AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: xp-m 3000+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/22/2004 12:14 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/22/2004 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rappinfreak
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/22/2004

Hello everyone.. I was thinking of buying the compaq R3120US... well that has a AMD XP-M 3000+ processor.. Well the wierd things are...1) this processor isnt listed in the AMD website.. it only has the AMD XP-M 2800+. 2) i found that the 2800+ has a speed of 2.1G and a cache of 512 compared to 1.6 and 256 cache for the 3000+... I think this has been covered in some other topic but I'm still confused... is the 3000+ better than the 2800+? And why is this procoessor not listed anywhere? Has it been discontinued?
Thanks
Srik
 06/22/2004 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Well, basically there are two processors that are both named 'Athlon XP-M 3000+':

The first version is a 'normal' 72W DTR mobile Athlon XP-M, just like the AXP-M 2800+ but with a slightly higher clockspeed(2.2GHz) - it uses the Barton-core(model 10) with 512KB L2-cache.

The second version is currently ONLY available on Compaq/HP Notebooks(to my knowledge).
It uses the Athlon 64-based 'Dublin'-core with 256KB L2-cache.
Architecturally, it's very similar to a mobile Athlon 64, except for the smaller cache, low clockspeed and the fact that it DOES NOT support AMD64(that's why it's called an 'Athlon XP-M'.
This 'Dublin' AXP-M 3000+ uses the same Socket 754 platform as the mobile Athlon 64's, so it could easily be replaced with such a part at a later time.

Also, unlike it's 'Barton'-counterpart, the 'Dublin' AXP-M 3000+ has a max power-consumption of only 62W(vs. 72W for the AXP-M 3000+ Barton).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 06/22/2004 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rappinfreak
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/22/2004

This comp is supposed to have a speed of 1.6 G. Wont that make it substantially slower than the XP-M 2800+ processor( plus the fact that it has a lower cache).
Will the performance be better than that of the 2800+ ? (for multiple applications that is)
Also why isnt it listed in the AMD website? Any idea?
Srik
 06/23/2004 01:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE This comp is supposed to have a speed of 1.6 G. Wont that make it substantially slower than the XP-M 2800+ processor( plus the fact that it has a lower cache).
Since the 'Dublin' Athlon XP-M is Athlon 64-based, it can take advantage of almost all of the A64-platforms' architectural improvements such as the on-die memory-controller(i.e. it's integrated into the processor-core), Hypertransport I/O-link, etc. - except for the 64-bit(AMD64) capability, ofcourse.
On average, this processor should perform slightly better than it's AXP-M 2800+ 'Barton' counterpart, despite the lower clockspeed and smaller cache.
Of course, the actual performance you will get depends strongly on the application(s) you're running....some apps will benefit alot from higher clockspeeds and/or a bigger cache - clearly, the AXP-M 2800+ 'Barton' would outperform the 3000+ 'Dublin' in such a case.

The main arguments for buying the Dublin-part(AXP-M 3000+) over the Barton(AXP-M 2800+) are (in my opinion) its lower power-consumption and the easy upgrade path(since it uses the same platform/socket) to a mobile Athlon 64 which will beat the pins off any mobile Athlon XP-M
QUOTE Also why isnt it listed in the AMD website? Any idea?
I *think* this AXP-M 3000+ 'Dublin' is currently a special HP/Compaq thing...you can't get this part or anything that's comparable from anywhere else at present, atleast as far as i know.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 06/23/2004 04:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carlealb
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/23/2004

hello...
sorry for my bad english, but I'm from Italy...

I have an HP Pavillon Zv5131EA

My problem is:

For Athlon XP-m 3000+ is right to use Athlon 64 or Athlon-m driver?

Thank you very much.

Alb
 06/23/2004 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

It's an Athlon 64-class processor(even tho it doesn't support AMD64), so you will need the Athlon 64-driver

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information