AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Turion 64 x2 Running VERY hot
Topic Summary: Am I going to burn up my processor?
Created On: 03/05/2009 03:19 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/05/2009 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Syonx
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/05/2009

The computer
Bought it 1 year ago
Acer Extensa 5420 Laptop (redundant but just want to be clear)
Windows Vista Business
Turion 64 x2
4gb Ram (upgraded)
140gb HDD
ATI Radeon Xpress 1250, 256mb memory, with up to 956mb (estimated) shared

Let me know if I forgot anything, or if you want additional information

Bought this laptop for school, didn't expect to able to run games on it, but found out that it does and quite well I might add. Been playing World of Warcraft on it since I bought it (yes I know, please do not flame that's not the point), and everything has been running very smooth. I just got a program on my U3 drive that gives me system specs, including temps, was running WoW and found out that my temp as at 99c! I shut the game down immediately upon seeing this freaking out; I checked online and the max temp rating is 95c, so I thought to myself well maybe it wasn't getting proper airflow through the fans. No, even on a hard surface, it reached 101c today. I am wondering mostly, A) Is there a temperature where they will automatically shut down if it gets too hot (BIOS has no settings for this that I can see), and B) Should I be worried after this long? It has to have been reaching these temps all along, and has been fine, but I really don't want to push my luck if the AMD community thinks it is not safe for my processor.

Please let me know!

Thank you in advance for your responses!
Zach
 03/05/2009 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

What was that program giving the temps? They are not always reliable, depending on compaility for the hardware used. See if RMClock gives another temp readout.
I believe it should shut down at 90'C, at least most Turions in laptops do.

-------------------------
 03/05/2009 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Syonx
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/05/2009

Could not get RMClock to work, kept getting "Cannot install or load RTCORE64 blah blah", uninstalled the update that is said to be causing that and still no. Went and downloaded speedfan as an alternative, just for comparison's purposes, and I'm sitting on 85-86 atm. I will update and let you know if it goes any higher, that program may just be whack
 03/06/2009 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

You may need this to get RMClock to work

http://forum.rightmark.org/topic.cgi?id=6:1726

-------------------------
 03/06/2009 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Hi
I like to suggest you to first do a BIOS update
Because as go_for suggested CPU will auto shutdown when it hits 99 degrees
However for your case it didn't
This could suggest that wrong temperature readout was obtain
You could check for a BIOS update here
Also you might want to download CPUZ(google) and check if your AMD Processor is throttling down correctly

In the past I had seen BIOS patches for wrong temperature reported
Hope this may solve your problem

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 03/22/2009 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Petrovytsh
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/22/2009

Cleaned the dust from the cooling system. (If this does not affect the waranty term) :-)

-------------------------
?? ??? ? ?
http://blackocean.ucoz.ru
http://www.aimp.ru
"Lingua latina non ***** canina"
[Here's who I am!] [Manchkin 7%] [Killer 7%] [Tusovschik: 37%] [Explorer 50%]
 04/02/2009 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dech
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2009

Hi,
Im having simmilar problem - very hot CPU- idle: 70 degrees ,when watching 720p HD video- 85 degrees...
this is out of range of desktop cpu temperature working limits(mostly)...so are my temps ok?- it means there is so big difference between temps on notebooks and desktops? OR they are not ok and something can be done to drop the temps?
I thought that the cpus of NB should be colder than the on desktops because of energy saving...dont understand...

my cpu is
turion X2 rm-70 (Lion-in core temp program, but "griffin" in cpu-z)
measure progs: speedfan, core temp, when used RMCPU clock it says that dont know my cpu.
notebook: acer
vista home premium
ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)
chipset 780G
southbridge SB700

Defenitely the temps were higher without knowing it because of more load and maybe sometimes not good air flow.
There was no problem, until a have played 720p HD video (never 1080p) - in some scenes the video started chopping, maybe it is because of chipset and graphics problem, maybe the cpu too -so I started measuring cpu temps and discovered these high temps.
secondly-when rebooting the computer - it didnt want to start again imedeately - only after a while. But unusual thing is, that it has never shut down in windows.

thx for saying if temps are normal or how to solve this (or even the HD problem :-) thx

-------------------------
[url=http://www.czechcomputer.cz/product.jsp?artno=59730]ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)[/url]
 04/07/2009 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

dech, the idle temp is too high IMO. CnQ should throttle down when the proc is not loaded and should run cool at that point. Try to see if OCCT will run and do a load test.

