AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Duron Upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2004 07:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2004 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwh
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2004

I have a Compaq 710 with a 1GHz Duron. Can I upgrade to an Athlon 4 1600+?
 01/19/2004 01:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

The Mobile Athlon 4 1600+ is a 35W-part while the 1GHz Mobile Duron has a maximum power dissipation of 25W.
Since most Laptops' cooling systems are specifically designed for one type of CPU, i doubt your machine will be able to handle the higher power dissipation of the Athlon 4...but it's not impossible.
You should ask Compaq to make sure.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information