AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: xp-m 3000+ the good the bad the ugly
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/18/2004 02:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2004 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1donly
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/18/2004

I am considering buying a Compaq r3306us
specs include
amd athon xp-m 3000+
with 512mb memory.
Ad says in runs at 1.6GHz
Priced under 1K after rebate.

I'd appreciate comments, alternate buys
and info as to what's an equivalent intel chip

Is 1.6GHz rather slow compared to 3+GHz intel
chips out there?


-d

 10/18/2004 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Here's the thing about that chip, It's not really an XP-M. It's a socket 754 Athlon64 with the 64-bit capabilities disabled. In other words, it's a socket 754 Sempron @ 1.6Ghz. And as such it will perform slightly lower then the other socket 754 Sempron (3100+, it operates @ 1.8Ghz), but will still be a serious contender.

-Adam
 10/19/2004 12:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
averatec5400
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 08/30/2004

I have a "2800" that runs at 1.6Ghz, surprised they have a "3000" at 1.6ghz as well, anyway, it is VERY nice, and I have a bit of an upgrade path, I can upgrade the unit with a new mobile a64 down the road and have those 64 bit functions.

 10/20/2004 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
irwin805
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/20/2004

I just bought one. And as per your spec, the processor speed should be at 1.6 ghz. But when I check the system information, it is running half of that speed. Does anybody know the reason?
 10/20/2004 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brad__bomb
Member

Posts: 60
Joined: 03/27/2004

powernow, maybe?
 10/20/2004 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
averatec5400
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 08/30/2004

it is powernow, it fouy want to control the settings better I recommend downloading speedswitchXP and making it control the CPu speeds

http://www.diefer.de/speedswitchxp/' ">http://www.diefer.de/speedswitchxp/
 10/21/2004 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
irwin805
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/20/2004

Thank you both. I will give it a try.
 11/11/2004 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Herms4
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/11/2004

I just bought a R3306US after rebates for $850. At that price it is a steal. As far as the processor goes, it is a POWERNOW chip from AMD. On the laptop power scheme it idles at 797Mhz and will use less battery power. Put it on the ALWAYS ON power scheme at it will always purr at 1.6Ghz. On this setting it runs hotter and uses more battery power. Overall a good package.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information