-------------------------


Edited: 04/07/2009 at 12:52 PM by go_for
 04/08/2009 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dech
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2009

thanks,
CnQ is enabled - i can see the frequency changing in cpu-z, but i have never seen temp below 50 degrees (core temp and speedfan).
I dont understand these: "IMO" , "OCCT"

-------------------------
[url=http://www.czechcomputer.cz/product.jsp?artno=59730]ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)[/url]
 04/08/2009 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

This utility is originally an Acer Aspire One Fan Control Unit but it works for all Acer Laptop as they uses the same thermal mangement technology
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot...spire-fan-control.html

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 04/08/2009 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I dont understand these: "IMO" , "OCCT"

I.M.O. = In My Opinion

OCCT is a stress/load test tool program for computers, including temperature monitoring.

-------------------------
 04/08/2009 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dech
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2009

so OCCT starts, but says that gpu tests or something (CUDA,directX )wont be able.
Temps are the same as in core temp or speedfan - no lower than 60 degrees after reboot. I start the test and after while it stops because of high temperature. so it seems that temps are real... :-( jesus! I must hury to complete my thesis,until it burns! :-))
so-any suggestions? I dont know if this temp is in my type of notebook normal, but dont think it is. - it seems that the cpu is heating too much without reason- maybe it was badly compounded in factory-so the heat paste is not properly put on cpu...maybe
[url=http://www.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?e30bf9a7b4.png][/url]
[url=http://www.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?4916d1492f.png][/url]
[url=http://www.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?1e50d17389.png][/url]



-------------------------
[url=http://www.czechcomputer.cz/product.jsp?artno=59730]ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)[/url]
 04/09/2009 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

60 degrees at idle is pretty normal my AMD Turion RM-72 also behave that way
If you want to reduce the temps further try the Acer Fan Control utility I posted above
Reduce the temp to turn on the fan it will drop the temps further

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 04/09/2009 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dech
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2009

it is strange that in the scpecifications of noebooks cpus there are no infos about temperatures

http://products.amd.com/en-us/...+SOI&f8=31+W&f9=3600&

but in specs of desktop cpus, there are these infos:

http://products.amd.com/en-us/...0&f10=False&f11=False

does anybody know where to find info about operational temps?-temps that amd declares as safe for the cpu to work? (my cpu- turion X2 RM-70 (first link))

-------------------------
[url=http://www.czechcomputer.cz/product.jsp?artno=59730]ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)[/url]
 04/10/2009 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dech
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2009

jesus guys! im freakin! i want to send a note to the amd support...so I have filled required fields,describe problem....and on my mail was sent msg that i have no customer account...so i want to create an account...I fill every required fields...and when I hit "submit" the same ragistration page loads,every field is fill(but pass no)...so I think that Im filling it somehow not correctly...does anybody know what is the catch?

http://onlineservices.amd.com/...ame=false&language=EN

there is written that "A valid password consists of 6 to 8 digits with a combination of letters and numbers plus at least one special character. "
what it a special character?? I have entered also characters like: "@" "|" "*" but didnt work...jesus!!...what a terrific registration!

-------------------------
[url=http://www.czechcomputer.cz/product.jsp?artno=59730]ACER TravelMate 5530G-703G32MN (LX.TPU0X.078)[/url]
 04/25/2009 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PurelyHybrid
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/25/2009

I'm also having a "hot processor" problem.

