AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HP Laptop
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/04/2004 07:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/04/2004 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
celtmcd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/04/2004

I just recieved my laptop from HP that I ordered a few weeks back. Now I'be begining to wonder if I was jipped.

The processor is listed as a AMD Athlon 64 3000+, which I know should be 2.0Ghz, right? However the laptop will only run at ~1.6Ghz. Isn't 1.8Ghz the Athlon 64 2800+??

Acording to Window's System Properties, it is AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3000+. Also to CPU-Z, the system is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+. However, it shows that the processor is running at HTT 199.5 and a multiplier of 8 (1.595Ghz).

My main computer also is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ but shows a HTT of 200.0Mhz and a multiplier of 10.

Another thing that is different, is my desktop only shows 512K L2 cache, which is what I understood the 3000+ to be, however the notebook is showing 1M L2 cache.

Did I get screwed and need to contact HP, or am I missing something here?
 04/04/2004 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WereSHARK
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 02/14/2004

QUOTE (celtmcd @ Apr 4 2004, 03:06 PM)I just recieved my laptop from HP that I ordered a few weeks back. Now I'be begining to wonder if I was jipped.

The processor is listed as a AMD Athlon 64 3000+, which I know should be 2.0Ghz, right? However the laptop will only run at ~1.6Ghz. Isn't 1.8Ghz the Athlon 64 2800+??

Acording to Window's System Properties, it is AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3000+. Also to CPU-Z, the system is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+. However, it shows that the processor is running at HTT 199.5 and a multiplier of 8 (1.595Ghz).

My main computer also is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ but shows a HTT of 200.0Mhz and a multiplier of 10.

Another thing that is different, is my desktop only shows 512K L2 cache, which is what I understood the 3000+ to be, however the notebook is showing 1M L2 cache.

Did I get screwed and need to contact HP, or am I missing something here?
Did you get screwed? possibly, but probably not, it seems the clock multiplier is set a bit low. You might need to adjust it in the BIOS, if your BIOS allows for it.

The AMD Athlon 64 3000+ does come in two flavors. Mobile/DTR and Desktop . The one the CPU with 1MB of L2 cache tends to come standard on the Mobiles & DTRs, so the Desktop one is the CPU with 512KB of L2 cache. (A common source of confusion)

The Mobile 3000+ usually runs at 1.8GHz, when the HTT/"FSB" is at 200. Clock multiplier should be at a max of 9x, to the 1.8GHz speed. The fact that your is set at 8, means either its preset at the BIOS level, or you can double check your power settings to make sure your laptop is set to ALWAYS ON. Default power management set by HP might have that unit boot or regulated at a lower clock multiplier.

The Desktop 3000+ usually runs at 2.0Ghz (or at least that's what AMD's website says) - this difference between your Destop and Mobile 3000+ chips is causing some confusion and if you need a bit more clarity you can check the links below.

For comparison of different AMD Athlon 64 model lines, check out these links:

Desktop AMD Athlon 64s: (3400+ vs. 3200+ vs. 3000+) - 89W power consumption
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...5E10248,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...5_9487%5E10248,00.html

DTR ("psuedo-Mobile") AMD Athlon 64s: (3400+ vs. 3200+ vs. 3000+) - 81.5W power consumption
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...5E10249,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...0_9486%5E10249,00.html

Mobile AMD Athlon 64s: (3200+ vs. 3000+ vs. 2800+) - 62W power consumption
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...5E10269,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce..._10221%5E10269,00.html

-------------------------

-WereSHARK-
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
eMachines m6809 chassis
* upgraded CPU w/ Athlon 64 3400+ DTR running at 2357.87MHz
* upgraded to 1GB DDR RAM - Crucial 512MB 333 x2 SoDIMMs
* upgraded to 60GB HDD, 7200rpm (Hitachi HTS726060M9AT00)
* flashed stock Liteon SlimtypeDVDRW SDW-431S (DVD Region-Free)
----------------------------------
 04/04/2004 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
celtmcd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/04/2004

Thanks for the info.... guess I'll have to live with the fact that it's either a DTR/Mobil athlon. Just wish they branded them differently than the desktops.

BTW, what's DTR stand for?
 04/04/2004 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WereSHARK
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 02/14/2004

QUOTE (celtmcd @ Apr 4 2004, 04:22 PM) Thanks for the info.... guess I'll have to live with the fact that it's either a DTR/Mobil athlon. Just wish they branded them differently than the desktops.

BTW, what's DTR stand for?
I'm fairly certain you have the Mobile Athlon 64 3000+, which in my opinion is a bit better, because the low power consumption means longer battery life! Means more freedom and mobility. Not to mention the 1MB L2 cache is better (IMHO) than the desktop versions measley 512KB L2 cache.

The DTR is short for DeskTop Replacement. This is usually the recent trend of notebook manufacturers putting Desktop CPUs into a Laptop body/motherboard, because desktop chips tend to be cheaper than their true mobile counter parts. The drawback is desktop CPU siphon/suck power and have extremely low battery lives, so they dubbed them Notebook computers that are mean to be DeskTop computer-Replacements. The intent was this category notebook was meant to be powerful enough to rival a desktop, but still be portable enough that the owner could be able to take it with them on the road. Usually DTR notebooks would need to be plugged into an A/C source all the time, because they would only last 1-1.5hrs on a single battery running full CPU speeds.

Hope this clears things up a bit.

-------------------------

-WereSHARK-
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
eMachines m6809 chassis
* upgraded CPU w/ Athlon 64 3400+ DTR running at 2357.87MHz
* upgraded to 1GB DDR RAM - Crucial 512MB 333 x2 SoDIMMs
* upgraded to 60GB HDD, 7200rpm (Hitachi HTS726060M9AT00)
* flashed stock Liteon SlimtypeDVDRW SDW-431S (DVD Region-Free)
----------------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information