.6V Vcore, 35W max power).

Your mobo might support a faster CPU, but you will need a 100MHz FSB-part since ALL Athlon 4's have a 100MHz FSB(Athlon XP-M's are 100 or 133MHz - most of them are 133MHz).

Another problem will be cooling. In most cases, a Laptops' cooling is specifically designed for the CPU that is being used. Putting in a CPU with a higher power dissipation can cause overheating problems.
If the OPNs on newegg's site are correct, those CPUs are all Mainstream/Desktop replacement-parts with a 45W max. power dissipation.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information