PC: Acer Aspire 5050
Processor: AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56
Ram:1GB
HDD: 80GB
OS: Vista Home Premium 32-bit
Temperature program used: Speedfan

It would run idling (nothing running, just normal windows programs) at about 65 degress celcius and then when i started doing things (trying to set up an internet radio, didn't work BTW) it soared up to 90-92C. so i decided to go to bed, and didn;t want to look for all my stuff again, so i put it on sleep, and the next day i tried to make it up, and it just didn't do anything.

I pushed a button, and the screen stayed dark, and the capslock and numlock lights flashed, and the HDD light stayed on for about 5 secs.

After that, i turned it off by pushing the power button, and now whenever i try to boot it up, the same light pattern with the caps lock and num lock buttons is the same, but the wireless light stayed solid orange the whole time.
 06/16/2009 10:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrsufi
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/16/2009

Originally posted by: go_for

dech, the idle temp is too high IMO. CnQ should throttle down when the proc is not loaded and should run cool at that point. Try to see if OCCT will run and do a load test.


I have the same problem overhere my both cpu core's gets to high with most of time a shut down as a result in the midle of my work , its realy frustrating some times

When i start up the both core's are above 75°

But isnt that AMD already is known for their hot Procesors so thats why Intel is still leader of the market i should never got me a AMD ***** IT

is there a final solution for this problem or just go and buy myself a new laptop INTEL this time

Hp Pavilion dV6000
AMD Turion 64 X2 2.2Gh
4G RAM
Windows XP home edition


Thanx
 07/06/2009 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
iKai83
Member

Posts: 54
Joined: 07/06/2009

Somehow, I have the feeling it's an Acer problem, huh? Although the newest hint was for a HP...
My laptop did the same from the beginning on. According to Acer it runs normal. I even had sent it in again.

Mine is a TravelMate5520
Turion TL-64 X2 ~ 2,2Ghz

Thing is: the acer fans aren't working up to a temperature of 60° or less at all I think (you can't hear any fans up to that temperature, whereas my old AMD, which was an ASUS, there was always a fan working, but only really sielnt). Of course this will lead to a much too high temperature.
I have my laptop now for over a year and will get a new one soon, not without sending my acer back in for repairs again. Recently, my laptop has more and more blue screens. This special one is caused by operations "outside their specified ranges for temperature, power, or other conditions."

Article ID: 842465 - Last Review: June 10, 2008 - Revision: 4.1
Stop 7F, 0x00000008 (double-fault) error occurs because of a single-bit error in the ESP register: The link to MS#

Interestingly, I also asked AMD for support and they said the CPU might have a defect in the first place. Acer, however, didn't even care about it.
 07/07/2009 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deadboy
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/07/2009

I'm not sure it's strictly an Acer problem. My HP Pavilion dv9000 has the same problem.

AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-60 2GHz
3GB RAM
Window 7 x64
 10/19/2009 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
seeratlas
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/02/2009

Both Acer and HP do a crap job of mating the cpu/gpu surfaces to the heatsinks. if you dismantle the box, take off the silly pads, and shim up the surface with some decent arctic silver or simlar, you can drop temps down quite a bit. I run my msi laptops overclock'd and heat has never been a problem. I've got a walmart special sempron 42 based unit that had some temp issues when I first got it, but the simple shim and paste bit got me down about 20C. To the point now that i run the s1-42 (2100mhz stock) at around 2560, the 8200 Nvid at an even higher percentage o'clocck, and run around 39 to 41 idle, while jumping up to about 69 or so at full sustained gaming (this box will run two instances of WOW simultaneously without overheating). Not bad for 298.00

Seer

-------------------------
Seer's Law No. 1: FLY THE PLANE!!!
Seer's Law No. 2: When someone says "IT CAN"T BE DONE"; what they really mean is that THEY can't do it!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information