AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: OS QUESTUIN
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/15/2006 11:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/15/2006 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4nDr3s
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/18/2006

Hello there!!

I have an amd mobile athlon 64 3700+ and i was wondering if i can put a 32 bit linux version and use it, is it possible to do that?? would that create any problem wiht my computer??

Because my processor is compatible with windows xp pro sp2 so i think that if i run a 32bit windows version i would be able to do the same with linux white box, or maybe debian....
and i've reading articles and stuff over the internet and ppl say that they recommend to install i86 linux version to amd athlon 64.

So, what do you think?? can i still a 32 bit linux version to my laptop?

thanks for the help
 05/16/2006 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

Yep, it'll work fine.

Any 32-bit or 64-bit Operating System will run on the laptop. In fact, if you really wanted to, you could create two hard disk partitions and dual-boot (select which OS you want to use at startup).


Respectfully,

Old Camper
Proud sporting shooter and member of the SSAA.


-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 05/16/2006 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4nDr3s
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/18/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Old Camper
Yep, it'll work fine.

Any 32-bit or 64-bit Operating System will run on the laptop. In fact, if you really wanted to, you could create two hard disk partitions and dual-boot (select which OS you want to use at startup).
Respectfully,

Old Camper
Proud sporting shooter and member of the SSAA.




Yep thnks, i Did that. installed ubuntu 32 bit version and it had some errors, i couldnt open some things by KDE and stuff, Maybe there was an installation problem, cause it said something about the kernel wasnt compatible and i choose an image, but i formatted that partition and install ubuntu 64 bit version, and it worked perfectly.

SO i dont know yet, i'll have to try with other linux distro, like debian or fedora core.
Thanks for the help
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information