Increase font size
Topic Title: I am getting blue screens with AMD chipset mixed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/28/2006 03:47 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/28/2006 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lotus9

hey,

I just got a new laptop - HP zv6270US. Soon after I started playing with it, I got a blue screen. It disappeared before I could read it, but the laptop restarted, and I kept using it. Well, I've only installed the verizon evdo card, and photoshop on the puter, so I was like come on, no way drivers are causing that blue screen.

But, anyway, it's happened about 5 times in 2 days now, and I finally saw a piece of it, and it did say something about a USB driver.

Here is the actual error:

BUGCODE_USB_DRIVERS

I searched around, and think I might have found the culprit. I read that the AMD chipset has issues with emulating a USB on the PCMCIA or something like that. And these Ev-Do cards emulate a USB hub to connect with the laptop. This one guy said he updated his BIOS and it fixed the problem for him, but I have the current BIOS for this model.

Anyone have any fixes?

Thanks.
 03/30/2006 02:38 PM

Author Icon
smaring

I too have a Verizon V620 and am getting these errors on an HP Pavilion dv8000z. The exact error and minidump are available below. Novatel Wireless, the makers of the Merlin CDMA EV-DO Modem (aka V620), suggested to me that they did not support AMD 64 bit with their driver. I found this strange since I am running a 32 bit WinXP. Based on a an AMD 64 & BUGCODE_USB_DRIVER Google search I'd be inclined to think that this is more of an AMD chipset issue.

For the life of me though, I cannot seem to figure out what chipset in this box is handling the PCMCIA to USB activities. Maybe an updated driver exists and I don't even know about it.