Increase font size
Topic Title: [n] AMD 64 bit laptops India
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/13/2004 09:58 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/13/2004 09:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nirav

Hi AMD,
I would like to know if Mobile AMD Athalone 64 based laptops are available in India. I checked with compaq and they answerd that it's not avilable.
If it will be available in near future, how long will it take. I need to buy laptop within next 3 months.
I am consedering Intel Centrino based Toshiba and Compaq Presario series. But I found that Mobile AMD 64 bit is as good as Centrino and can be used in future 64 bit computing.
I am a MS Software student and requires high computing laptop.

So, will it be available soon in India? and in which brand?

Thanks

- Nirav

-------------------------
AMD 64 3000+
 08/13/2004 12:17 PM

Author Icon
ranjithamd

Hi,
I dont work for AMD but Here is what I know or feel..
the AMD 64 manufacturers right now are:
eMachines (cheaper and selling hot).
Compaq and
Acer
and certain gamer-market-targeted brands like Woodoo, compUSA etc.

I dont think any of these brands above markets laptops in India apart from Compaq.

So, you will have to wait till hp/compaq starts selling it..(may be not till 1st quarter of 2005?) or ask someone abroad to buy and carry one for you.

So, if urgent, go with P4 or centrino based Compaq, Dell or IBM TP.

HTH.
 08/14/2004 12:10 AM

Author Icon
nirav

Hi Ranjith,
Thanks for reply.
What do you think about Toshiba centrino laptops. Does it better than IBM/Compaq/Dell?
If I can get,
Centrino 1.5 GHz, 256M, 30G, DVD-ROM, carrybag, 2 yr warranty in 60000 INR and the same config + CD-RW/DVD Combo from compaq what should I go for?

- Nirav

AMD 64 3000+
 08/16/2004 04:44 PM

Author Icon
ranjithamd

Hi,