AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon XP 1800+ on an Acer Aspire 1304LC
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/21/2003 05:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/21/2003 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NULLnullvoid2003
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2003

Hello!
I have an Acer Aspire 1304LC laptop that is built on an AMD Athlon XP 1800+.
It's designed for Windows XP but I decided I need Windows 2000...
among the various drivers on the Acer CD there's one named 'AMD CPU hotfix'
but I can't install it!!!
My real problem is that my laptop is heatening up more easily than it did when I had Windows XP... and I think that the extra heat comes from the CPU, because I can't install that hotfix and probably Windows 2000 doesn't know how to deal with that CPU...
Anybody has seen this? Could you pleeeeeaaaase help????
 10/21/2003 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ksama
Member

Posts: 69
Joined: 10/07/2003

have you checked Acer's site before coming here?? And maybe it's a good idea to contact Acer because it's their product.
 10/22/2003 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NULLnullvoid2003
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2003

yes but Acer's site is really bad...
and they say it's not "Windows 2000 ready" whatever that means...
I'm really surprised that no one else has any info on that. Even Google wasn't much help!
 10/22/2003 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ksama
Member

Posts: 69
Joined: 10/07/2003

ok, then how about try AMD's powernow utility, maybe that's the problem.

if everything's tried and it still doesn't help, then maybe Win XP is the go, I personally found no big difference between 2000 and XP at all. That's in terms of performance.
 10/23/2003 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NULLnullvoid2003
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2003

QUOTE (ksama @ Oct 22 2003, 06:56 PM) ok, then how about try AMD's powernow utility, maybe that's the problem.

Where is this 'powernow' utility?
I can't find it in the 'Support' section in main AMD site...
Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.
 10/23/2003 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mosher
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/07/2003

Well, AMD's info on Powernow can be found here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...204_964%5E4396,00.html but it is the OEM's responsibility to make it work in their setup. Therefore if Acer says they or their Product is not ready than you might need to find the software somewhere else. I would try google. One download site is here' ">http://myplc.com/sony/driver_page.htm
 10/28/2003 08:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nmlckd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/28/2003

That fix is specifically for Windows XP.. It resolves a bug in XP, concerning Powernow! support. There is a bug in XP (aka q306458 on microsoft knowledgebase) that makes AMD mobile with Powernow support [content edited] up your XP system. If you install XP and don't install this patch your system will probably freeze up every time you try and install something or whatever... For windows 2000 on the other hand you need to ADD powernow support, not just fix it... Long story short: If yr installing XP from scratch, use this CPU patch, if yr installing 2000 use the patch that guy posted in earlier post.. then you can change the powernow settings and thus change your CPU behaviour.. This does not come up out of AMD's fabulous search function on the support site.. Ask AMD: you'll find nothing... STFW: you'll find what yr looking for....
 10/28/2003 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NULLnullvoid2003
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2003

Thank you all for your replies!
I installed PowerNow support and now it works fine!!!

You are the best!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information